We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style over substance? A business hotel not for a tourist.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #88 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Style over substance? A business hotel not for a tourist.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Just returned from 3 nights at W Barcelona staying on floor 15.
I would suggest this is predominantly a business corporate training/hospitality/over night stay hotel. Lots of meetings over laptops going on in the bar lounge areas all day and into the evening. A great venue for a training course. However not so brilliant as a relaxed tourist hotel, you will be constantly reminded of work!
Staff Service: Service was in our opinion either very good or very bad. Staff greeting was friendly and welcoming and room service was prompt and polite. However breakfast service on the ground floor was bad for us, we had to ask for a cup of tea 4 times before it finally arrived! Staff had a se la vie attitude when I politely complained. If you can, go for breakfast on floor E the service is much improved. Room: Room definitely had the wow factor in terms of the view which is the crowning glory of the hotel. Best to share the room with someone you know well. The toilet and shower are in separate frosted glass cubicals and they are not sound proof! The sink is in the open plan area of the room divided from the bed area by a curtain that pulls across half of the room, it does not divide the room. The window has a long window seat/couch which was stained in our room. There is a cocktail tray with glasses and booze on a small table over the couch, if you move this out of the way it will be returned to the same place each day which is annoying as it is easy to knock this over.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London19_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,632
    1,422
    471
    221
    171
See reviews for
784
2,564
228
967
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ANGERS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We spent 4 nights in the W Barcelona hotel, in a suite. Nice view on the sea on both sides, on third floor. The team takes really a good care of customers, and we appreciated the hospitality.
The room was quite, with large windows, and was very clean.
THe hotel is not directly downtown, but it is not really complicate to walk for 10/15 minutes to reach the center.
Prices for room services are quite expansive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOUPIL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

W is a very beautiful hotel with great views of the sea.It is beautifully located;just walking distance from the buzzing attractions of the city.
Within the hotel there is a very nice pool and bar where you can spend a good part of the evening.
The rooms are comfortable and clean.
Breakfast can be better

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayAdvisorIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Brilliant!!
Hotel room was on the 24th floor and it was perfect. The anytime anywhere personnel were always on hand to provide advice and give the low down on activities. even booked us for a salsa dancing course directly from the hotel. food was amazing, the eclipse club on the 26th floor was classy, elegant and VERY stylish with reasonably priced drinks and cocktails. although the hotel is located next to a NUDIST beach,,, it was all good fun. the spa was amazing with professionals working and the lounge area with the deck chairs and pool was sublime. will definately go there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bo55ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

If you are to stay anywhere in Barcelona, stay here. The Hotel is stunning and has amaxing views over the Med, and supping cocktails around the amazing pool area, next to Barcelons beach, is the height of indulgence. If you are not fortunate enough to be able to stay here, do all you can to get into the Eclipse at the top of the hotel, and drink a cocktail while the sun goes down. We loved the hotel so much, we have booked in already for June

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vickycjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio and Kaua'i
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

The W Barcelona is a stunning property, but not convenient to sight seeing in Barcelona, since it is really in what is called "Barceloneta" an area along the Mediterranean, not near most of the sights. Check-in was bedlam, which seems to be the way with W hotels in general, everyone is too cool to take care of you! It is a lovely place for a drink, we stayed the last night in Spain and that was fine, but i would not stay there for a visit to Barcelona. We had a sweet, used Starpoints to upgrade and it was stunning, so high tech we nearly had to sleep with the lights on because we could not figure out how to turn them off!! ( and we are tech savvy).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Last1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

I stayed at the W once again, but this time only for a very short overnight trip.

Each time I'm deeply impressed by how professional, kind and caring the staff is, from the welcome when getting out of the taxi until leaving by taxi, from the Welcome Desk to the Bliss Spa to the Wave restaurant to the Eclipse Bar to ......... In one word: EXCELLENT !

The W Barcelona is really my home away from home.

As a Platinum SPG-Member I was upgraded to a Cool Corner Suite which offers stunning views, great design and a hip ambiance and of course the very comfortable W-Bed.

Whenever I have the choice I will stay at the W Barcelona again and highly recommend it. 5 Stars is not enough!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keiki40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,220 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing