We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good looks, clean, but....cannot sleep”
Review of Barna House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barna House B&B
Ranked #110 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The whole floor planning feels like entering an apartment of 7-8 rooms. There is the living room and kitchen in the middle and all rooms around them. It is located in a wonderful neighborhood and we didn't regret it choosing the location, as we saw one one the nice locations of Barcelona. Also breakfast was sufficient - do not expect the buffet of a hotel, but if you are someone that would want to have a light breakfast (coffee, juice, cruasan, cake etc) then you will be happy! Our room couldn't accommodate 2 luggage open, so one had ot be on bed while we were using it..
Also Sagrada Familia is about 15min walk, La Pedrera about 15min and Park Guell about 20 min.
However... We couldn't sleep at all at night! 5 nights, 5 sleepless nights.... If the neighbor uses their sink - we woke up. If the use the bathroom - we woke up. If they opened their door - we woke up. If someone was going up the stairs of the building and was talking - we woke up... So it was an absolute nighmare on this subject!
One night the neighboor woke up at 4 in morning. And we could hear and imagine everything they were doing... Opening bathroom door, using sink, using toilet, using bathroom, then again sink, and then closing the door when they left...

Would i go back again? I would chose the same neighborhood but something different. I specifically noted by email to the owner that we want a quiet room - not facing the road because my wife had problems with her ears, and he gave us one that instead of noise from cars - we had all other noises!

The owner tries to help customers, but you need to do the talking first, as he is not very talkative by himself. But whatever you ask him he will try to give you best information. Note that this place doesn't have reception, so be prepared to wait until the owner comes to open the door for you... We had to wait for about an hour...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fekish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 149 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I chose to stay at Casa Dover during our 4 day trip to Barcelona. We found Christian, the host, to be very helpful and accommodating. We booked Room 3 (one of the two suites) which overlooked Carrer de Corsega. Our room was very spacious, clean and accommodating. Mattress slightly on the hard side. Overall the bed & breakfast has a pleasant feel, is very cosy and has a great atmosphere. Breakfast is served from 9-11am (the day seems to start a little later in Barcelona) so we made sure that we ate at 9am sharp in order not to waste too much time. Casa Dover's position is very strategical and great for whoever prefers to vist the city on foot. 10 minutes walk to the Sagrada Familia, 10 minutes walk to om Passeig de Gracia where you will find Gaudì's Casa Pedrera and Casa Batllò. A must stop for anyone staying at Casa Dover - tapas at La Pepita (Corsega, 343).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria_Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at Casa Dover. Originally had a lovely room with a balcony that overlooked the street but just after being shown into the room was asked if we would consider trading rooms to accomodate a guest with amubulation issues. The only other room not already occupied had a step inside the room and the guest would probably have problems navigating it. Of course, we said we would trade. The other room was adequate size and the bathroom was fine. However, the only window looked into the atrium of the building. There were apartments, etc, above the rooms and the people were coming and going all hours of day and night with screaming children early in the morning. We could hear all of this. No way to get fresh air into the room or look out into the city to check the weather. We were not offered a discount and didn't ask for one since were both exhausted from traveling to get there. The gentleman who greeted me was very pleasant but didn't offer any discount to trade.
The light wooden floors made the spaces seem larger and opened it up . The bathroom was large and water pressure was great. Breakfast was adequate, nothing hot except coffee and tea. A communal refrigerator was available as was coffee and tea always. Free wifi and tv in the common living room also. I would consider staying there again but not in the inside room!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superrn_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This B&B was the perfect place for us (8 People)
It was very cosy and we could all sit outside in the "living room" together and have breakfast in our pj's- it definately felt like home!
Our host Cristian was very helpful and explained us the whole city on a map... So we would know where the good restaurants and bars are ;)
the rooms are adorable! I really liked the cute and individual style of them!
Don't forget to bring some ear plugs though- the walls are very thin!
The central location of the hotel- close to sagrada familia- made it easy to reach about every point of the city in a short time- either by foot or metro which is close to the hotel too! We will definately come back here!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Casa Dover is definetely a nice place to stay in Barcelona. In a ten minutes walk you can reach a metro station and if you feel lazy, there is another metro stop at only 5 minutes from the B&B. And if you like to walk, you are right on the Avenguida Diagonal, not far from Passeig Garcia... so basically, by metro or on foot, you can easily go everywhere.

The B&B was really cozy and Christan was a great guest. They serve continental breakfast with lots of muffins, mini croissants, bread, cereals, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. Believe me, there is plenty of food for every and each guest there.

Our room was big and, most important, clean. They clean up your room daily but you'll have fresh blankets and towels every three days, and personally I am fine with that. I mean, I am not that dirty! In any case, if you need extra towels, they are keen to please you.
The biggest concern about the room was a very strange and loud sound that we could hear during the night. We didn't figure out whether it was the A/C (but our was set to OFF) or the flush of some toilet but for sure it was really really loud. In any case, you can live with it and honeslty it was really annoying only one out of three nights spent there.

So yes, I would definetely recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss_frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

The place is well designed with warm and calming atmosphere.
Our room was nice and big with a balcony.
Christian and his team were very helpful, Excellent service.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay in the center of Barcelona in a nice place at a reasonable price .

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isaac270111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The host (christian) is extremely helpful and pleasant. the interior design is beautiful. Great location, and very reasonable price for Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 516 in Barcelona
4,118 reviews
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#420 of 516 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#323 of 516 in Barcelona
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#188 of 516 in Barcelona
411 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#124 of 516 in Barcelona
2,053 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#272 of 516 in Barcelona
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barna House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barna House B&B

Address: Carrer de Corsega, 429 | Gracia, 08037 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Casa Dover)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $49 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barna House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighbourhood of Gracia, in Barcelona, Barna House B&B provides tranquil and attractive accommodation, just 5 minutes walk from the Sagrada Familia and other Gaudi monuments. The smart, modernist facade of the Barna House B&B building contrasts with the modern interior design. The rooms here are spacious and perfect for a weekend getaway, or a business trip; the city centre is a 10 minutes away by metro or bus. All rooms have a private bathroom with a shower, hypoallergenic soap and a hairdryer. Guests have access to a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, oven and kettle. Tea and coffee are free. A living room with a TV are at guest's disposal. Boasting a daily cleaning service, this accommodation is ideal for those who want to explore the nightlife on offer in Barcelona. This property offers continental breakfast buffet. Equipped with Wi-Fi internet access, keep up to date with your emails while on holiday at Barna House B&B. Gracia is a great choice for travellers interested in architecture, art and museums. This is our guests' favourite part of Barcelona, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barna House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dover Hotel Barcelona
Barna House B&B Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing