We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and minuses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #22 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel and although I don't know that I would stay again there were certainly some nice pluses with this hotel.

First of all the location. It is very well located, a short walk to Las Ramblas and a 10 minute bus ride to Sagreda Familia. Lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance. About a 20.00 euro cab ride from the port and about 35.00 euros to the airport. The hop on/hop off bus service has a stop right in front of the hotel and it's a great way to get around and see Barcelona.

From the moment you arrive at the hotel the staff is wonderful- from the bellman, doorman, reception and concierge. Very welcoming and helpful and eager to ensure that you have a good stay.

Security is good- you need a room key card to operate the elevator. Nice bath amenities and linens, free wifi, as well as bottles of water at the Concierge desk to take when you leave the hotel.

The rooms are an average size. They have that black and white minimalist look (which you will either love or hate). I have to say the beds were comfortable- the pillows were as hard as rock. Order extra or softer ones from housekeeping. The room was very clean,.

I hated the bathroom. Sliding doors which didn't shut all the way and no tub- just a black glass shower. The rain showerhead was nice but there were no instructions on how to turn it on so you got soaked with cold water turning it on.

The bathroom was very dark, even with all the lights on. And no sound proofing (lol). The amenities were nice but the towels were hidden.

The television had a lot of channels but very few were in English- and they were just news networks. A pay movie was 21.00 euros. Far too expensive, even for the Mandarin.

We had breakfast in the Blanc Brasserie and Bistrobar, A bit of a misnomer because although it is located in the "basement" of the hotel the ceiling is incredibly high and has glass block insets that let in natural light. Not at all like a traditional brasserie. There is also a gallery from the main floor that looks down into the restaurant. It is mostly white and very light. You could order from the menu or visit the buffet, which had a nice selection. Wonderful croissants! Coffee/cappuccino could be hotter and the wait staff could be a little more attentive. There is a fabulous cream carpet in the restaurant- in desperate need of cleaning (who puts cream carpets in a restaurant?) The white leather chairs could also use a polish.

The indoor pool (lower level) and spa were very nice. There is also an outdoor terrace on the roof that serves snacks and has a lovely shallow pool that would be nice during the day.

In conclusion although the hotel is well located and the majority of the staff is great this is not at all like the elegant Asian-themed other Mandarin Hotels that I have stayed in. A bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vespagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here with a group of 12 on a work/leisure trip for 4 days and it was incredible! Beautiful hotel, impressive rooms!!! We had a suite so had our own butler! The breakfast was to die for and also included champagne. We ate dinner in the main restaurant one evening and the service and quality of food was impeccable.
The roof top pool has some amazing views!!! It could do with being a little bigger however Barcelona is to be explored!
The spa is lovely! All staff cannot do enough for you. It is very expensive however this is a top world class hotel chain I was in paradise!
Would definitely stay here or at another mandarin chain again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Mandarin Oriental Barcelona is a WONDERFUL Hotel.
The rooms are very modern with great amenities. We were greeted by the Director of Sales and Assistant Manger and felt so special!
The staff is amazing! We have stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world- and I would have to stay that the staff here was the best we have ever encountered. Every staff member was always smiling and had great attitudes and were very informative with our requests or questions. They couldn't do enough for you- always going the extra mile.
The hotel is located on a beautiful street and in a great location. Our rate included breakfast and the breakfast was FABULOUS! A huge selection and of very high quality. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent.
If you are going to Barcelona then this is the only hotel to stay at- if you want a 5 star experience with great service- then this is the hotel for you!
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I love the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Hong Kong - it is absolutely my favorite place and I am a regular there.This Barcelona version - well, where do i start.Too cool for school, insincere and inattentive staff, poky room, slightly frayed fittings...but more importantly, only got into the room at 3.40, which when you consider how places like this harass you out at 11 in the morning is pretty awful.Waited in the restaurant/lounge for 15 minutes before someone deigned to take my order, which of course they made me paid for (a well run place would have waived the bill since I was waiting for a room) .Of course, I could have gone out of the hotel while waiting but Barcelona is notorious for thieves -and carrying my worldly possessions around with me (I certainly wouldn't leave money etc with the staff here) would have been too dangerous.It is a shame that the Mandarin brand has been diluted and spoiled by this sub standard temple to the gods of vacuousness and blandness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I've stayed here a few times. Love the decor and feel of the hotel. The pool and spa are great. The location is good, loads of eateries and shopping right out the front. The staff are always very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Central Barcelona location. Impeccable service. The modern bedroom fixtures and fittings were the most beautifully crafted that I have ever encountered. Even the fridge cabinet opened and closed immaculately. Food very good, maybe tried just a bit too hard, but dim sun for breakfast went down very well. The hotel limos included the very latest Mercedes S Class hybrid.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at the back of the hotel or you might be disturbed by noises and arguments of...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Truly in love with this hotel... and the experience.

Outstanding service: we arrived late, and understandably the kitchen was closed, but the waitress managed to make us something small, instead of just letting us know that the kitchen is closed. Very appreciated... thank you!

Drinks at the bar - thank you, Rafael - AMAZING - best Mojito's we've ever had... anywhere! #TALENT

Absolutely will return to this hotel... in love with this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,736 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
4,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 513 in Barcelona
1,848 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#115 of 513 in Barcelona
6,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $574 - $2,107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing