We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL IN THE MIDST OF EVERYTHING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #31 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Mandarin Oriental Hotels are generally very nice, but this one is an exception. Built inside an old bank building, my favorite place in this hotel was the bar where the walls are lined with old safe deposit boxes. Even on the ceiling!
Rooms are very nice, though somewhat small. I recommend a Jr. Suite if you want some space.
The range of room amenities is spectacular. They have a little box in every room with all kinds of electronic hookups and cords. So if you forget a plug adaptor or a phone jack or whatever...just check out the little box.
Baths are pretty amazing as well. The Jr. Suites have "tea cup" bathtubs which are very cute, but somewhat of a pain to bath in (if you like baths). I guess they are going for the oriental touch with the Japanese style of soaking tubs, but it didn't work for me.
The gym here as well as the two pools are great. There is an indoor pool in the basement and then there is the spectacular rooftop pool that would be super in warmer months.
I really liked this hotel a lot, and would highly recommend it. Be careful not to wander too close to the Jimmy Choo Shoe store just off the Lobby....it can pull you right in if you are a shoe fanatic like me.

Room Tip: Ask for a Jr. Suite....nice size and ours had a small balcony on the street which was special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walkpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel has some of the most desired features for a perfect vacation - a convenient tourist location, great views from the upper level suites and from the roof top terrace and a really helpful concierge service. Our butler showed up at the welcome and totally vanished for the rest of the stay. Impeccable housekeeping.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

A wonderful hotel right in the heart of Barcelona within walking distance of Las Ramblas and lots or shopping and sight-seeing. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we loved the safe deposit boxes on the roof of the Bankers Bar! - the roof top pool and bar a great place to have drinks before dinner or a light sushi lunch. We did have a really small room but it was fine as we didn't spend much time there. Great gym and gorgeous lotions and potions in the bathroom! -

Room Tip: The higher up the better as you won't be disturbed by the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTravelChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

beautiful hotel and great location. concierge have exceptional service while my wife and i spent 4 days there. the medium built concierge about 1.6 m tall with slight baldish top was very very good in helping me with every single day. he helped us with breakfast and dinner recommendations and arranging tours which he said we should go. he booked everything for us. mind you, the first concierge person i met who had even a jacket promised me to arrange for me and FAILED to even mention to his colleagues and this second gentleman then displayed his excellent service to us.the reception was pleasant too when we arrived. we want to mention that the lounge below the reception and excellent service and the tall manager was very good in service as well as his staff too. all of the food was good. . the other Italian food was very good too. Excellent service still rings in my ears at the lounge. the next area of excellent service was the door men. they always provided the smile which i looked forward to when we return to the hotel. they were very very helpful to us. one little small matter which i don't understand. this is an excellent hotel and a high class one too. but they want to charge for WiFi usage in the room. i find this ridiculous for a hotel which commands an exceptional reputation doing a disfavor to their guests. all the other smaller hotels are providing it free and these days WiFi is so common to have and provide and the cost is a small fraction of running a hotel. why this absurd rule ???

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is fantastically located where all the great shopping is. It is surrounded by great cafés and restaurants. There is a tour bus stop just outside the hotel that you can hope on/off and see the town the restaurants in the hotel are great and a fantastic bar

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here last week and what a place very regular of mandarin oriental. First time in Barcelona. Design and luxury. Service level is outstanding just behind Tokyo where after 3 years I am still impressed by the little concierge. Room are well appointed nice bath tub touch. Restaurant amazing food. Great location. Recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lili C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is very well located with great service. It is within walking distance of many attractions and shops and is also close to the metro line. The staff greeted us by name each day and were willing to assist with anything, including bookings and recommendations for fantastic restaurants and flamenco dancing as well as guided tours.
The rooms are large, clean, well appointed and very modern, however they lacked a certain Spanish flair.
The bar area is fantastic and serves wonderful cocktails and coffees and the views from the rooftop are really magical.
My only disappointment with this hotel was the food. The breakfast was very average as was a dinner experience we had on Christmas eve.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
1,441 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 519 in Barcelona
1,818 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The One Barcelona
The One Barcelona
#10 of 519 in Barcelona
198 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#69 of 519 in Barcelona
4,898 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#124 of 519 in Barcelona
6,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $452 - $1,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing