We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #16 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for 3 nights at the end of June. This is a great hotel, located on one of the best streets in Barcelona and near some of the main tourist sites.

The rooftop pool was most enjoyable for spending relaxation time, enjoying the city views, sunshine and food. My deluxe room had fine views over the Mimosa garden and was quiet. The furnishing in the room and bathroom was excellent. The food in the Blanc restaurant is high quality. The hotel bar was pleasant in the evenings.

Overall the design of the hotel is brilliant and fits in with the trendy Barcelona style. Will definitely return, hopefully in a few months time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH_London_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    180
    69
    35
    14
See reviews for
233
581
59
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Expensive - Yes. Outstanding location - Yes. Amazing helpful staff - Yes. Extremely well appointed room - Yes. Great Dining, Bar and Guest Facilities - Yes. Could not recommend highly enough. Our first visit, and certainly not our last visit, to Barcelona was made by this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigersGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I chose the MO for a number of reasons - it was right next to the Passeig de Gracia station exit (Oh no it wasn't they bloody moved it) and it was in the bit of Barcelona I like to be. It didn't disappoint. I like good looking men and women trying to make me feel good - they did. I did. It's a bit dear (500 quid for a standard room) but the rooms are very nice and the entrance is very dramatic and chic. The beds are comfortable - the service everywhere was good - the rooms are functional and the bathrooms are smart, clean and you can just about suss the taps.
You don't half look the business rocking up in shorts amidst a sea of Armani suits. Well Armani is a bit on the cheap side so they have begged Brioni to open within the hotel - he did too and in a recession. Good old Brioni. In the lobby is a window for Bel & Cia and they have a shop half a block down. Now if you want to buy serious understated luxury that's your shop. You're never going to look flash but you will look elegant. Bel also sell Panamas (but they're real ones and they WILL set you back thousands and not hundreds of €.) They used to keep them on a hat stand by the door - sadly no longer.

Had a cocktail there but ate elsewhere

Room Tip: My room overlooking Passeig de Gracia was a little noisy but that was because stupid (not me) left t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We were just stay in mandarin oriento Tokyo end of May. Just 3 weeks later we stay here 4 night choice here main reason best location recommend form one of my Swedish friend we were pleased my choice.
Compare those two I like Barcelona more even Tokyo also good.

We arrival hotel around 11am, but the room didn't ready yet, anyhow front desk let us enjoy half breakfast and take shower in spa because we have booking private tour at 1400....

Spa should not be missing. We have take 80min spa twice, the spa booking full so time not very suitable for us, anyhow we decide take spa and cancel dinner booking.... it is value compare other city same quality, and all the girls is nice and friendly.

Generally say this hotel is charming and all the staff is nice.
The room is modern I recommend.

Special thanks all the girls work in breakfast, they are so kind and nice... :)

Helpful?
1 Thank TC733
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for a long-weekend, hoping for some April Catalan sunshine to make up for London's gloomy weather. It was not to be. There was rain in Barcelona, while London was sunny. However, the Mandarin Oriental did its best to make up for the weather.

This hotel was the perfect base for our weekend. Centrally situated on the Passeig de Gracia, it has Gaudi buildings and upmarket shops for neighbours, and bus stops and a metro station a few paces away. If you are feeling energetic (and we were) you can easily walk from the hotel to the Sagrada Familia and almost all of Barcelona's other tourist destinations. The hotel has an ample supply of umbrellas for loan.

The helpful concierge arranged an English speaking guide for us, and we "did" the city at leisure over a couple of days, by metro and taxi and on foot. The queues for the major attractions were long, but having a guide meant that we were always taken past the queue and straight in.

The Mandarin Oriental has a Spa (though we did not find time to use it), the Bankers Bar (which we did find time to enjoy), and two restaurants: "Blanc Brasserie", which served interesting Catalan cuisine (plus the usual international food offerings) in the evening, and a full buffet breakfast in the morning; and "Moments", a formal restaurant with a Michelin star (which was fully booked during our short stay).

Staff in the bar and in the brasserie (and, indeed, throughout the hotel) were very attentive, and even remembered our names - something which we found quite exceptional, given that we were only short-stay guests.

Our room had a fine view, overlooking the main road, and was only noisy when the teaching union's anti-cuts demonstration passed by on the Sunday morning. (Nice to know that some problems are shared the world over !).

The room was, though, a rather quirky shape, and not large for the cost. The decor was very elegant, but showed the triumph of style over substance in some respects, particularly in the spaces for hanging clothes and in the bathroom.

These, though, are small quibbles. This is a superbly run hotel, with excellent facilities, in a perfect location. We had a great weekend there, and will return whenever we can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Brief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with friends. I cannot say enough about the concierge staff, from assisting us in getting our luggage from our airlines, to the most wonderful restaurant recommendations, and just a overall can do attitude. The rooms were quite different, as they were pod like in shape and appearance, but were clean and offered all the necessities. I found the bathroom lighting to be on the dark side. Our room faced the street and I never heard any noise. The air conditioning was whisper quiet. Loved the location. We were able to walk most everywhere. The daily breakfast was extensive and delicious. Again, the restaurant staff was attentive and spoke lovely English, as did all the staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here for several days and love the location. It is central to everything and such a lovely street. The housekeeping is very good. The concierge was helpful, but not as proactive as I have experienced in other 5 star hotels. The buffet breakfast is good and the staff is top notch. They are very eager to please and be helpful. Overall, the hotel is nice but I would rate it as 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCFamilyof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#88 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,916 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Mandarin Oriental and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing