We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #25 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the MO as our first stop in Europe and the Hotel Arts/Ritz as our last stop. They are both very nice hotels, however I would definitely choose the Hotel Arts/Ritz as my preferred hotel for many reasons. The good is that MO offered excellent service upon arrival and we were assigned our own Butler who whisked us from the curbside into our room for check-in. The hotel location is close to Las Ramblas and shopping. The breakfast was wonderful, the bar had nice ambiance, the room service food was good and the hotel was not overcrowded.
The not so good is that our suite was supposedly double upgraded but I felt we may have been downgraded. I found the room to be very uncomfortable in many areas. The bathroom was terrible with sliding frosted glass doors next to the bed and we're still trying to figure out who other than a child could use the circular bathtub. The bathroom doors didn't close completely and even if they did, your travel partner will be suffering thru blinding light should you need to use the toilet in the night. We found the furnishings in general to be uncomfortable, the bathroom design not functional, the shower leaked thru the doors and there was some molding. The balcony was very small with no chairs and overlooked the parking area on the street. As far as the common areas of the hotel, for the most part everything appeared to be nice; however we were surprised at the extremely dirty carpets in the hallways and elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 5startraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

If I were in the hotel business, this is where I'd send all my executives. I'd say "watch what the staff does...and learn from it." All of the Mandarin Oriental amenities and design flair was in evidence. My room overlooked the main boulevard but was well sound-proofed. The WiFi was perhaps the bst I've ever experienced--throughout the property.

But the thing that knocked me out was how quickly the staff shared information. Within a day of my arrival, every employee greeted by my name. After eating at he Blanc restaurant only once, all of the servers knew that I liked lots of ice in my Diet Coke, and no lemon. Their awareness of each guest was remarkable. Their obvious enjoyment in serving you was enjoyable without being obsequious.

Congratulations to the staff and what must be a great leadership team.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel. Checked in and was assigned a first floor room on the boulevard. After some discussion and a lot of maneuvering by the woman at the desk, I got a sixth floor room since I am a light sleeper. They worked very hard to accommodate me since a family had reserved quite a few rooms including one whole floor.
The concierge people are extremely helpful, especially Francisco. I did not know Barcelona that well but once I told him what I was interested in he provided a lot of useful information.
Rooms are spacious and bathroom is nice; amenities are first class. The Banker's Bar in the hotel is very unique since the building formerly housed a bank. The bar still has the safe deposit boxes and the service and pour are very nice. Highly recommend this hotel. The bed was a platform bed and very hard.

Room Tip: Request a high floor. The boulevard rooms are nice and quiet but it needs to be fifth floor or highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discerningrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great choice in Barcelona but I'm not sure it's worth what I paid for...
On top of everything... Staff ! With a very special mention to the ladies dedicated to suites and staff working at the concierge desk.
Location is great, suite and it's bathroom were nice, breakfast ok but service there has to be improved...
Loved what they did with this old building !!!
Two friends stayed in a standard room which seems a bit small for Mandarin Oriental standards...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FFlyerCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Don't have the patience to write a long review but here are the points;

- Arrived on Good Friday for a long Easter weekend - having booked a flight+hotel BA holiday (business class + 5* hotel)
- Welcome was adequate but had to wait for a room for two hours as we arrived just before midday - so waited in the basement restaurant.
- Room was pretty small and had french windows overlooking the ornamental garden at the rear
- Bathroom's shower cubicle is quite odd in the sense the flooring has a moveable slab of what appears to be marble and quite slippery.
- Shower ran hot and cold with little consistency in temperature (pressure was more consistent)
- At check-in was asked about newspapers - none delivered
- At around 1600 on Saturday housekeeping staff open and come into room unannounced!
- Water problems in bathroom continued
- Checked out Sunday morning (a day earlier than planned) - used BA Exec club points and returned home (sacrificing the return flights back on Monday as the dates could not be changed)

Pros:
- Great location
- Helpful restaurant staff

Cons
- See above

Would we stay again: NO (this is in marked conrast to a 9-night stay at MO in Hong Kong over Christmas last year - that was absolutely great)

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms here are pretty small - there seem nicer hotels on the same street/area for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalNomadLondon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great Spa experience at the Mandarin Oriental Barcelona! I had organized two spa treatments for my best friend's birthday and we were were well looked after at the Spa! Team was great, settings very nicely featured; the atmosphere was great, the pool and steam room were awesome! We were booked in the double cabine and this was a great experience alltogether! Thank you for a great moment of relaxation!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serendipidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Three days in Barcelona with my other half for some R&R, this hotel was chosen by my travel agent so no preconceptions. We wanted downtown and quality but were cautious as to street noise overlooking as it does P. de Gracia, one of the busiest streets in town.
It was perfect in every way. Walking distance to the best shops, finest restaurants, moody churches and the old town. We had a B&B rate (excellent brekky with dim sum!) and a "deluxe" room which was modern and very comfortable if a bit on the small side but it served our purposes just fine.
The MO has its own Michelin restaurant "Moments" which we didn't get around to trying as there was just too much else to sample so nearby. Notably: Ciudad Condal (the very best Tapas in town), Dry Martini/Speakeasy, L'olive, Da Greco all got a sampling with not one disappointment.
MO manages to combine attentiveness, invisibility, comfort, charm and intelligence in everything it does. We left like old friends; Raphael in the Bankers Bar wrote down his signature cocktail recipe and provided us with a chilled sample in a Perrier bottle as a good-bye gift to take to the airport. How good is that.

Room Tip: Our back-facing room was quiet with no street noise but there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,790 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 516 in Barcelona
1,418 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#67 of 516 in Barcelona
4,831 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#121 of 516 in Barcelona
6,498 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $397 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing