We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #18 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel, service second to none, rooms could be better designed - lack of towel rails, modern furniture and fixtures a little chipped and showing age if you look carefully. Staff great however and spoilt us rotton supplying us champagne and cake for my wife's birthday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    182
    72
    35
    15
See reviews for
239
591
60
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is the true Mandarin experience - top services, luxury, confort and food! We loved all. The location is perfect, maybe that could be the difference to choose this hotel. The breakfast room is wonderful, starting the day there was a must. Really recommend and hope to be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The building in which the hotel is housed is simply beadthtaking. We made a beeline for the bar on our first night and did not regret staying in. There was live Jazz, beautiful people and lots of great drinks on the menu. Our room was a standard grade but was very respectable. Have always been a fan of the service level of the mandarin oriental group and the one in BCN ranks well. In my opinion, consistently great service can be expected from a stay here.

Room Tip: Get something else other than the entry level room for a more pampered experience....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern nj
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed at other Mandarin Orientals and this one falls far below the mark. The location is excellent on Psg de Gracia. The concierge staff is also great but that's where the excellence ends. The rooms are tiny, modernistic and uncomfortable. Beds are hard and there is no place comfortable to sit as the room is so small. My biggest complaint however was the bathroom! Bathrooms are awful! Sliding frosted glass doors that do not close offer no privacy. Light, sound etc are not blocked by these sliders. Shower is open so bathroom gets wet. Single sink and lousy lighting for makeup application etc. extremely awkward toilet paper dispenser. Magnifying mirror is built into part of the fixed mirror so it can't be adjusted for height or lighting.

Pool deck is open in march but looks abandoned with no seat cushions out or any amenity so it cannot be enjoyed on a lovely and sunny day. Spa is not available to guests unless you are purchasing a service. Single unisex steam room is in basement off of the pool area vs in the spa. Gym is fine though small.
I just can't recommend this hotel for the price and was disappointed in the level of service. Turn down did not include even a chocolate at night! They do provide adapters and nice shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Buffet breakfast is very good but costs 19euros per person and is exactly the same everyday. Hotel rents out 2 bikes at 30 euros vs every other bike rental place charging 10 euros. And they charge for wireless Internet as well! I will never understand why an expensive hotel needs to charge guests extra for Internet when everyone needs or wants it yet inexpensive chain hotels provide it for free.
Mandarin oriental generally provides top notch service and facilities. They need to reexamine this property and bring it up to an appropriate standard

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

A great location and very nice hotel. Pretty much everything was in walking distance and those that were not were a short taxi ride.
The room was a little on the small side but furnished beautifully, the bathroom took some navigation and it was a little tricky avoiding everything in the room getting wet.
The service was outstanding. Check in was efficient, service in the restaurants friendly and professional. The Concierge service was especially good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petermelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good hotel near Catanuya Square. All main attractions of Barcelona are withing the walking distance from the hotel - perfect location. Casa Batlla is just over the street.
We had a terrace room with a small balcony - nicely fubished and clean, though a bit small.
Service in the hotel is very good, especially Concierge services: they helped us a lot with our requests and recommended fantastic restaurant around the city.
We visited Spa nearly everyday: very good treatments & staff. Pool is also very good, though it was a bit cold for me.
Breakfast at the hotel is fantastic - very good & wide selection of food, choice of Continental / Buffet or A la Carte Breakfast. Very tasty & good quality of food.
The Michelin starred restaurant in the hotel is really hard to book as it is quite small. But to be honest, it's nothing special. We've been to many Michelin starred restaturants and this one is definately not the best one of them.
The gastro bar downstairs is very good and easy to book. We liked the food & the tasting menu that they had for dinner. But the signer that was entertaing guests in the evening is awful! She had a bad ear for music and sang terribly:)
To summarize, this is a true luxury hotel in a very good location for the city break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went to barcelona to visit our daughter studying abroad. We have been to many fine hotels around the world but the service we received at the Mandarin was second to none. From the moment we walked through the doors we felt like they really wanted us to enjoy our stay. We arrived in the morning after a long trip from the states and while we were waiting for our room to be ready(not expected at 10am) they invited us to their buffet breakfast at no charge. The concierge was outstanding. Always friendly and helpful. He remembered where we went to dinner and asked us about it the next day. The waitstaff was extremely friendly. For breakfast they truly wanted to make something special for us even though there was no additional charge for this. When our daughter joined us for a quick breakfast they encouraged her to eat at the buffet and didn't charge us .It's the little things that make a place special. The barista cared enough to remember how we liked our coffee.The bellman were more than just bellman. They took an interest in where we were going and saved us valuable time by suggesting that we get tickets to "La Sagrada Familia" at the hotel saving us hours of waiting in line. Of course the location is clearly perfect. The rooms are pleasant and the exercise facilities and indoor pool are a real treat. If you go to Barcelona and want to stay in a hotel where they truly care about their guests, I would suggest staying at the Mandarin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk5817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#10 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#92 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,979 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing