We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expensive disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #16 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“expensive disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Despite several calls and emails ahead of time with the concierge, nothing was arranged property for our arrival - only partial details were given for tickets we bought and so we ended up having to purchase twice. We were greeted on arrival by our "butler" - a morrocan lady who spent 5mins at the lift talking to some morrocan guests whilst we waited for her to show us to our room. She then told us how she was there to help with everything so we asked for a small bathrobe and a dinner reservation at the hotel for the next night. The next day we asked again for the bathrobe and enquired about our dinner reservation - robe never showed up and finally i called housekeeping who brought it immediately (2 requests to the butler and 1 to the conceirge who was going to remind the butler achieved nothing).....and the dinner reservation had just been forgotten and there were no tables left. Then we tried the spa - i requested a pedicure, they booked me in for their very expensive special pedicure......the guy cut my toe but tried to cover it over (10 days lady i still have a wound under my nail) and he filed my nails so they all broke and cracked the next day, without doubt the worst pedicure i have ever had. i have regular pedicures and my feet and nails are in good condition - when i saw my regular spa the following week they were shocked at what had been done. Interestingly when i arrived i was asked to fill out a form about this special pedicure and there was a section left to complete after the treatment to say whether or not it had met your expectations......i was never asked to complete this piece when mine was finished! We had the sunday brunch and breakfast - at both the food was poor and you had to wait ages for them to re-fill things. Expensive for the selection and quantity. Overall it was just incredibly disappointing for the price and not what i normally expect from a Mandarin Oriental

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandarinOrientalBCN, Resident Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Gascony,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Barcelona. We very much appreciate your feedback and sharing your constructive comments, which contribute to improvement of our services.

We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay and sincerely apologize for our Spa services not meeting with your expectations. We would like to assure you that matters mentioned in your comments have been addressed personally by our management office and consequences have been taken.

Our goal is to fully delight our guests and ensure they pass and enjoyable and memorable stay in Barcelona.

We are hopeful to welcome you back in the near future and rectify your impression of the Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona.

We remain at your disposal for any information or assistance.

Vincent Studer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    180
    69
    35
    14
See reviews for
233
581
59
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental is one of two full service luxury hotels in Barcelona. The other hotel being the Hotel Arts. The Mandarin's location is exceptional (walking distance from most everything in the city) and the architecture/interiors are spectacular. The rooms are appointed beautifully and with a very contemporary vibe. What makes the Mandarin in Barcelona so special is the outgoing and kind staff. They will do anything to meet your every need. No hotel in Barcelona is a close second to the MO.

Room Tip: Go for a room viewing Passeig de Gràcia. More spacious room, and beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff are amazing from concierge to doorman (Alberto) with a great location. the rooms are fine and the shower is amazing. I hate the toilet. When your bags are in the room, it resembles a jumble sale.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hohum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a great stay in Barcelona and the superb service in the Oriental has completed the stay. Not only is the staff polite and always have a natural smile for you, they also really care and remember things you tell them. This is not unusual for Asian Luxury Hotels but here in Europe we have rarely received such an outstanding service.

Room Tip: Upper floors with a view to the courtyard. You do not notice that you are in THE city center of Barc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGPMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very foot hotel. Top service. I was a bit nervous about going with my 6 year old as I've never stayed at this chain of hotels before. The staff made us very welcome and gave my daughter lots of attention. The concierge was a great help. We chose a junior suite as it has a kind of separate bit with a separate bed. You get a butler on suite level and the lady was superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental has a well deserved reputation for phenomenal service. Our plane was canceled about 12 hours before we were supposed to go to the airport and we had to stay in Spain for another 2.5 days.

I was pretty upset and worried about when we would get back. So the concierge's desk called the airline, stayed on hold for 2 hours and helped us re-book the best flight we could get. Then when we wanted to go to Madrid with the extra time, they booked us the transportation, a room at a modestly priced hotel in Madrid and held a room for us in Barcelona for the night before our new flight went out. When we arrived back late the night before leaving, we had a very warn welcome for the staff, and our bags were already in our rooms. (We had taken just small shoulder bags and left most of the luggage at the hotel.)

And besides that, this is a pretty new hotel, right in the middle of everything in Barcelona -- and easy walking or short cab distance from all the major sites.

We loved the place even before they helped out with our issues.

It is very expensive, but worth the price to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvaS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idf
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed there first week early august . After a few (english language) dificulties in making myself understood during booking , turned out to be an excellent experience.
Very well located in the centre of town on passeig de gracia.
Suites benefit of the service of a butler who proved very full of attention in satisfying our queries of all kinds.
Excellent concierge desk also to help us find our way.
Also very good quality of equipment in the hotel and nice spa but staff service mindedness was really great.

Room Tip: terrace suites are not worth the price (long room with what is in fact a balcony) Try obtain Penthou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rktripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#88 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,917 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing