We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, location, service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #22 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality, location, service”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Quality hotel,service and location. Utmost service attentiveness from all quarters of staff services makes for a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    200
    77
    36
    16
See reviews for
256
634
64
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

It never ceases to amaze me the great quality of all Mandarin Orientals I haves stayed in. This one is in a wonderful location in Barcelona. You are made welcome as soon as you arrive by a very personal and efficient reception. Rooms are well appointed even though some may be a bit small. However the wonderful water pressure in the shower makes up for this!! Service is flawless...breakfast arrives perfectly on time!! The spa is also great with wonderful treatments. A really worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: Go for the ones with a full bathroom (not only shower) in a high floor overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this fantastic hotel. Amazing design (courtesy of Patricia Urquiola) excellent service, awesome breakfast buffet. Try the gastro restaurant "Moments", a truly great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Perfectly located amongst the up market stores in Passeig de Gracias The Madarin’s entrance is somewhat understate with a long ramp carpeted by the most fabulous Chinese rug leading you to the hotel reception and concierge.

We stayed for two nights at this beautifully appointed hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona. The service is simply what you would expect from this fabulous hotel group – nothing is too much trouble.

The décor is simply stunning - reminiscent of sixties chic yet strikingly modern. Our room looked over the beautifully designed Mimosa Garden used for al fresco dining.

I could go on and on about every aspect of this wonderful hotel but a visit to their website will convince you of its merits.

A stay at The Mandarin is not inexpensive but I believe it is tremendous value in terms of faultless service. Push the boat out and stay there the next time you are in Barcelona. I do not believe that you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chestertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We spent two nights in the Deluxe Terrace room on 1st floor overlooking the hotel's private garden. It was our first visit to Barcelona and we came to celebrate our wedding aniversary and see the City. We decided to stay at the Mandarin because it was newly opened and we stayed at other Mandarin hotels in Europe and Asia and liked the level of serice and quality of hotels.

We would like to share the following observations:
Overall impression - very positive, this is a new property with a feeling of a boutique hotel with very good and attentive service, good restaurants and spa. the hotel is in the centre of Barcelona luxury shopping district and not far from its main tourist attractions. Therefore it is somewhat far from the beach attractions of Barcelona however the Mimosa Garden restaurant, the rooftop pool, the spa, and the Blanc and Moments restaurants more than compensate lack of the seaside view and atmosphere. We went to the W Hotel for lunch and althought the seaside location is v attractive we were dissapointed with the food in the main restaurant and the feel of a mega Las Vegas hotel in the lobby. We were happy to return to the Mandarin after having our lunch the the W Hotel and settle in the great Mimosa Garden restaurant.

Rooms - cool modern style however relative small. We recommend a room with the terrace facing garden or larger as rooms without terrace must feel as being v small.

Restaurants - we spent a lot of time in the Mimosa Garden restaurant which has a Mediterranean felling and good food and wine. We were somewhat dissappointed with food at Moments which at the same time has excellent ambience and is great for a romantic dinner. Blanc has good breakfast and consistent main menu althought we would prefer Mimosa during warm weather

Spa - we have only toured the spa but found it very impressive. at the same time the menu is more expensive than in top London or Paris hotels which we find unjustified. the spa pool is very small.

Roof top pool - it was closed to our surprise with a notice that it is opening in May. We liked the view and envy guests who will have opportunity to enjoy this area since May.

Service - the staff is very young and the hotel new hence we recommend not taking everything for granted e.g. we booked a dinner at Moments one week before arrival only to find that there was not reservation made (however the restaurant gave us a table when we insisted we made the booking via the concierge); breakfast service was somewhat slow, we were bugged with 2 prompts/calls from the reception re our credit card details following arrival only to find that the reception noted incorrect cc expiry date, we could not open the door in the public bathroom and had to call maintenance to assist. However when we complained the management was extremely helpful and polite and we found a bottle of complimentary champagne when we returned to the room. Hence overall all was up to Mandarin standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstancin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights in a boulevard room on the 7th floor that was quiet, comfortable and stylish. Breakfast at Blanc was included otherwise it is about 29 euro. The staff really tried to make us feel at home and were glad to help us in any way. The mixologist at the Bankers bar were very skilled and helpful. The roof top pool is closed in the winter and as I recall opens in May.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigercage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We had 3 days/2 nights at the Manadrin in Barcelona. The service and staff were outstanding throughout - we arrived late morning and were provided with coffee/pastries while are room was made ready. Spa including the steam room was wonderful - on our last day, after visiting the Cathedral, we utilised the Spa ahead of leaving for the airport (our bags were retrieved from the concierge and brought to us in the Spa). We were also delighted by the glasses of Cava on arrival... and departure. Our room was lovely with all the facilities you would expect although my partner was disappointed she didn't get chocolates on the second night! Finally, the new restaurant/drinks courtyard - opened the week- was a lovely place to unwind before enjoying Barcelona in the evening.

Overall we had a brilliant time from start to finish and would strongly recommend. One small current issue to note (& not the Mandarin's fault) is the building work next door - we had a room at the back and the noise started at 8am.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kcbgerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
1,709 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#59 of 513 in Barcelona
4,579 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 513 in Barcelona
1,818 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
6,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing