We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Nearby Hotels
$207
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$214
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$123
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$373
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$344
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$149
$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$437
$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,521)
Filter reviews
1,521 results
Traveler rating
1,162
217
82
42
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,162
217
82
42
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbankers barbutler servicemimosa gardenblanc restaurantamex platinumboulevard roomdipping poolgarden viewconcierge teamgreat spapasseig de graciasteam roomindoor poolluxury hotelbeautiful hotelgaudi buildingscasa batllo
Filter
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 1,521 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is In the busy part of the city, where all the Madison Ave or Rodeo Drive shops are. Don't let it intimidate you. It's a short walk to Las Ramblas, the red on/off bus stops in front of the hotel and rooms (mine) overlooked a Gaudi masterpiece. Service was extraoridinary. the included breakfast was both buffet and everything on the menu, serverd in a delightful restaurant.
A warning, the Michelin starred restaurant in the hotel is overpriced and under special. there are so many good ones withing walking distance, skip the hotel restaurants, except for athe excellent breakfast.

There's a very good Italian restaurant, diagonally across the stree on the corner. Prices are moderate, and food delish.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manhattan10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Had a great stay for 3 nights. Great location for all the main attractions.

We stayed in a delux room, with an amazing shower. The bed was very comfy with crisp linen sheets. The electronics in the room were great could attach iPad/iPhone to tv speakers.

Only comment the price was about €100 over priced for the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_lawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

The hotel is converted from a bank a year ago fairlly new. Stuff was quite unexperianed . Rooms were very small. Bathroom was a disaster. Open door showers sliding window seprators after every shower water was in the bedroom. We were trying to dry the floors so our belongings won't get wet. Breakfast was not worth the price . First morning we had to wait 25 minutes for our tea.when it arived breakfast was over. Our waitress sad she only had 2 hands when we complaind. Consinage was helpfull beyond expectations when asked find out he was transferd from London. Spa pool gym was excallent . The general managment tryed to compansate the the best they can. However , it was annoying constantly complaining. Sincerely we picked the hotel thinking it is one of the best chains not worth the price I won't stay in this chain ever again even if it is free.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bduyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at the lovely new Mandarin Oriental and we impressed by its location, its rooms are not large, but very comfortable and well maintained. We found the room lighting switching was a little confusing to find where the switches were located and how they worked, but were impressed with the technology of it all. You don't need adaptors, they are supplied, and a USB charger is built right into the console along with other plugs. The shower was constantly great. The automatic window blind system was easy to use and was very dark - kept the light out completely so much so that we overslept for our flight home. There was no clock in our room.

The dining rooms and Bankers' Bar were great places to wine and dine. The food slections were good (not great) but expensive. And talking about expensive .. the laundry service is good but the prices are rediculously high. We had been sprayed with excrement while out walking, then robbed (I will put a note on another page about Barcelona), so we had to put our clothes into the laundry service for cleaning. A pair of cotton sox cost 6Euros to wash! They cost less to buy! We should have thown them out.

Overall I would highly recomment this hotel, not only for all its attributes, but the staff are the best we have ever encountered. They are highly professional, helpful beyond all expectations. Nothing was too much trouble to find out for us, or to help us when we were robbed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocheshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Located in an old bank on the prime part of passeig de gracia (flanked by tiffany and brioni), this hotel is relatively new- some cab drivers were unfamiliar with it. nevertheless, it is pretty stunning eye candy to behold: the walk up the bridge, the enclosed atrium overlooking the restaurant, the banker's bar.

The neighborhood is comparable to being on Michigan Avenue in Chicago, or Central Park South in NYC. It is within a 10-12 minute walk of Las Ramblas and Barri Gotic. The subway system is nice, clean, and fast, and conveniently located about 2 minutes from the hotel front door- highly recommended if you get tired of walking.

The service was typical for an MO: pretty fast, relatively quiet and discreet. The concierges were very good for the most part, especially Albert (there's a tapas bar around the corner, Tapas 24, that is highly recommended as a place to start: casual and tourist-friendly, but still very good and serviceable tapas- they are also open at "non typical" times.) The maid service was outstanding.

There's a small but well appointed fitness room with bikes and treadmills, some freeweights, and that's about it. There's a nice lap pool next to it with showers, sauna etc. Access is free. The spa (and its services), however, is the opposite of free, which is why we skipped it. There is a gorgeous infinity pool on the 9th floor along with a lovely terrace with a commanding view of Barca. It was empty, probably since we were there off season, but I'd highly recommend going up there in the summer.

We had a terrace room on the 5th floor. The room, by european standards, was pretty spacious, with a couch and desk. The bathroom was very narrow, resulting in the bath/shower positioned immediately adjacent to my wife's side of the bed. The toilet is located in a separate very small room next to the front door.

Be warned that there is a school behind the hotel; if you are there during the regular school year, it kind get a little loud in the morning as well as deep into the evening- kids playing basketball and soccer in an enclosed playground in the back of the school. The noise echoes off of all the surrounding buildings. Not terrible but definitely noticeable, especially if you are trying to relax and enjoy your patio with a glass of cava and a book.

Breakfast buffet was very good- it came with our package. I don't know that I would have been willing to pay nearly 30 euros for it. Wireless internet access was egregiously expensive- this is a pet peeve of mine. It is utterly ridiculous that they charge 9 euros/hour (!!!), considering the room rates.

What I would NOT hesitate to spend vast quantities of euros on, is dinner at Commerc 24. A singular dining experience that is not to be missed. Trust the sommelier and waiters: tell them what you want and don't want to eat, then sit back and relax. It was an incredible experience and comparable to (although distinct from) Alinea, Robuchon, and French Laundry (C24 is not nearly as formal but every bit as delicious and unique).

All in all, The MO is a very luxurious, well located, very comfortable but expensive hotel to base your barcelona adventure.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ex-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews