We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Barcelona Ramblas
Ranked #138 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Everything was perfect. Very friendly staff! Booked tickets for the flamenco show directly at the reception. The location is perfect. The ramblas are directly in front of the hotel. Can really commend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    586
    116
    20
    10
See reviews for
197
645
37
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really good location, right off La Rambla but very quiet at night. Very clean, nice rooms with cold air conditioning! Good service at front desk and the clerks spoke at least 4 languages while I was in the lobby. Very nice hotel, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank jennahrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Heperia Ramblas for two nights. The hotel is modern and very well located, just one block from La Ramblas and walking distance to many other things such as the waterfront. Parking is not offered but underground parking is available opposite the hotel at a price. The car park is very small and anyone with a large car will have difficulty getting into it! On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful and quickly rectified a small problem with the booking of our triple room. The room itself was small but perfectly adequate and very clean. Our biggest complaint would be the air conditioning unit in the room. It was so noisy that it was almost impossible to sleep with it on, but it was almost impossible to sleep with it off because of the heat. We could have complained and I am sure they would have moved us, but being there for such a short time it didn't seem worth it. Overall the hotel was good value and in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Milburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Perfectly located. One block from las Ramblas and literally half a block from the lively and colorful Mercado de la Boqueria (Boqueria Market).

Rooms were clean and well kept. Our 15 and 11 year old were a bit disappointed with the TV programming: Mainly Spanish and Catalan. A couple of channels in German and Deutsch. But then again this was a great opportunity to improve their foreign language skills.

My main complaint would be that the WiFi did not work in our rooms (4th floor). They explained that some of the rooms did not receive a clear signal... My wife and son complained that the mattresses were unusually stiff and had a hard time sleeping.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not bad at all either.

Fell free to contact me with any specific questions.

Room Tip: Rooms in lower floors may offer better Wi-Fi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripophiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Segeberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After reading the previous Trip Advisor comments, we chose this hotel and decided it would be just right for us. We were not disappointed at all!

We took a taxi to the hotel. It is very costly but comfortable. It cost 25 Euros from the airport to the hotel and 30 Euros from the hotel to the airport.

We liked the look of the hotel. It had a modern feeling to it with subtle colors. The front door is locked and you can ring the buzzer to get in. This is for security reasons and also guarantees that non-guests will not be hanging around in the lobby. The hotel staff was very polite and friendly, no matter who was at the reception desk. They were very helpful whenever we had a question and also when we checked in and out.

The room we had was a fine size for a couple. It was clean upon arrival and the cleaning team did a great job every day tidying it up and making the beds. There was a small refrigerator with a mini-bar and still had space enough for a couple of items if you wished to keep your own food or drinks cold. The bath was larger than we expected which was nice. The shower had great water pressure and it was always hot, no matter when we wanted to take a shower. It was quiet. We never heard anything from outdoors. The bed seemed a little hard which is why I gave only 4 points for the sleeping quality. But I still managed to sleep well in it.

The location is top!!! Not only are you just a minute's walk from the Ramblas, but also from the Metro station „Liceu“. A great suggestion is to familiarize yourself with the metro stations. You can reach many popular locations in Barcelona with the Metro and if you buy a T10 card, it only costs 9.80 Euros for 10 rides within Zone 1 (which covers many of the major attractions in the city). You save a lot of money because a single ticket already costs 2 Euros for Zone 1. So you are saving close to 50%. If you are a couple, you both can use the same card and each have 5 rides with the same ticket. You can also switch to another train to reach your destination and if it is within Zone 1, you do not have to clock it again. For example we took the L3 northbound to „Diagonal“ and switched over to the L5 eastbound to go to the „Sagrada Familia“. It costed us each approximately 2 Euros for a round trip.

Also the hotel is just around the corner from the „La Boqueria“... the famous market hall. If you go out of the hotel and turn right and then immediately right again, you can walk up the alley and come in at a side entrance. This place is great for breakfast. There are a couple of bakeries which are delicious and also many stands sell cups of fresh cut fruit which is great for the hot summer days. There is another bakery to the left of the hotel when you go out just a few doors down. We also enjoyed the flavor of their products as well.

A lot of people write about the area ro the right of the hotel. It did not seem so bad to us at all, at least during the day. In fact, if you walk just a small piece down to the right of the hotel, there is a hospital that is no longer in use which has a nice inner court area. It is also a location of the library. It was worth seeing and when we were there, there were many other tourists looking at it, too.

The pick-pocketing problem in Barcelona was something we read about before going. We only carried with us what we would need for the day and only copies of our passports... just in case, so that the damage would be minimal if something did happen. We noticed an incident happened to someone else on our first evening there, but other than that, we did not witness anything else during our entire stay and nothing happened to us. We never felt threatened at any time, either, no matter where we walked. But we did avoid any dark alleys during later hours.

Back to the hotel. We would like to stay there again if we go to Barcelona. The price was fair, we liked the central location for the sights and the beach in this fantastic city, the rooms were clean and the personnel was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RennmausHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our last stop on another whirlwind Eurotrip. My wife had studied abroad in Spain and could not wait to get back to Barcelona. After Madrid, Barcelona didn't compare, unfortunately. The hotel is right off La Ramblas, so that was nice. However turning the other direction we were quickly in a less desirable location. One of the side streets we named 'prostitute alley' due to the constant presence of a wide variety of female entertainment. That in itself didn't bother us so much as the shady characters who mingled among them, often following us for a bit until we get close to a police (who were plentiful in that area too), and then literally wander back to their door stoop. Definitely felt unsafe turning right outside of the hotel. Just avoid it. I had been pick pocketed in Madrid right before this, so I was a little sensitive to my surroundings at this point. Anyway, the hotel itself is really nice The front door is always locked, which says something about the neighborhood. Room and everything were great. The breakfast was a little lacking as it was always out of food. The poor hostess seemed constantly stressed out trying to bring food out. It was never very packed, which made me wonder why she was stressed, but anyway, she was. Decent variety of warm and cold food (although it was Spanish food, which lacks a lot of flavor), but usually had to wait for the hostess to bring more out as I always seemed to get to a plate right as someone took the last piece of whatever.

Not sure I would go back to Barcelona, but had nothing to do with the hotel. Hotel was nice, location, was just ok. The other side of La Ramblas looked much more promising (and where we spent most of our time).

Room Tip: Do not turn right out of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Perfect location, nice staff and spotlessly clean. Could not ask for much more apart from the internet. It was annoying that you have to sign in every to you need to use it. The hotel is right beside the big market, and it's a few steps from the Ramblas and the Gothic area. There is a nice bakery a few doors down with good coffee, bread, sandwiches and pastrys so no need to get breakfast in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodfanatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#145 of 512 in Barcelona
1,563 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 512 in Barcelona
2,400 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#108 of 512 in Barcelona
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#99 of 512 in Barcelona
1,548 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#214 of 512 in Barcelona
481 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#127 of 512 in Barcelona
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Barcelona Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona Ramblas

Property: NH Barcelona Ramblas
Address: Hospital, 26, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Barcelona Ramblas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Barcelona Ramblas hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Ramblas, is a stylish, contemporary building in the historic center of Barcelona, just footsteps from Las Ramblas, the city’s most famous street. Barcelona’s best shops, markets, restaurants, galleries and museums are within easy walking distance. Plus, it’s really close to a metro station, with good links to the airport and local trade fair centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your NH Barcelona Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Ramblas Barcelona
NH Barcelona Ramblas Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing