We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments in downtown Barcelona”
Review of Suites Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suites Avenue
Ranked #12 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartments in downtown Barcelona”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just spent 6 nights in Suites Avenue. The apartment is outstanding. We were extremely pleased with the location and the conveniences within the apartment. It was like having a home away from home. The front desk staff is outstanding. Cristina was extremely helpful and went out of her way to make our stay great. We didn't get the name of the other front desk staff including the concierge, but they were extremely pleasant and always willing to help. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsukumaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Suites Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the online review of Suites Avenue after your recent stay.

It goes without saying that we were genuinely delighted to read all the nice things you said about it and specially about Cristina and the rest of the staff.

Perhaps we will have the privilege of welcoming you back in the not too distant future and with that in mind, if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Alberto Ranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    163
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
323
278
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed last week in November just as city was preparing for Christmas perfectly situated for visiting all the main shopping areas most within walking distance. Could not find fault with apartment well set out lovely views from roof terrace. Staff very helpful on our arrival also recommended a nice venue for lunch whilst our apartment was made ready.
Again one of the best apartments we have stayed in view to rear nothing great though, great base to set you up for visiting all that's Barcelona will definitely return if visiting Barcelona again
Taxi rank just outside if needed as was underground

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed first week in December, a great time to visit - streets lit up with Christmas lights, Christmas markets, shop displays all set up for Christmas and town centre has lots going on.

Hotel, the best hotel I've ever stayed in! Everything you possible want or need is available, the hotel staff are very helpful and will give you directions if you need them. You cant miss the hotel, look at the picture and you will see what i mean. The metro is underground, i was on the 5 floor and I'm a light sleeper and it didn't keep me awake. The family room is big enough for 3 people, but if your a tall person I'd recommend sleeping on the sofa bed as the second bed is only a small single which was fine for me. The bedrooms are separated but a sliding door, which is only a problem if the other people in the other bedroom snore! Lol cause you can hear them! There is two bathrooms one with a shower and one with a bath ( which is in the main bedroom)

Street quieter main Street in Barcelona but very easy to get to! Most things in walking distance or a small taxi ride away ( for those whose are less fit)

Taxi rank right outside and shoppers paradise ( would even better if your rich or have just won the lottery lol and can afford to buy in the expensive shops! ) there is cheaper shopping available those on a smaller budget like me.

There is no food available in the hotel however this is not a problem, there is plenty of places to buy food or go into to eat. Even for the fussy people like me, restaurants and bars will go there best to help you order your food and explain what things are in English. Very helpful people!

Chocolate heaven, there is plenty around Barcelona!!!

The main problem in Barcelona is there is too many places to go and see, so go for as long as possible! I went for 4 days and still didn't see half of it! Defo will be going back. Especially to revisit the camp now, missed the opening of the new store :-(

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We are currently staying at this resort on the sixth floor. I will begin by saying that my partner and I typically stay at 5 star resorts and live in a very luxurious home in Los Angeles. We have very high standards. That being said, I know that I did not spend 5 star prices to stay at this "hotel". However I did pay 4 star prices, and it does not live up to that. We decided to book the apartment at Suites Avenue because we are here for an extended holiday and wanted space. Also, being that it is winter, we didnt want to stay near the beach. I booked the apartment through a third party site - Avanmare (sp?), and paid about 15% more than the rate if you book through the hotel directly (didnt realize this was a hotel of sorts, it was sold as a private rental property).
First the good news about the property......As it turned out, I was very glad it was a "hotel" of sorts. The staff is very helpful and has given us amazing tips to enjoy the city. They arranged all sorts of things for us including a Vespa rental and dinner reservations. The location of Suites Ave is TOPS. It is outside of the most touristy areas but still in walking distance to all of the main sites, great dining, and amazing shopping. The bathrooms are very large and well appointed and the kitchens are very useful and well done. Great views of Casa Milla.
With all of those great things in mind, I want to warn you that this is not a luxury property. The apartments are sparse and furnished with cheap uncomfortable furniture. Odd, because the floors and bathrooms are so nice. There are no blankets at all anywhere and the sheets are cheap and itchy. The bed is not great, but I could be a lot happier with it if the pillows and linens were at least of average quality. I am also suggesting that there be some sort of music in the apartments - either a radio, a stereo or even an alarm clock that we could play music on. It is VERY quiet in here and there is only so much BBC one can watch. Also the nice bathrooms....they leak all over the place. The maids do not clean they only make your beds and take out trash.
All that said, I have been questioning if I made the right choice in staying at Suites Ave. I looked all over and I found two other locations in Gracia that seem more luxurious. We visited one of them last night - the Mandrin. It is cheesy and crowded and the staff was terrible and views are not as good. Cannot speak for the rooms but maybe I did make the right choice. I have not visited the other location yet (hotel Majestic) but I suggest looking into it if you want a more luxury experience.
in summary, I am happy with the staff and location of Suites Avenue - otherwise, this is a poor choice for those used to a 5 or even a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel... Really a design one. Very good rooms with everything you need, including a kitchen. Just in front of La Pedrera... I loved it! Not including the breakfast is not a problem, it is an opportunity for you to discover an uncou table number of bars and restaurants in the surroudings..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ValeriaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great location: Right amidst shoppers paradise (not that I buy from those labels much); we were just upstairs from Boss & Zegna. Prada just across the road, as with many other premium labels!

Service: Very helpful staff, Generally great, no complains at all. Room were kept clean (even though we don't leave the room each day till 12NN).

Rooms: We were very lucky as I think we were there at the low season. We were given a room, with a huge balcony! Kitchen well kit-ted out with Washing machine, dishwasher, Combo Micro & conventional ovens, cutlery, plates etc. Only complaint, the sitting room was too big for the television ; )

Overall, very happy with our stay and will definitely try and book this one again when we come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had alovely time in Barcelona, suites avenue was beautiful choose an apartment as my husband and myself took our daughter who is a big barcelona fc fan. All of the staff were kind and friendly the reception people so helpful. Had no problem finding restaurants, my daughter is fussy eater, all the restauants we used were friendly and helpful and not overpriced considering the location.
And the shopping what can I say , brilliant. thank you everyone at suites avenue. We willbe back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,112 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 513 in Barcelona
1,765 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Avenue

Property: Suites Avenue
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 83, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Avenue, inaugurated in spring of 2009, is a new option for accommodations in Barcelona, directly opposite Gaudí's La Pedrera.These luxury tourist apartments are ideal for medium- to long-term stays and designed especially for family holidays and business trips.Located in the Eixample neighbourhood right on Barcelona's Passeig de Gràcia occupies a recently built avant-garde building with a spectacular stainless steel façade designed by Japanese architect Toyo Ito. It is a building that draws the attention of Barcelona residents and tourists alike, and it has become an architectural icon.Suites Avenue has independent apartments of 45 to 86 m2, with one or two luxury bedrooms, independent kitchen, sitting-dining room and shared services like two outdoor swimming pool, a solarium, a communal terrace with views looking over Passeig de Gràcia, a gym, a sauna and a museum with original Hindu and Buddhist pieces on display.ServicesLuxury apartments equipped with all electrical appliances, furniture and utensils in the following categories: 6 superior, 12 superior Pedrera View, 15 deluxe, 6 deluxe Pedrera view, 2 Pedrera penthouse24-hour reception serviceWi-Fi in all areas2 outdoor swimming pool and solariumGym and saunaMassages on request Business centerHindu and Buddhist museumMini barBreakfast serviceParkingCleaning serviceLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowedShould you require anything further, or find you have time on your hands that you would like to spend doing something original and unique, please let us know. The concierge will provide assistance to make your stay in Barcelona a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Suites Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Avenue Hotel Barcelona
Suites Avenue Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing