We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in Barcelona”
Review of Suites Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suites Avenue
Ranked #12 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful in Barcelona”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a stunning apartment/hotel on the most fashionable street in Barcelona. We booked the front apartment with a view of one of the Gaudi masterpieces across the street. Another Gaudi is up the street two blocks away. Great tapas restaurants everywhere. So, the location can't be beat. Service, amenities, room space, all as good as it gets. It is simply a spectacular way to begin a stay in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Front of building apartments have a view of Gaudi building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    163
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
323
278
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was initially unsure where to stay in Barcelona when planning our trip given the sheer number of luxury hotels in the city. Since we were traveling with our 15 month old daughter, we decided that we needed at least a 1 bedroom suite so as to have a separate area for us to relax at night once the baby was asleep. As expected, we found the price of suites to be high at the nicer hotels, and accidentally came across Suites Avenue. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment facing the Pedrera (famous building designed by Gaudi). Upon our arrival, we were initially awed by the exterior of the building which boasts a modern facade quite different than the neighboring older buildings. The hotel is located on the equivalent of New York's Madison Avenue, with high end stores stretching in both directions. Interestingly, the entrance to the hotel is discreet, which hides the fact that it is actually a hotel. The lobby is small with a single reception desk, but the interior of the building is ultra-modern, and riding the glass elevators is entertaining in itself. The apartments are extremely spacious and all have modern decor that we personally loved. Our apartment had two bedrooms. The master bedroom was spacious and had a large bathroom with separate shower and tub. The second bedroom was smaller with a twin bed, but was large enough for a baby cot and had a smaller second bathroom. The small kitchen is very functional with a fridge, microwave/oven, dishwasher, and even a washer/dryer which was extremely helpful. The living room also had a nice dining area and the small balcony affords great views down the street and of the Pedrera. The rooftop is also nice with a small pool and great views of the city. There is daily maid service. I would have expected much higher prices for a room this new and spacious.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Pedrera is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Snack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Suites Avenue is perfectly located. The style of the building is elegant and from our apartment we had a view to the Pedrera building across the street! The apartment was luxurious, spacious for the family and elegantly furnished. Staying at the Suites Avenue made the stay in Barcelona just gorgeous!

(I found it a pity though that the walls in the apartment desperately needed some cleaning, I washed some parts of them and the dirt went off very easily, the rest of the apartment and the hotel was very clean)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigridur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Suites Avenue, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sigridur,

I was happy to hear that you found the building to be suitable for your needs and that the apartment was spacious and elegantly furnished.

Our staff is continuously checking apartment status (paint, furniture, etc) and I will personally take care to check what was missed with the house keeping department.

We look forward to your next stay.

Alberto Ranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This place has everything you could ask for and in an amazing location. The reception staff were very helpful, friendly and added the extra sense of hospitality that Barcelona presents. The pool is small but is a lovely get away to enjoy the sun and have a wee dip. Certainly value for money in terms of quality and location, certainly will be using again when we return

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Suites Avenue, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback you left on TA from your recent visit at Suites Avenue.
It was our pleasure to look after you whilst you stayed with us and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and service we provided to you during your stay.
I will share the comments with all of my team and I would like to welcome you back on any future visits to our city.

Kind regards,

Alberto Ranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Open the front door, tired from the walking, overloaded with newly aquired handbags and a mortgage to finance these, and sheer bliss, you're home, at Suites Avenue. Its superb location, apart from the handbag danger, friendly staff and the most contemporary design and furnishing make this a great base to explore the wonderful city.

We were in Apartment 61, surely you could not do better. It is spacious, spotlessly clean, suitable for a long stay, or short. Roof top terrace, with mini pool and with a great view of the adjacent Gaudi building is so nice in the early evenings, late evenings and mornings. Wonderful restaurants and bars abound nearby; all were astonshingly well priced, serving great and interesting food- stay away from the touristy joints near the Port (full of Brighton Poms when we were there).

Suites Avenue was perfect......oh no, got to go.....she is off to look at shoes! Surely these we don't need.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Suites Avenue, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

The team and I were very happy to read that you had enjoyed your visit at Suites Avenue and that you enjoyed your apartment.
I will share the comments with all of my team and I would like to welcome you back on future visits to explore again Barcelona.

Best regards,
Alberto Ranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Long overdue, but here is my review. We stayed for six nights at the beginning of June. We had a family apartment and my parents had a superior. The location was perfect. We walked everywhere. Right in the heart of the shopping district and near all the sights that were important to me. Casa Batllo, my absolute favorite, is merely a few blocks away. And La Pedrera (Casa Mila) is right across the street. La Sagrada Familia is a short cab ride away. Great eateries, a wonderful little grocery store, and a gigantic liquor store are nearby.

The family apartment was spectacular. Huge living room with dining room table. The couch does not pull out, but serves as a twin type bed. One of our twin 7-year-old sons slept there. A bedroom with another twin bed housed his brother. That bedroom and the master bedroom were separated by an accordion style divider, so you could open it during the day for a more open feel. There was a large tub in the master and a shower next to the twin room. All the doors were pocket doors, so the apartment had a very sleek design and you could arrange it to block off just one bedroom at any given time.

The kitchen was fabulous, with a combo microwave/convection oven, dishwasher, and refrigerator. There were many gadgets, like a juicer, hand blender, Nespresso machine, and super fast heating kettle. Electronically controlled blackout shades throughout. Our room overlooked the lap pool on the second floor, which was actually our choice for swimming. We only went up to the top deck once, although it is gorgeous. My sons preferred the solitude of the second floor (I think it's actually the "first" floor according to the elevator, with the ground floor as "zero"?) The water was very cold, but they didn't care. They swam every day. It was plenty hot though, so it wasn't too bad.

The contemporary design is awesome. Easy to spot the hotel from a distance, the simplicity of the interior is gorgeous, marble/granite everywhere, and even the fire exit stairs were the cleanest and nicest I've ever seen.

I used the treadmill and didn't feel weird about others seeing me. There are only three "machines" and some free weights, but it worked well for me. Housekeeping was efficient and they were also very nice. The washer/dryer in one was cool and compact, but it left our clothes stiffly wrinkled. But that is my biggest complaint. Oh wait, I also hated having to get a new login code for each device on a daily basis, but it worked nonetheless. You have to pay extra to be able to check email. Otherwise, you can only browse the web at dialup speed. But the upcharge was super reasonable at like $45 for a month. The TVs had a lot of Spanish-speaking channels, but you could switch the audio to English on some.

Hugo at the front desk was amazing. We loved him. Entering the front door with your key (or by pressing a button to alert the front desk to buzz you in helps create a sense of security.

My parents' apartment was just fine, but obviously I enjoyed our larger one better. We are returning next year with my other parents (mom and stepdad on this one, dad and stepmom in 2014), and will definitely stay here again. This time, we are getting the apartments with the balcony facing La Pedrera.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twopeasonepod808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a modern, luxury apartment within walking distance of major architectural attractions (across street from La Pedrera), shopping areas, the market, and the Rambla. It is very close to tourist bus stops and subway entrances. Facilities for cooking are largely unnecessary as the area is teeming with great places to eat. The living area is big enough to entertain two other couples for drinks. The fifth floor balcony allowed us to feel were part of the street scene, but with doors closed we felt completely secluded. Friends stayed around the corner at the Hotel Murmuri and we felt this was vastly better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto5364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Suites Avenue, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your experience with us and our wonderful city.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alberto Ranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,112 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 513 in Barcelona
1,765 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Avenue

Property: Suites Avenue
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 83, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Avenue, inaugurated in spring of 2009, is a new option for accommodations in Barcelona, directly opposite Gaudí's La Pedrera.These luxury tourist apartments are ideal for medium- to long-term stays and designed especially for family holidays and business trips.Located in the Eixample neighbourhood right on Barcelona's Passeig de Gràcia occupies a recently built avant-garde building with a spectacular stainless steel façade designed by Japanese architect Toyo Ito. It is a building that draws the attention of Barcelona residents and tourists alike, and it has become an architectural icon.Suites Avenue has independent apartments of 45 to 86 m2, with one or two luxury bedrooms, independent kitchen, sitting-dining room and shared services like two outdoor swimming pool, a solarium, a communal terrace with views looking over Passeig de Gràcia, a gym, a sauna and a museum with original Hindu and Buddhist pieces on display.ServicesLuxury apartments equipped with all electrical appliances, furniture and utensils in the following categories: 6 superior, 12 superior Pedrera View, 15 deluxe, 6 deluxe Pedrera view, 2 Pedrera penthouse24-hour reception serviceWi-Fi in all areas2 outdoor swimming pool and solariumGym and saunaMassages on request Business centerHindu and Buddhist museumMini barBreakfast serviceParkingCleaning serviceLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowedShould you require anything further, or find you have time on your hands that you would like to spend doing something original and unique, please let us know. The concierge will provide assistance to make your stay in Barcelona a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Suites Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Avenue Hotel Barcelona
Suites Avenue Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing