We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
Ranked #374 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a very comfortable stay. Clean, tidy rooms although not overly spacious but we weren't worried. Our room was serviced everyday and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast wasn't great, but for what you pay it is still good value for money. Great location with just a two minute walk from Catalunya Sq,(Aerobus stop) and La Rambla.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiakaha7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    125
    59
    34
    27
See reviews for
46
148
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend in November 2013, we got the hotel for dirt cheap so we were not expecting it to be very good but were pleasantly surprised!
Both rooms were really clean and we were given fresh towels and bedding both days.
When we requested extra pillows they were brought up straight away.
The rooms also have a safe free of charge. Plus a fridge and free wifi.
As a group of 4 young women we felt safe as there was a 24 hour reception and the hotel door was locked in the evening and the night staff let us in. Additionally the staff were really friendly and helpful.
On Sunday we didn't have to be out of the room until 12 and then they allowed us to leave our bags locked away for the rest of the afternoon which was good.
With regards to the 'sewage smell' we did smell it a couple of times around the lift area but also could smell it out in the street around the hotel so I think it was the area. Didn't smell it at all in the rooms though.
The one negative was that one of our rooms was on the corner so although we had a lovely few there were huge windows all the way around and due to the time of year this made the room very cold at night and the heating facility in the room wasn't working. If we had been staying longer we would have requested to move rooms but as we were only there two nights there was no point.
The hotel is in an excellent location. Right outside the metro station and a few minute walk away from las ramblas.
Had a lovely time and loved Barcelona. If I was to go back to Barcelona I would definitely stay here again.
I have stayed in 3 star plus hotels that have not been as nice.
Would absolutely recommend for mini breaks on a budget!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Everything you would expect in a 2 star hotel. Good value, plain, clean, pleasant staff, our room was fine, not huge but had everything we needed.. None of the unpleasant smells that plagued the last reviewer. We had come to see Barcelona, not the inside of a room, only thing missing was tea making facilities - take a travel kettle if you can (and an adapter) if, like me, you need a good cup of tea to wake up. There is a small fridge and a 24 hour supermarket just over the road.
would use this hotel again, not too far from Playa Catalunya where all the travel buses go from, also easy for airport bus . a little traffic noise so take ear plugs if this bothers you. I doubt many of the hotels in this huge city dont have traffic noise

Room Tip: we had 403 - 4th floor and a curved room overlooking a square, fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the moment I entered the hotel the stench of sewage in the tiny reception area made me realise I had made a mistake. Although the bedroom was clean it was extremely cramped for two people. The bathroom was also clean and towels were changed each day and the bed was made. However, the smell continued to be awful. The very poor breakfast was down some stairs into a windowless cellar which had paint peeling off the walls. Altogether a horrible experience. I would never return. I expect at least the same facilities that I have at home, not stinking rooms and eating in a cellar. The only good thing was the excellent situation of the hotel for accessing all the main tourist areas but that did not compensate for the disappointment. I have to agree with everything said by others who have complained.

I would also mention we were both bitten by fleas, but these might have hapened when travelling the crowded metro.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We chose this hotel mainly because of its closeness to the the centre of the city.
It is located 5 minutes walk from Placa Catalunya in a street with a lot of shops.
The hotel is small, but the rooms are good. There was mini fridge in our room and a free Wifi.
The breakfast was OK. The staff was good and helpfull.
It is a very good hotel if you want good qualities for reasonable price.
We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. The hotel is in a bit noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

After a tiring trip nothing more pleasant than getting to a hotel where you feel cattered to. Receptionists are warm and caring. Installations are simple but clean. It´s worth each Euro you spend there. No to mention the nice location...near the Ramblas. Rooms are not too big but enough for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: All apartments are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joaommoita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed with a friend for a quick getaway for 3 nights. Could not have had a better place to stay for our first time to Barcelona. The concierge was amazing and totally patient with two 21 year old American girls traveling. It's only about 2 blocks away from Las Ramblas. We were able to walk everywhere which was so convenient. The rooms were really basic and had everything we needed in them very clean as well. For the price and location would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#326 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#220 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pelayo
Hotel Pelayo
#351 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#221 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#204 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#228 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel

Property: HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
Address: Carrer de Pelai, 1, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly HLG Citypark Pelayo)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CityPark Pelayo Hotel welcomes you to a hotel next to Las Ramblas with a modern and functional design, for both business travellers and those looking to enjoy a pleasant stay in the city. The services of the CityPark Pelayo Hotel are the ideal complement for your trip to Barcelona and include daily full breakfast, free WiFi in common areas, 24 hour reception, ticket sales, lounge room, Internet Corner, laundry service ($), wake-up service... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing