We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Ranked #260 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I chose the hotel because of its excellent location and good price. It is supposedly a 4 star hotel, but i should be downgraded to not more than 2 stars...

The main problems were the heat, cleanlineness and noise. The rooms were very hot due to central heating or whatever and there was not air conditioning. We had to sleep with the window opened and even so it was not good enough. Everybody had problems sleeping and I could hear the same complaints from other guests. Moreover, dividing walls are quite thin and the noise from other rooms was excessive. My room walls and floor halls were dirty, carpets were dirty.

All the above is far from acceptable in a normal 4 star hotel or even a 3 star hotel. Staff was nice and responding, however they could not correct those problems.

I do not intend to stay there again and cannot recommend it.

Within 100 meters you probably have 50 hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: if you have to stay there, ask for a room facing the street. Mine faced an interior patio. Accross t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msv19650916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    405
    199
    82
    50
See reviews for
197
377
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

in a very nice place in the heart of barcelona you dont need a taxi to go anywhere as you have all what you need around the hotel
the small streets areound the hotel is full of nice shops (i found a real old spanish shop , was the best)
The hotel room furniture is very old & AC is not working good.. sometimes very hot other is cold, however it is clean and bathrooms are good and clean as well and yes it is of good value for money.. the stuff at the reception are very nice and freindly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ririyakoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is much as you would expect from a city 4* hotel, the check in was efficient and the staff were warm and welcoming.

We were with friends and both of our rooms were fine, although the bathrooms are tired and the grouting was well past its sell by date.

The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Barcelona, being just a minute's walk from Las Ramblas and within walking distance of the port. Taxis are available outside of the hotel and buses just a few minutes walk away.

The area was fine and we didn't experience any problems during our trip.

We would be happy to stay here again when next in Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is very close to Ramblas, ideal for a walk in the old city center. But it is in a relatively narrow and downgraded street. The night trhere s a lot of bad-looking people, although no reason to see this is unsafe. Nice reception, quite small rooms, needing a renovation: used woods, decouloured and dirty walls, bathroom equiptment of last century,..... But price is quite attractive, staff is professional and kind. Good for short trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedropedropedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect for a central base to get around Barcelona. When we arrived the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful providing tips on the area as we only had 2 days to explore Barcelona. When we got to the room it was clean and basic but for the money we paid perfectly reasonable and we were given a complimentary bottle of wine shortly after we arrived. The one complaint was that unfortunately the air conditioning was broken and not fixed during our stay which meant the room was very hot at night and we had to keep the balcony door open which wasn't ideal. Overall if your looking for something basic but clean and central then I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in 2 Silken hotels in Barcelona as part of a recent cruise vacation. In this hotel the room was run down, had a view of a brick wall, dark hallways, and 2 twin beds pushed together to make a double but made up as individual beds. And the beds were hard. Staff by far is the best part of the hotel. Fixed a broken toilet within 15 minutes or so of the report. Had an empty room so they gave me access despite it being hours before check-in. Just very friendly and very helpfu. My major issue with the hotel is location. La Ramble is a tourist trap. Everyone was speaking English in the nearby restaurants. Food was mediocre. Overall I preferred Silken Gran Havana and its neighborhood. That being said if you want to stay near La Rambla and don't want to deal with the noise than this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The only really good thing about this hotel is its location and nice buffet breakfast. Wi-fi is slow and glitchy, so if you need it really for work, choose another hotel. Room was ok, but sometimes, there was garbage left after room cleaning, sometimes no soap in bathroom, no bathrobes. Caution to use kettle in the room. It just turns all electricity off in your room and on your floor, they repair it quick, but still it's not normal for 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#119 of 512 in Barcelona
1,698 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#206 of 512 in Barcelona
1,261 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#99 of 512 in Barcelona
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#143 of 512 in Barcelona
1,560 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#146 of 512 in Barcelona
923 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona

Property: Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Address: Pintor Fortuny, 13, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registry Number: HB-003951 This city hotel was built in 1992 and comprises a total of 105 rooms, including 8 Junior suites. The hotel bar is an ideal place to make a date, relax after the stress of a working day, or stock up on energy after a day exploring the city. Further amenities available to guests at this air-conditioned establishment include a lobby area with a 24-hour reception, a hotel safe, a currency exchange facility, a cloakroom, lift access, a cafe, a bar, a restaurant and conference facilities. Guests may also take advantage of the Internet access/WLAN, room service and a garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing