We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of new management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Ranked #248 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The online version of this hotel looks amazing and therefore well worth the cost. The reality is worn and dated. The amenities are over priced and not up to the standard of similar hotels in its category. This place has good potential to be an incredible venue but the rooms are dark and boxy, the bathrooms are similarly dated. The dining room is reminiscent of holiday in express and at 17 euros a head it fallow well short of the mark. I am not someone who minds spending money for a quality hotel but leaving the Silken I couldn't help but feeling robbed.

Suggestions:
1 Renovate
2 sort out breakfast
3 laundry service should have starch and 5 Euro is plenty to iron a shirt
4 rethink charging guests so much for parking. Half of the current rate is more than enough
5 rework the rooftop pool and bar. Staff is brilliant but the setup is like something you find on a beach, not a 4 star hotel.
6 get rid of the towel deposit its insulting.
7 front of house is chaos, not focused, not welcoming and not well presented. Additional training badly needed.

Room Tip: Check out the hotels in the are and ask to see the rooms. Loads of choice in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank don j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 989 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I Had a bad time there, the Breakfast is really expensive and not great , Swimming pool small, you have to pay for parking even if you are a guest, pay almost 10 Euros to Iron one shirt, the rooms are not great. The only good point is the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have no complaints about this hotel. Could not have been a better location, right off of La Rambla. The hotel was clean and the employees very polite. The pool was small, but the deck area was nice. Few people used the pool, so we had it to ourselves the couple of times we went up. The free in-room wi-fi provided a fast connection.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Do not be fooled by the pictures of the reception area, this does not represent the hotel rooms at all.
Our hotel room was very dark and dingy, our bed was right next to the door so everything could be heard in the corridors and every time someone upstairs used their toilet we could hear everything. Yes the location is great but there are many nicer hotels nearby. We checked out after our first night, couldn't believe we'd paid to stay at a 4 star hotel and this is what we were greeted with, defo NOT a 4star. We were very polite when checked out, our travel company had already informed hotel of our check out, but we were then confronted with a VERY rude and aggressive member of staff by the name of Oscar. This topped it all off and we were very happy to leave.

All we can say is have a look around and avoid this hotel if you can (especially if your wanting 4 star) we moved to a lovely hotel called H10 Casanova, so happy we moved. Much nicer and helpful staff unlike Oscar!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaylingMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Silken for two nights prior to a cruise from the port of Barcelona. The hotel was very well located of Las Ramblas, it was about a 15 minute walk to the harbour area. We stayed in a room with an extra roll away bed (our 17 year old son shared our room). The bathroom was compact but clean and the well equipped with complimentary toiletries. The only window was onto a wall so no great view but as we only used the hotel for sleeping this was not an issue. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We opted for breakfast inclusive price which was quite expensive but the breakfast buffet was excellent serving a great variety of pastries, cereals, cheese, meats, fresh fruit, fruit juices, cooked eggs,bacon and lovely different breads. We were able to walk straight out of the hotel and find numerous restaurants, shops and a lively atmosphere but there was no noise in our bedroom. Beds were comfortable and air conditioning worked fine. We did go to the rooftop swimming pool which doesn't look as attractive as it does in the publicity photos but as we were not staying for a long time this was not a problem. The reception areas, bar and restaurant were attractively decorated and I would be happy to recommend the hotel, my only comment was that it was quite expensive, however, we were staying in August and three of us occpied the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having read some mixed reviews of this hotel, we approached it with an open mind and were pleasantly surprised. The main complaint of others was the noise from other rooms but we didn't find this a problem; just once there was a bit of noise from the next room but that stopped by just after midnight, other than that the only disturbance was an argument in the street outside at about 6am one morning. This seemed to have woken up everyone in the naighbourhood judging by the number of people on balconies! Not something you can fault the hotel for.
The location of the hotel is superb, just off La Ramblas and within walking distance of the attractions we wanted to visit. Rooms are clean and restocked daily with toiletries, and have a small balcony (although not big enough to sit out on). Rooms are a bit dark but other than that, no camplaints. Wi-fi was free but needed a long code to be typed in which was a bind, and we had to get a new code every three days.
Don't bother with the hotel breakfast - expensive and inedible, I'm not sure what kind of milk they used for the tea, I have never tasted anything quite so disgusting! Walk a few steps out of the hotel and there are several cafes where you can get a good breakfast at an open air table at a fraction of the hoted price - we found Bar Lobo to be excellent. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, there are hundreds of places very close - the bar opposite Lobo (I forget the name) serves an an excellent grilled rabbit at a very reasonable price. We also ate at a couple of places in the suqare near the cathedral, again excellent food and value.
Barcelona is great for walking if a little hot in the summer; there is so much to see. The metro is convenient and you can buy a discount ticket that can be used 10 times by more than one person. Don't miss Casa Batllo, the Picasso museum and the Joan Miro museum. The rack railway and cable car to the castle on Montjuic are also a must. But one of the best places we visited was Montserrat monastery - an hour long hot crowded train journey ws well worth it for the views at the top, but the almost vertical funicular railway to St Joan was amazing. There are several walks when you get to the top if you have the stamina!
Back at the hotel, we could have a swim in the (tiny) pool after a day sightseeing, it was open until about 8pm, and very welcome.
All in all a great holkiday and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marley100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I am currently writing this review here at the hotel on there free wifi. Tonight is my last night. Was here for a week. Before we got here I emailed the hotel (twice) asking for a King size bed since Orbitz said we would be offered a 1 bed option, but the hotel only has double beds for regular rooms. When we checked in they said we have beed upgraded to a suite (floor 5) which included a jacuzzi, patio, king size bed.....but to be honest, if i HAD paid for a suite, i would be dissapointed because the patio isnt that great, the "jaccuzi" ( a large bathtub with jets) the jets didnt work.

This hotel needs to focus on the little things, and i dont really think its a **** hotel, maybe 3 1/2. for instance, no air conditioning on 5th floor hallway, and in the elevators.
-I was most pissed at their towels! they were old and had strings coming off them!! that what people want from hotels-fluffy nice towels. Also the Pool was dirty, and i was "skeeved" out swimming in it. i wanted to get a MR.clean magic eraser and start scrubbing the water line around the tile. Also their were NOT enought lounge chairs around the pool and we NEVER got a chance the whole week to get one! you NEED to go to the pool around 10am (when they open) to get them

but besides for some small details, it was worth the money. I think silken should spend their money on their actual hotel, rather than advertisments on websights like Orbitz.

if you dont mind a SLIGHT compromize for the price, book it....... if not try Catedral Hotel. its real nice i stayed there last time and it kicked silkens booooooty.

Room Tip: not bad for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#205 of 515 in Barcelona
1,394 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#115 of 515 in Barcelona
1,778 reviews
Eixample
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
#147 of 515 in Barcelona
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#145 of 515 in Barcelona
1,603 reviews
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#335 of 515 in Barcelona
384 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#122 of 515 in Barcelona
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona

Address: Pintor Fortuny, 13, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $81 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registry Number: HB-003951 This city hotel was built in 1992 and comprises a total of 105 rooms, including 8 Junior suites. The hotel bar is an ideal place to make a date, relax after the stress of a working day, or stock up on energy after a day exploring the city. Further amenities available to guests at this air-conditioned establishment include a lobby area with a 24-hour reception, a hotel safe, a currency exchange facility, a cloakroom, lift access, a cafe, a bar, a restaurant and conference facilities. Guests may also take advantage of the Internet access/WLAN, room service and a garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing