We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think it used to be a good hotel once upon a time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Ranked #245 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Despite the good and helpful staff "especially the receptionist recardo", the hotel is kind of old, thin walls (therefore, noisy), SLOW internet, got two separated beds despite stating that we are honeymooners.

On the other hand, the rooms were wide and the location of the hotel was great as it is next to Le Meridian.

Room Tip: Try not to book a room which is next to an elevator. It's extra noisy, you hear every beep of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bu5amas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

This Hotel was excellent. It is situated just off La Ramblas, also perfectly situated for the Metro and the Bus Touristic. Although just off La Ramblas, it was quiet, and sleep came easily!!! Extremely clean, very comfortable beds. The Staff were positively amazing. They honestly could not do enough for you. Nothing was too much trouble. The acid test ... would I return to the same Hotel if visiting Barcelona, emphatically yes. I cannot recommend this Hotel enough for your stay in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the wall of the building next door!! Some had views of the street, but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99wallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel itself was outdated but we found it to be clean and comfortable the night we stayed. The location was perfect for what we needed. Close to the Ramblas and Metro(one block away). We were only in Barcelona for 1 day prior to a cruise and wanted to be close to Old Town. We found the staff to be very helpful and they even stored luggage for our friends who were not staying at the hotel. We did notice the walls were thin and could hear the outside noise from the bar below. Barcelona played Madrid in football that night and the fans were screaming. We did feel it was overpriced(228E) for the accommodations. For the one night we needed it was fine.
As far as the location we were able to walk up the Ramblas to the Cataluyna Metro station to take the Green line to the L2 purple line to Sagrada Familia stop. It was a 10 minute ride and much nicer than walking. We also took the Metro to the Picaso Museum(yellow line to Jaume I) and then walked back to the hotel via the Cathedral of Barcelona(20 minute walk). The Ramblas has a great open air market La Boqueria just two blocks from the hotel that is great for a quick meal. Barcelona is a vibrant city and the people are warm and inviting--I think you make it what you want. Yes, the hotel was not the best place we have ever stayed but it did the job for what we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street or bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorCal-traveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel mainly because of the location. We regretted our decision. There r plenty other options in it's 1 mile radius that are way better. To begin with their Walls are paper thin. I could hear the toilet flush of room next to me and above me. Secondly the hotel has this weirdest air freshener that can drive u sick. Their breakfast was the worst ever. Orange juice tasted like orange petrol. Milk always tasted out of date( stale). Linen and towels were pathetic. To top it all they refused to turn on the heater even when there were days with 11 degrees in the night. The air conditioner wudnt work on temp above 16 degrees. So there was no air circulation and we landed up keeping our windows open and never got sleep. If these were reported to some sorta agency I am sure they'd have to shut down business. Pathetic place. I wudnt recommend this even for the location. There are 3 hotels on this street alone, and many others in the area. Save Urself and don't think of going here ever!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namrashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My wife and and I recently spent four nights at Silken Rambla. How hotel is graded 4 stars is beyond us. Dirty coffee cup left outside lifts on 3rd floor for three nights; bath towels are threadbare; carpet in third floor foyer in disgusting state; bedroom curtains and furniture need replacement; staff not trained to be warm, friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

the hotel doesn't worth 4 stars, its an old, noisy, dirty room place with paper thin walls, dirty hairy towels, never working WiFi and a horrible view to the wall of the next building ( not a pleasant one). The hotel doesn't cost this money.
The location is good but tourists can find plenty of better hotels in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraP164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March 2012. It is well situated just off La Rambla in the city centre and very close to the airport bus and tour bus termini. We thought that the public areas and our room were clean and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The sound insulation was disappointing, however, both between rooms and - despite the double glazing - to the street outside. We did not eat in the hotel. We hope to return to Barcelona and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the sides of the hotel should be quieter than those at the front and back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#210 of 519 in Barcelona
1,460 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#125 of 519 in Barcelona
1,840 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#148 of 519 in Barcelona
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#32 of 519 in Barcelona
4,707 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#114 of 519 in Barcelona
2,592 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#155 of 519 in Barcelona
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona

Address: Pintor Fortuny, 13, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $108 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registry Number: HB-003951 This city hotel was built in 1992 and comprises a total of 105 rooms, including 8 Junior suites. The hotel bar is an ideal place to make a date, relax after the stress of a working day, or stock up on energy after a day exploring the city. Further amenities available to guests at this air-conditioned establishment include a lobby area with a 24-hour reception, a hotel safe, a currency exchange facility, a cloakroom, lift access, a cafe, a bar, a restaurant and conference facilities. Guests may also take advantage of the Internet access/WLAN, room service and a garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing