We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roastbeef of Tuna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IL Giardinetto

IL Giardinetto
Reserve with
IL Giardinetto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,062 of 9,317 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Roastbeef of Tuna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I went here with friends. Great food, great atmosphere, a little loud perhaps later at night, so perhaps not the ideal place to bring someone on a first date, but otherwise fantastic. Try the Tuna Roastbeef, the person that ordered it, did not realize it was tuna, it looks like roastbeef, it tastes like roastbeef, but it is tuna! Lovely as was my "Rape" (monkfish). Real good value for money and open until very late!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RHvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fab decor and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I love Il Giardinetto for its interior and history, and of course for the delicious food! As a local, it is one of the places that I go regularly for romantic nights out. I also love what they do with the little window in the facade, and the service is always good (something not easy to come by in Barcelona).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petzdelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Adorable Decor - great Italian and Spanish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

excellent service
the restaurant was designed by a well known architect in the 1970s and the owner recently restored it to its fabulous 1970s splendor it looks like a garden inside with painted murals
there is an older gentleman playing the piano -sweet

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Took the family for dinner and was disappointed with the food. To be fair the service was okay. The much vaunted dining under the forrest is dated and looks like a play school.

The pasta was over cooked and steak tartare was a basically a lump of raw meat.

Through out our meal, no one else came in for food and it was rather unsettling.

To be fair, the waitress tried her best as did the manager to replied promptly to our email booking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KENNETH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
“Excepcional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

Last time I was in Barcelona I went for dinner to IL Giardinetto, a restaurant of the Group 7 Portes, which are locally known for their excepcional food service.
IL Giardinetto brings you into a unique atmosphere, which reminds you of the old days, the great service and attention. The food is fantastic, and while you'll be enjoyin your dinner you will be able to listen the Piano.
I trully recomend this restaurant for anyone who can afford it. Even though the prices are high, it's worth it every penny.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LarenaRubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Giardinetto also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to IL Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing