We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice setting, disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Petit Comite

Petit Comite
Reserve with
Petit Comite is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #368 of 9,411 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: Located In the emblematic Eixample district of Barcelona, Restaurant Petit Comite is a tribute to the traditional Catalan cuisine in a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. 'Petit Comite' offers a balanced selection of traditional recipes from Catalan cuisine with exquisite quality. At 'Petit Comite' will find personalized attention in order to live an unforgettable evening in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Come and enjoy this fabulous restaurant, you will feel at home.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice setting, disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I took my girlfriend here on her first night in Barcelona, and we felt the flavors of the carefully prepared dishes didn’t match the virtues of the restaurant. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the setting is updated and chic, the back terrace is very cute. The food combinations were imaginative and seemed a nice effort at bringing traditional Catalan flavors into a new stage of culinary evolution. Unfortunately the flavor combinations just didn’t resonate with us. The cod carpaccio was too salty for my girlfriend (though I personally liked this dish), the croquettes were only average and unmemorable, main dish. The best dish was a grilled asparagus that really highlighted the flavors of the thick green vegetables. The updated Crema Catalana for dessert had an herbal flavor in the foam that turned my girlfriend off completely. I really wanted this dinner to be outstanding as the chef has such a great background and the setting is so nice and the tasting menu so reasonable (35 Euro I think for a multi-course meal with wine) but the food just wasn’t as impressive as that we had elsewhere in the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WashingtonDCAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    255
    124
    42
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catalana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We managed to get a last minute table on a Wednesday night and the staff accommodated us very well.

Inside was buzzing and every table was occupied, but tables are laid out spaciously so you do not feel cramped.

We had our hearts set on Catalan and the selection is great.

The service from staff was FANTASTIC! Love when you get great service and this place delivers!

The food was exquisite and very very tasty! Wine was also great. Very authentic

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavelvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great introduction to food in Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our first meal ever in Barcelona, and it was a winner! We had a good view of the chef plating orders and it was fun to see the kitchen in operation.

The food was delicious! We had the egg with Iberian ham (a little too salty), the Catalan canelloni (the truffle oil took it to a whole new level), the grilled octopus with mash, the meatballs with cuttlefish, and some caramel almonds and Catalan cottage cheese with honey. All good, and made sweeter with a free crispy pancake smothered in sugar thrown in by the chef.

Service was efficient and fast but could be friendlier. Still, it was a very good meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go on and spoil yourselves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a Tasting Experience on a Sunday evening. Six courses to sample with four wines. Brilliant.
I like the very modern comfortable but subdued interior. Putting the galley out into the open is a touch of confidence that is good to see. The service all night was watchful and attentive, not in your face or overly bonhomie. Just right, for me. For once a restaurant that paid attention to and responded to my wife's diet limitations, another big plus point.
The food and wine were high quality but slightly off the usual mainstream. So each tasting was a delight and joy for me.
Croquettes
ensalata of endives on salt cod
grilled asparagus, green not your continental white, with salsa
aubergine omelette, but so soft and not watery
tuna and aubergine
creme brulee, but so meltingly soft and smooth, not just pumped with foam
I particularly liked the white wine Vinya Selva de Mar that was presented as a sweet muscatel. It was not sweet and had hardly any resinous edge to it, just that faint hint of the muscatel. Delicious.
But fell in love with the red Joan D'Anguera Jove. Light with such fragrance and an unusual elusive but lingering after taste.
So all in all a thoroughly enjoyable night, go one and spoil yourselves to a tasting menu. Cheaper than some other main meals we encountered elsewhere and self-evidently produced with great passion.
The only downside. Woke up next morning with a parched throat from all the high levels of salt used in the courses. But this is not a criticism of this restaurant, more of a comment on all restaurants. Ease back on the salt for the health of your clients.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food, service not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Another recommendation from our woderful hotel staff. We made our run too late with jet lagged kids and one fell asleep a few moments after we got there. Looked a bit more upmarket than where we had been eating. No reservation but no problem as we had been reassured by our hotel reception. We were seated in the farthest corner which was not a problem except it was hard for the waiter to see us and he was busy with another larger group. After the second child started to drift, we managed to get hs attention and request and receive food quickly. Food was good - monkfish main, pigs trotters very very filling, squid entree. artichoke cream turned out to be cream of artichoke soup ( of course, but not obvious when tired) was ok. bread was not offered so we requested it and were subsequently charged 3 euro each for it. good thing we asked for the olive oil and butter because it did not initially come with the bread. Vinegar never made it from the waiter's supply(visible to us) to our table. Side plates for the bread must have been in short supply too as we never got them. Neither did we receive the 2 glasses of wine that my wife and I ordered and that by the time we were able to get his attention most of our mains had been consumed. Bill came promptly and was about 90euro for 2 adults one child.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dish p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Comite also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Petit Comite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing