We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”
Review of Hotel Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #255 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Seemed swamped by Internet bookings this hotel appeared a little disorganised and we appeared to be doing them a favour by staying here. The hotel had adequate facilities, no daytime storage for our bikes but if friendly and helpful front desk is as important as facilities then there was room for improvement

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parwan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    329
    116
    30
    16
See reviews for
95
285
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham,Uk
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a nice hotel which is close to the underground and easy to access the public beach from. The rooms are comfortable and decent size, it also provides a decent breakfast. There is however no proper restaraunt but lots of nearby places to eat.
Doesnt have internet or wifi in the rooms and one has to sit in its small lobby which offers wifi for a charge.
I woudnt stay here again, given a choice, as I definitely want internet access in the room but this is other wise a good value for money as it is not expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gidoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived at 2:00 AM just to meet a very aggressive, nervous and very impolite front desk person ( Try to avoid him - I don't know his name but he is bald ) who above all gave us the card key to an occupied room ! ! ! ! !. You can imagine the face of the guest who opened the door to see who is trying to break into his room. As a "compensation" we were allowed to keep our room for 2 more hours on our leaving day.
Other than this "minor" incident, the rest of our 4 nights stay was just marvelous. The location is splendid, close to the famous La Ramblas, the Gotic Quarter, the Catedral and the Park de la Ciutadella ( 10 - 15 minutes very easy walking ).
Breakfast was quite good and satisfying though we expected to have more choice of cheese and vegetables. Our room and bathroom were bit small but comfortable and very clean.
All in all: Excellent vacation in an Excellent hotel !

Room Tip: The 4th floor ( the last one ) is the best. We stayed in 407 - no street noise, private balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raffi1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Location: Excellent. 2-3 minutes away from the tube station. Walking distance to the pier and to a 24 hour off license shop.
Room: Big, clean, beautiful. Decent toilet, hot and cold water, towels provided, hair dryer=check, shampoo and conditioner provided as well. Sheets changed daily. TV. No hot drinks provided though.
Hotel and staff: Hotel staff were wonderful, very accommodating, warm, friendly and helpful. They have a luggage area where you can leave bags if it's too early to check-in. Breakfast was basic but who needs an extravagant breakfast when you know you'll having something better for lunch or dinner; wide variety of bread, ham, salami, egg, some cereals, juice and hot drinks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ztripperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in Del Mar in July for one night only and it was a great experience. The location is excellent close to Barcelona port and the area surrounding it ( it is located in Barceloneta- an area which is an attraction itself while in Barcelona). There are only 10-15 minutes walking to famous La Rambla. The rooms are nicely decorated, the design is modern and everything is well organized. The room and bathroom are extremely clean. The bathroom has a hairdryer ( for some of the travellers this is an important detail) and the design is really modern. We didn't try the breakfast cause we had to leave very early in the morning so I can't say nothing about the restaurant. The reception staff was really helpful, they called for a taxi for us when we left and they treated us well. The hotel from outside looks great, like an old building and with royal look. It's easy to find and a pleasure to be a guest in Del Mar. The internet wasn't free in the rooms so we didn't use it much. We got a very good price 53 euro/ room for 2 people. I guess this is a fair price for Del Mar because it's a great place. I will stay there every time I'll visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The location couldn't be better, in easy walking distance from the Barceloneta beach, the Ramblas and the Gothic quarter. The rooms are good and quiet (if you are not overlooking the old square in front or have noisy neighbours), the air con excellent. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast buffet good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was my third time in Barcelona, first time staying in a hotel here. I knew exactly where I wanted to stay and I believe I chose the best location. Barcelonetta is definitely my favourite area in Barcelona, and the hotel is minutes away - it is also right in front of the beach area and walking distance from Las Ramblas and one of the shopping malls - if you like that sort of thing.

In terms of hotel amenities, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We had no complaints. The hotel offers breakfast too but I was disappointed by the quality, as I usually have high expectations from breakfast buffets. The hotel doesn't offer free wi-fi, however we managed to find some bars and pubs that did.

Overall, the hotel was a bit expensive for what it had to offer - especially the absence of free-wifi! - but that is balanced by the cleanliness of the rooms and the excellent location.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#194 of 512 in Barcelona
370 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#272 of 512 in Barcelona
455 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#308 of 512 in Barcelona
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
926 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#227 of 512 in Barcelona
258 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#251 of 512 in Barcelona
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Mar

Property: Hotel Del Mar
Address: Plaza Palacio 19, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Hotel, located in the heart of Barcelona between the Gothic quarter and the beaches of la Barceloneta, housed in a building considered artistic national monument surrounded by the most important monuments of Barcelona, This 3-star hotel offers excellent value for money and is perfect for visiting the city of Barcelona, thanks to its good connections by public transport. We are in the Placa Palau, between the Gothic quarter and the beaches of Barcelona, very close to the famous district of el Born, the port and the Parc de la Ciutadella, in one of the most popular tourist areas of the city. Within walking distance of the Hotel of the Sea you will find several bus, train and subway lines that will allow you to comfortably navigate Barcelona. The Hotel del Mar in Barcelona offers 75 comfortable rooms with a functional and elegant decoration, many of them with views to the sea and the port of Barcelona, and some with terrace. All the rooms have: heating and air conditioning, flat screen TV satellite, safe (with charge), bathroom with hairdryer and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Hotel
Del Mar Barcelona
Hotel Del Mar Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing