We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel. Gluten Free Friendly.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Barcelona Princess
Ranked #181 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel. Gluten Free Friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here September 2013 for a weekend away with the girls and I was very impressed. I had a Double Room for single occupancy and it was just gorgeous, the breakfast was relatively cheap if you booked it in advance. I emailed them before I arrived and told them I was coeliac, at breakfast they provided gluten free cereal, breads, and pastries lots of choice. The pool area is lovely but quite small, so we walked to the nearest beach 5-10 mins stroll, there's a snack bar there and you can hire sun beds and parasols etc. Its quite far out of town so you have to get a taxi or public transport to the centre, good thing is its right next to a shopping mall and supermarket so if you do need anything urgently its on the doorstep. The tourist tour bus runs from the rear of the hotel, (the hotel sells discounted tickets) .. bus takes a while but it was worthwhile as we got to see most of the sights from the open topped bus. I have visited Barcelona many many times and always stayed in the centre, but over the years its become a bit chaotic and over populated and its pretty noisy too, for this reason I would stay at this hotel again, genuinely couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: My room was a double room for single occupancy, it was maybe on the 19th? floor and had a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stepfordwive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    1,149
    310
    97
    67
See reviews for
263
1,328
87
550
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel. Checked-in before 3 p.m. We were offered the buffet breakfast for our 4 days for euro13 instead of euro19 which was excellent value and excellent choice of food. Wifi worked in the room, the lobby at the pool during the whole stay. The metro station is just across the road and its only a 15 minute journey to La Rambla. The City Bus tour bus stops right outside the hotel and there is a taxi rank across the road. The beach is a 10 minute walk.
The room was spotlessly clean and water, lemon, coke and a beer are supplied free daily. The bathrobe and slippers were a nice touch. Would definitely stay again and have already recommended it.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor and enjoyed the view from our room. Didn't hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandywLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful and clean rooms, spacious atmosphere, close to a metro station and located beside the mall. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The swimming pool on the roof was quite small but with an amazing view. Fantastic views while using the elevator with its glass wall. Unfortunately, we couldn't use the free wifi because we stayed on the 17th floor. The breakfast had a variety of food in a good quality. When we arrived in our room, we were pleased to have a bottle of champagne and a piece of an excellent cake, as a welcome gift from the hotel. You also have a free access to the mini bar of the room and the spa facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

On arriving at our hotel, we were upgraded immediately for free to a junior suite and we had booked a double room - we couldn't believe our luck. The hotel has a lovely, spacious atmosphere with friendly staff. The swimming pools are quite small, especially the one on the roof, but the views make up for that. There is limited sun beds so if you want one, get down to the pool early! The sun also does not face the Level 3 swimming pool after about 5pm so go early if you want sun. The food is great, especially the buffet; there is something for everyone and it is cooked to a good, hygienic standard. Our suite was cleaned everyday and towels washed if you want. I advise going for a room high up as the views would be incredible, however ours was on Level 9 and the views were still good. The metro is very near and also the tram and has very good links to the popular destinations of Barcelona. The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes. There are 2 restaurants on the beach for good prices, although beach can get a little busy.
As this was my first holiday without parents I was nervous to see what we had booked but the hotel was incredible and I would not hesitate to go again.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaoliviaH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent 5 days at this hotel in Sept, very nice place. Found the room modern and the bed comfortable, and the cleaning staff did a great job. The free wifi, mini fridge, bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. Good views of the city while using the elevator with its glass wall. We found the staff friendly and went out of their way to answer our questions. For us this hotel was in a good location, nice size mall next door, beach 10 minute walk away, Tour bus stops just around the corner, lots of restaurants close by.
I would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. Since it was our honeymoon, they upgraded us from the 6th floor to the 25th floor, and brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne and pastries. The mini bar in the room had free water, beer and lemonade. The hotel is located right beside the mall Diagonal Mar. The room had everything we wanted, including extras like bath robes, slippers and chocolates. Overall we were very pleased with our experience at this hotel and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishal_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Why this hotel has a certificate of excellence from TripAdvisor is beyond me. There are so many problems with this hotel, it's hard to get them all down. I'll start with the fact that the design of the rooms is highly problematic. In the first room we were given, we found that the shower leaked into the adjoining area with the toilet. In addition, the door to the room was almost impossible to open and close (wood frame broken). We were staying for a week (on business, at the conference center across the street), and so I wanted a room where there was no danger of floods,so I asked to be moved. Usually this results in a move to a better room. They offered the next door room which was smaller; this one had a closet half the size of the first room, and since I was with my husband, I knew that wouldn't work. Finally, they moved us to a slightly larger room. This one had a real bathroom (as opposed to theothers with a walled off bathroom area, and it was big, but the counter in the bathroom was half the size of those in the previous rooms. Well, we took it. Moved in. Found that the bathroom door wouldn't close (swollen/broken frame). The layout of the closet and bathroom door was such that they banged into one another, and the drawers in the closet banged into the door as well. Even the design of the soap dish was problematic--trapping all the water and turning the tiny bar of soap into goop. And...(yes, there's much more), did I mention that the first night we were here there was an electrical storm and the rain poured into the glass bridgeway connecting the two buidlings of the hotel so that they had to lay towels on the floor? And...the internet network was slow at best, and wouldn't allow access to all sites--giving messages that your connection had timed out just as you were signing in. And...there is no concierge or helpful doorman, so you're pretty much on your own. The reception desk can be helpful, but they're pretty often overwhelmed with crowds in the lobby checking in and out. My only positive comment is that breakfasts were great, but I'd never stay here again. (Oh, and it was expensive--even on a convention rate: over $300/night).

Room Tip: Since we sampled 3 rooms--two with ocean view and one with city view--I'd suggest the city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona
0.2 mi away
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#186 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincci Bit
Vincci Bit
#105 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Barcelona Forum by Marriott
0.4 mi away
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
#165 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Princess

Property: Barcelona Princess
Address: Diagonal Avenue 1-3 | 50 , Eters From the Beach and in Front of the Convention Centre, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#96 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star hotel located in the Forum area only at 50 meters from the beach. On the 1st of Diagonal Avenue directly across from the CCIB (International Convention Centre of Barcelona) and Diagonal Mar Mall. Excellent public transport options to the city centre, just 20 minutes by metro, Tram or bus, all just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There is also a Barcelona Touristic Bus stop behind the hotel, you can purchase tickets at the reception and start the tour on the Green Line. Spacious facilities with free access for all guests. Its modern Business Centre with computer use, Internet access and complimentary printing. Two heated outdoor pools, one on the 3rd floor next to the solarium, gym, sauna and massage room available to the customer (massages at extra cost). The other pool is on the 23rd floor with wonderful views over the Mediterranean Sea. In the rooms, modern and comfortable, there are free services such as WIFI and Mini Bar; you can also enjoy spectacular views of Barcelona and the Mediterranean at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Barcelona Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princess Hotel Barcelona
Princess Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Princess Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing