We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, just a metro ride away from where you want to be” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Princess
Ranked #181 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Lovely hotel, just a metro ride away from where you want to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

After 5 nights in a tiny hotel room in Paris we were goggle-eyed at the expansive, modern room, the glass enclosed bathroom, the minibar with 5 complementary drinks (including one bottle of beer) each day, the motorized blinds, the 23rd floor pool, the expansive and luxurious breakfast buffet....... very very happy. Do bear in mind that you will have to walk, catch a tram, or take the metro (easy to do) to get to any of the sights you'd like to see; this hotel is across the street from a convention center, and next door to a really nice mall with a huge selection of restaurants, and near a very nice park, but it's not near much of anything else. Walk up the Avenida Diagonal if you'd like to get a sense of the whole city, or just jump on the metro, and in 20 minutes you're in La Rambla Catalunya, or at the Sagrada Familia, or anyplace else you'd like to be. (La Rambla Prim, which is right near the hotel, is not the Rambla that everyone means when they say "La Rambla." It's a nice street through a nice neighborhood of apartment blocks, but it's not what you came to Barcelona to see. La Rambla Catalunya is the one you want.)

The bus turistic is highly recommended - see the whole city, jump on and off, don't waste time figuring out complicated metro transfers, just get to the next fun attraction.

Some people have mentioned the slow elevators. There are 3 beautiful glass elevators, and if you're on a high floor (we were on 24, the view was awesome) the elevator does take a minute to get all the way up there (because the elevators all return to the ground floor between trips). However, this gives you time to check out the amazing view of the city from the complete floor to ceiling window that fills the entire end of the hallway. No railing, no nothing - just a sheet of glass between you and all of Barcelona. It's not a bad way to wait for an elevator. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    1,149
    310
    97
    67
See reviews for
263
1,328
87
550
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the Barcelona Princess one night during a recent business trip to Spain. My room was on the 17th floor and overlooked the city. I could see the Sagrada Familia from above. The room was a good size, with free minibar and a modern comfortable bathroom with shower. I enjoyed spending a couple of hours at the gym on the third floor. The hotel has wireless connection both in the room and in reception. I spent the night in, doing some work and I called the room service. I had fish of the day with vegetable and a plate of fresh fruit: it was not cheap but it was certainly delicious. The sea is very closed so in the morning I had a run on the beach before catching a flight back home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This Hotel was great! Close to transport links, good choice at breakfast, nice comfy beds & great views if you're high up! The total blackout blinds made all the difference for us too! Also, if you don't fancy going into the centre of Barcelona one evening there's a shopping centre very close by & if you walk through it to the restaurants you'll not be dissapointed! We ate at a Tapas place called Cañas y Tapas which was really cheap & the food was fab!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get the best views of Barcelona!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I like to give balanced reviews and this hotel is not Terrible, its just not that good and they get some of the easy stuff badly wrong.

Firstly, only stay here if you want to be close to the CCIB/Forum exhibition centre. If you are in Barcelona for a conference, the location of this hotel is fantastic and only bettered by the Hilton Diagonal and the AC Forum Hotels (and even then, the Princess is only one road crossing further away. This is why I chose this hotel and for location purposes only, it met my expectations.

There were several problems though...

The hotel advertises that it has Air Conditioning, which technically it does. What they fail to disclose is that in the winter months they turn it off throughout the entire hotel. Now this may be OK for Spanish people used to a very warm climate but for an English person, Spain in November is still extremely warm and we had to move rooms three times in order to find a cool one. When a request was made to the management to turn the AC back on, they said it was not possible (despite lots of people in the hotel complaining about the same thing).

The Hotel does not offer an Ironing facility in the rooms. In order to have clothes ironed you must use the extortionately priced ironing service. I have noticed this seems to be a theme in lots of Spanish hotels. It drives me mad.

There is no Wifi in the rooms and in two of the 'Hot' rooms we tried, the cable port in the room didn't work either. Wifi is a must for a hotel that aims itself at the business traveler market. I mean really, you can get wifi in places that sell burgers but you can't get it in a 4* Business Hotel! This is my reference to the dark ages in my review title.

After having considerable trouble with the temperature of the rooms I was mostly disappointed by the attitude of the staff which I found to be rude an ignorant. They also refused to apply the Conference discount that I was eligible to receive because I booked through an online agent. The response was basically "Tough luck!"

I will not be staying at this hotel again. My recommendation for people attending the CCIB is to stay at the Hilton Diagonal, AC Forum or Diagonal Zero. The Princess needs to improve before I will stay there again. If you are staying in Barcelona for leisure purposes, you're much better off nearer the centre of the City.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony if you plan to stay there during winter months when the Air Con has been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusterGonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago H, Santiago Hernandez, Director Hotel Barcelona Princess at Barcelona Princess, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We’re really sorry for the inconveniences that you had in the room.

We apologize about the incident with the air system. If the temperature drops 10 degrees in the city in one day, we had to put the heating function provisionally. In fall and spring the temperature can change suddenly and we try to act quickly to give our best service.

The hotel is conscious with CO2 emissions and contributes to environmental preservation. We have to save energy, so we can’t have the Air Conditioning and the heating working at the same time.

Our guests can find a Laundry Service in the hotel.

The hotel has good transport connections. The Metro, Tram and Bus works every day until the evening. At night only works the night bus. Just in 20m our guests can get to the city center.

Furthermore, the hotel is near from the beach, next to a shopping center and surrounded by open areas.

The hotel has Wifi in the entire hotel since the beginning of November. Our guests can also use the Business Center with Free printers.

We want our guests to feel comfortable in the hotel, so we would like you would give us a second opportunity. Your experience can be better!

Kind regards from Barcelona

Santiago Hernandez
Director
Hotel Barcelona Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

.We looked forward to coming home to our hotel everyday, it is that wonderful! In fact, in his ideal world my hubby would rather spend the whole day just lounging around in our room or in the pool area, but alas! I have to drag him to get up each day and go sightseeing with me ;).

The staff specially at the reception area are very helpful and can speak English. The room and bed are cleaned and made up everyday ( not unless you request not to),and the drinks on the fridge are stacked up everyday.

I would recommend their breakfast as well. It is like a feast fit for a king. There is so much variety to choose from....bacon,egg,chorizos,asparagus,salami,cereals,fruits,croissants,yoghurt,different variety of bread,etc. And there are unending availabilty of drinks /refreshments to choose from....orange/pineapple/peach juice,cappucino,water,hot chocolate,cafe late,all types of tea, etc...

Unique Qualities: The location of this hotel is really good. It is like a haven away from crowds, noise and madness of the city. It is on the edge of the Forum area,facing the sea. And there is a very nice and clean beach about 50 meters away, which we go to almost everyday.

Different modes of transport is literally on the hotel's doorstep. The Tourist bus Green route has one of it's stops outside the hotel. While the tram stop is literally a stone throw away. The El Maresme/ Forum Metro is less than 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: We chose a city view room,which offered a wonderful view of the Sagrada and the rest of Barcelona, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ab_aux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a wonderful hotel. Everything was perfect from beginning to end: the staff was very friendly and spoke fluent French and English, our Junior Suite (n°2207, on the 22nd floor!) was wonderful, with an amazing view on the sea and the city, the breakfast was amazing and the "Princess Love" package was above our expectations! We had a bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries waiting for us every night in our room, plus a romantic decoration...

I would definitely recommend this hotel, it deserves its four stars and even a fifth one!

Room Tip: The rooms on the highest floors (we were on the 22nd) definitely have amazing views. If possible, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ficao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for my daughters 13th birthday has she wanted to see barcelona and the nou camp, this hotel is on the outskirts of the center of barcelona with the metro across the road and also the trams are all easy access, the hotel is lovely the rooms are great with free drinks in the mini fridges replenished everyday ie water cola orangeade,it has two pools one on the roof and one on the first floor by the spa they are only small but you can still swim in them also heated!! my daughter and myself had a massage at the hotel and it was to die for highly recommend!!! their is a massive shopping mall right next door to the hotel with lots of places to eat and shop i would recommend this hotel if you like to be away from the hustle and bustle of the la ramblas and you dont mind using the public transport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago H, Santiago Hernandez, Director Hotel Barcelona Princess at Barcelona Princess, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are glad you had a pleasant stay in Barcelona.

The hotel has good transport connections. The Metro, Tram and Bus works every day until the evening. At night only works the night bus. Just in 20m our guests can get to the city center.

Furthermore, the hotel is near from the beach, next to a shopping center and surrounded by open areas.

We want to inform you that the hotel doesn’t have a Spa. The hotel has available a Relax Zone with swimming pool, massage room and sauna.

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Best Regards

Santiago Hernandez
Director
Hotel Barcelona Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona
0.2 mi away
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#186 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincci Bit
Vincci Bit
#105 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Barcelona Forum by Marriott
0.4 mi away
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
#165 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Princess

Property: Barcelona Princess
Address: Diagonal Avenue 1-3 | 50 , Eters From the Beach and in Front of the Convention Centre, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#96 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star hotel located in the Forum area only at 50 meters from the beach. On the 1st of Diagonal Avenue directly across from the CCIB (International Convention Centre of Barcelona) and Diagonal Mar Mall. Excellent public transport options to the city centre, just 20 minutes by metro, Tram or bus, all just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There is also a Barcelona Touristic Bus stop behind the hotel, you can purchase tickets at the reception and start the tour on the Green Line. Spacious facilities with free access for all guests. Its modern Business Centre with computer use, Internet access and complimentary printing. Two heated outdoor pools, one on the 3rd floor next to the solarium, gym, sauna and massage room available to the customer (massages at extra cost). The other pool is on the 23rd floor with wonderful views over the Mediterranean Sea. In the rooms, modern and comfortable, there are free services such as WIFI and Mini Bar; you can also enjoy spectacular views of Barcelona and the Mediterranean at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Barcelona Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princess Hotel Barcelona
Princess Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Princess Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing