We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona
Ranked #227 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“As good as the advertising”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I spent a short week to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is very good situated. 200m from the beach. 10min by tram or metro in the city. 100m from a shopping centre.
The hotel is what what it promises to by. The staff is very friendly. We were very happy to stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to have sea view on a high floor level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank André B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    858
    335
    102
    70
See reviews for
463
801
64
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

It is a few minutes from the littoral belt (ronda de litoral) which allows to bypass Barcelona from North <--> South, allowing fast access to the airport and city center.

The hotel has a new feel, but it's a victim of some "creative Catalan architect" out to show he has some Gaudi in him, apparently, which leads to absurdities and less safety.

Like how people in the room can see into the bathroom glass window with only a semi-transparent blind.

The bathroom soap dispensers are a pain, literally. The front ceramic cover has sharp edges against which I cut my hand when washing my hands and trying to use without looking.

The sink has an unconventional design whose sole result seem to waste useful top space.

Otherwise, fine. Good service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 18Joseph18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is a lovely hotel. It is grand and has all the nice add ons you'd expect. The front of house staff were lovely and friendly. It is too far from the city centre to be accessible by foot (over 40 minute walk). It is also obviously newly refurbished and our bathroom had a leak. We also didn't have a kettle which was a problem, and trying to request one from the non-english speaking housekeeping staff was a big challenge. I think maybe this hotel is a case of style over substance?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinejoywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Let me start by qualifying my review - I'm reviewing this based on business travel. Given the hotels location is across the street from the convention center it's fantastic for those planning to attend an event. However the hotel is far enough from the center of Barcelona that you're out of the old town and the energy many find exciting about Barcelona. It's also not close to any of the great dining establishments. This means you'll need to use the Metro or taxi to get to any of these locations. With that said, if I were traveling for pleasure I'd probably look elsewhere.

Location - B: Again basing this on business travelers. Right across the street from the convention center and a mall. i can't comment on the quality of the mall since I didn't go there. Dining in the area is sparse unless you're going to eat at one of the other local convention center hotels.

Rooms - C: Europeans may find these rooms large but my American standards they're a bit tight. Certainly they're not small - I been to many hotels that have small rooms and this was better than many European hotels. The layout was rather odd, with the desk jutting into the room at an odd angle. You'll be able see this in the pictures. With that said, free wireless internet was a major plus, and the bed was comfortable. I do have major issue however and that's with the bath/shower. It was so small I had to stand in the thing sideways. They places a soap tray right at shoulder height up near the shower head making it quite difficult to use.

Dining - C-: There was only one restaurant on the premises and I only had breakfast there. By European standards the breakfast was very average. By American standards it was probably ok. Lot's of pastries which I don't eat. Fruit, juice, dried meats and a couple of cheeses. Dry cereal was also available - all self serve. They had a couple of warm dishes, spanish style egg thing (egg with potato), bacon, and one other item which I don't recall. Again quite average but enough to get off for the morning.

Lobby and Lobby Bar - B: I'm giving the lobby a B mainly due to the staff. Great staff, very friendly, very helpful and easy going. But again the lobby was just passable. I'd probably give it a C if not for the staff. I will note that the lobby bar has an outdoor area that was very nice but when we were there it was too cold to enjoy.

Gym - A: One of the best hotel gyms I've seen and at not extra costs. They also have a spa for you ladies. The gym was fully equipped with near new LifeFitness cardio and weight machines - 2 treadmills, 2 elipticals, 2 stationary bikes, multiple weight machines, and two multi-purpose cable machines. Full rack of dumbells and a small but good enough area to stretch. The gym room wasn't huge but very well done! The hours could be a bit better - if my memory serves it was 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 but it might be 6:00 a.m.

Overall- B: Good hotel, ample and effective for the business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dariomart25, Revenue Manager at Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Borad,

Thank you for your detailed review. We are happy that you had a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again whether for business or leisure, maybe in summer (although we are not close to the city center, the beach is just five minutes walk).

Best regards
Dario Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had gone there for our business trip for 3nts from 22nd Sept.The hotel was conveniently located from the city and had good transport options.There was a mall just opposite the hotel.Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANANDBHANSALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

it is a very good hotel with good rooms. food is good. rooms are spacious.have special lounge for some rooms.which is very good. very friendly staff.have bar inside hotel.and is just opposite beach. and casino is very near by.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varz_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at the Diagonal Zero Barcelona for 4 days recently. The property and amentias were beautiful and impressive. This wow only goes so far if comfort is not included. The Diagonal Zero staff failed to resolve a simple problem that in turn made it very uncomfortable for our stay. We experienced problems with the air conditioner / heater in the room every day of our 4 day stay. We called the front desk every day (6+ times) requesting the problem be remedied and even requested a room change with no resolve from their staff. The unit either did not work or made a loud clanking/banging noise when it did work. Several times the unit woke us up in the middle of the night with the only resolve being to turn it off. Our last night entailed two calls in the middle of the night to the front desk because the unit would not turn on. After the second call to the agent tells us he has to turn it on at the front desk. We even had one agent tell us to use just the low fan because the high fan makes noises in most of the rooms. This problem should have been an easy fix resolved with 1 call or a simple move to a room with a operational unit. After sending a complaint to Corporate they in turn offered us a free night’s stay in an executive suite the next time we were in Barcelona, a solution that should have been offered the first night after the problem was brought to their attention.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoganCorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dariomart25, Revenue Manager at Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear CoganCorp,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience with the air conditionning during your stay. Like all air conditioning units, it isn't totally silent when connected on second or third speed because of the air pouring. Our maintenance technicians did their best to reduce the noise of the fan even though the mecanism was working properly.

Best regards
Dario Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
961 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#187 of 513 in Barcelona
2,926 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#145 of 513 in Barcelona
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#121 of 513 in Barcelona
2,436 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#188 of 513 in Barcelona
2,400 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#152 of 513 in Barcelona
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona

Property: Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona
Address: Placa Llevant, s/n, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#143 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Hotel is conveniently located across from the CCIB and Auditorium, near the beaches, coastline and the Diagonal Mar Shopping Centre. With magnificent sea views from the pool floor 17. There are Deluxe rooms, Executive rooms and Suites with Jacuzzi, and also family rooms, most of them with sea views. In the hotel there si an SPA: the Spazio Wellness where you can relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diagonal Zero Barcelona
Diagonal Zero Hotel Barcelona
Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing