We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problem with booked rooms when we arrived”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AinB Gothic-Jaume I
Ranked #546 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Barcelona
1 review
“Problem with booked rooms when we arrived”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

good news first: excellent location, spotlessly clean, our deal of 50euro pp per night excellent. Tarek and Muhommad were very helpful-couldn't be better. I would HIGHLY recommend this accommodation service. I will return. No doubt about that.

bad news: we booked online with easybooking. We received confirmation by email from easybooking - Apt 1, twin beds, two people, 50euro pp per night. Apt 2, beds twin/double no preference, one person, 50euro pp per night.This was exactly what we ordered...BUT...

WHEN we arrived late at night, we were given one room with a double bed and one single bed added in under a window. We asked about the second apartment but despite our best efforts, T seemed not to have any understanding of what we were saying. He had taken
our booking printout copy of easycom and read it when we checked in. We were too tired
and frustrated to try to continually repeat that we had booked two rooms. We were a trio - 2 female friends and one male, a cousin of one of the females. Fortunately, the 3 of us we've happy to make do under the circumstances as we were tired, new to the city and unable to communicate with T who appeared to have a mixed grasp of English - ie clearly understanding some conversations but failing to comprehend the issue of the 2 arts. He insisted the room was correct, for 3 people, there were 3 of us - so all was in order.

The next day we tried to make sense of the mix up again. T said if we wanted to book a second room, it was in a different building in the area and the lowest price available was
270euro. Apart from not being willing to pay the high price for a second room which had been confirmed by email, the document checked on arrival and fee paid- as it was first time in this city, we did not want to be separated, at different locations especially the cousin who would find it difficult to find his way around.Despite requesting sight of our check in confirmation T did not understand what we were referring to so he was unable to produce the confirmation document at this point. He kept saying they had no control over
the easy booking online agency. It seemed implausible to us that easybooking had confirmed two apts etc with us by email yet had supplied the apt owners with different details about our booking.
when we were leaving the next day, we tried again. First we asked for a receipt and T was misunderstanding, made phone calls to his boss or business partner /space run out, unable to complete this feedback.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Una F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quim b, General Manager at AinB Gothic-Jaume I, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Apartments in Barcelona.

We are extremely happy to know that our staff attended you well and we will make sure they receive your good comment. We are very sorry about the misunderstanding with your reservation and about the communication issues that you had with our receptionist.

Please receive our deepest apologies with the hope that next time you come to Barcelona you will allow us to host you once again in one of our apartments!

Sincerely yours,
Apartments in Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    26
    22
    29
See reviews for
31
54
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The apartment was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff were very friendly. We had read previous reviews that said the apartments were noisy. We did not have a problem with noise. The best feature of this apartment is the location. It is right in the centre of the Gothic Quarter and only 2 minutes walk from the cathedral. We would definitely consider staying here again if we revisit Barcelona .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quim b, Director General at AinB Gothic-Jaume I, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Apartments in Barcelona.

It is indeed a great pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and above all, as you mention in your comment, a quiet one. Reviews such as yours give us the strength and the energy to keep up with what we hope is a good job. A satisfied client is a true source of inspiration for our team, as we always inform our staff when they receive such good feedback.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we are waiting for you to come back any time!

Sincerely yours,
Apartments in Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRASSA, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The apartment was excellent - extremely clean, tidy, spacious and stylish. The location was perfect - right in the heart of the Gothic area of the city with Placa Sant Jaume a stone's throw away. The only criticism I have is regarding the staff. The man who I checked in with at the company's main reception was rude and unhelpful. His attitude towards me as a customer was astonishing, however I have been living in Catalonia for a year now so it's not completely surprising to be treated in this way. Other than that, perfect apartment for a long weekend in the centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quim b, Gerente at AinB Gothic-Jaume I, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that your stay was so enjoyable and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Apartments in Barcelona.

Guest experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Clean, spacious, comfortable room and in an ideal location !
Enjoyed the appartment very much although at night, party people can be noisy and the windows are not insulated enough to minimise the noise coming from the street.
Also, it wasn't a double bed but 2 single beds put together. I appreciate that it is convenient if you are not a couple, but I would have liked to be informed of it when I booked the appartment.
So I'd give the flat a 7/10, because of thiese 2 points.
Otherwise, the service was kind and helpful and we felt very pleased with what we had.
We hope to come back very soon !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-So_Mcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quim b, Gerente at AinB Gothic-Jaume I, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write review about your stay at Apartments in Barcelona on Trip Advisor.

Your comments about the service in our apartments has been transferred to the management team, in order to improve our services.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Apartments in Barcelona.

Thank you very much again for your comments

Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffanstorp
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Close to everything, including Metro and Bus. Simple but clean, safe and adequately equipped. Great WiFi (free). Perhaps not a the best choice if you are sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quim b, Gerente at AinB Gothic-Jaume I, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in Apartments in Barcelona. We will be glad to welcome you in the future. Best regards from Barcelona.
Guest experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

After reading reviews of this hotel, we knew we were going to be in for a bit of noise so just a warning if you are a light sleeper.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and tidy, fresh towels, clean kitchen and bathroom. The bed was comfy and all appliances were in working order. Due to the apartment location, there is a tendancy for noise from the streets below, mainly parades passing and traffic from the nearby square. This wasn't something that bothered us at all during our stay as you can't really expect a quiet time when you're right in the middle of it all. It certainly didn't detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance apart from La Sagrada Familia which was an easy metro journey away. The nearest square with bars and restaurants was a 5 minute walk and there are plenty of bakeries and coffee shops and bars in the surrounding areas.

I would highly recommend this self catering stay to younger couples who don't mind a bit of noise and city life.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gestionapartments, Director General at AinB Gothic-Jaume I, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in Apartments in Barcelona. We will be glad to welcome you in the future.
Best regards from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#472 of 512 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#458 of 512 in Barcelona
448 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#227 of 512 in Barcelona
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
AinB Las Ramblas-Guardia
AinB Las Ramblas-Guardia
#561 of 722 in Barcelona
147 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
AinB Picasso-Corders
AinB Picasso-Corders
#613 of 722 in Barcelona
39 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Annex
Hotel Annex
#549 of 722 in Barcelona
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AinB Gothic-Jaume I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AinB Gothic-Jaume I

Property: AinB Gothic-Jaume I
Address: 1-3 Calle Dagueria, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #546 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AinB Gothic-Jaume I 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are situated in a beautiful building located on a pedestrian street in the historic old city, next to City Hall and minutes from Las Ramblas and the sea.All are outdoor balconies let you enjoy views of the Gothic Quarter for breakfast. These apartments are ideal for stay of a couple or for business executives.From here you can visit many museums and sights of the city and stroll through the bohemian district of Borne.El Born is known for the many bars, restaurants and designer shops.The area is well connected to the network of public transport and the metro station Jaume I is a few feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your AinB Gothic-Jaume I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AinB Gothic-Jaume I Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing