We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Montiel

Restaurant Montiel
Ranked #19 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $76
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Based on an exhaustive selection of the best raw materials in our region, the gastronomic offer is made from simple and tasty tapas to a full season tasting menu. Paying the utmost attention in the respect for the raw materials, producers and our environment, we work to make the gastronomic experience not only pleasant and fun, but also sustainable, fair and healthy. 80% of the products we use in our kitchen, from vegetables, meats and fish, to wines, beverages and breads, come from small producers in the region. This obliges us and allows us to always work with seasonal products and update our menus permanently. We do not use gluten or lactose and the sugar from our desserts is integral and environmentally friendly. The visit of our clients, then, becomes a comprehensive event ranging from the sensory enjoyment proper to an emotional satisfaction derived from the knowledge of knowing that what is being enjoyed also contributes to strengthen the local economy and Our own health.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great food AND wine menu.
Fantastic waiter Jose. Very good english. Very friendly...all the waiting staff were.
He knew his wines.
Food was amazing as was the wine.
Perfect if you wish to try a few wines and had an open mind to the tasting menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,704
    304
    105
    51
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chinon, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is difficult to add to what other reviewers have said. Save perhaps to add that the decor in the eating area is somewhat basic and very quirky! The lighting leaves much to be desired and you are likely to be sitting on a stool! And the majority of your fellows will be tourists. But, hey, what does all that matter if the food is so original and so delicious. And when the bill arrives, yet another delight awaits....!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gino T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We enjoyed the friendly welcome from the owner and our waiter. We had been told in advance that the tasting menu would be the only available menu as it was a holiday. The menu was delicious and the wine pairings really interesting, all of them being Catalan wines. Whilst we would not have chosen some of the wines we did feel that the pairing with the various courses was spot on. The food was a delight throughout and the service really warm. Our son does not eat mushrooms but he was given a really delicious alternative for that course. We left after over 3.5 hours but did not feel we had waited for anything and the pacing was spot on until the very end when the bill took a fair while to arrive. All in all a really stand out restaurant, great food, wine, ambience and service. Fully deserves it's rating and probably a better one too!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrewt-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not too expensive, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went to this restaurant for Christmas eve, and had their tasting menu, ten courses in all. The courses at first came in (very) quick succession, so we almost wondered if they were meant to be eaten together. Other than that, the service was good, with good information provided. The food was interesting, with lots of flavours. Some of the courses were local, others distinctly French. Of course, some of the time things went over the top, with different flavours competing at the same time...

Not too expensive for such a meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BjornSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good, but..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The restaurant was overall was good. The service was good. I think the food was good, but tried to be overly creative. We didn't enjoy all the dishes, so if you come with a open mind and are NOT a picky eater (I highly stress this). Then you will enjoy! Very quaint!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riversair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Montiel also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Montiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing