We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That's the wonderful dinner I have ever had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Montiel

Restaurant Montiel
Ranked #19 of 9,317 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $76
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Based on an exhaustive selection of the best raw materials in our region, the gastronomic offer is made from simple and tasty tapas to a full season tasting menu. Paying the utmost attention in the respect for the raw materials, producers and our environment, we work to make the gastronomic experience not only pleasant and fun, but also sustainable, fair and healthy. 80% of the products we use in our kitchen, from vegetables, meats and fish, to wines, beverages and breads, come from small producers in the region. This obliges us and allows us to always work with seasonal products and update our menus permanently. We do not use gluten or lactose and the sugar from our desserts is integral and environmentally friendly. The visit of our clients, then, becomes a comprehensive event ranging from the sensory enjoyment proper to an emotional satisfaction derived from the knowledge of knowing that what is being enjoyed also contributes to strengthen the local economy and Our own health.
Shantou, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That's the wonderful dinner I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Everyone should have a try of this resterant, it's amazing!! My wife said Michering should submit it at least three star resterant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Evan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,701
    304
    105
    51
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere and excellent tasting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Located in a wonderful street in the old city, the restaurant is very nice. One has only the choice between a tasting menu and a more elaborate gastronomic menu. We went for the first type with the wine pairing. Marcos, the head waiter, was very knowledgeable and explained us with great enthousiasme the food and the wines. We enjoyed beetroot in five ways, and the tuna tartare with the accompanying wine was very special. A very nice experience and a recommendation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Papafrezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelldefels, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the best restaurants in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went there with some friends to have a nice time. Food was excelent. Nice little location and very friendly service. I will be back - for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Of all the meals we ate in Barcelona, this is probably the most memorable. We like almost everything and the items that we don't eat, Restaurant Montiel was flexible and switch it out. Our party of 6 all ordered the 11 course degustation menu. (We couldn't resist it and opted for it over the one with less items.) It was a lot of food and in retrospect, I wish we had ordered 3 of the more extensive menu and 3 of the other menu. Overall, our eyes were just bigger than our stomach. But it was truly amazing and we would definitely come back when we return to Barcelona.
The only item that caught us by surprise was the cost of a shot of whisky, 25 euros for a shot of whisky. I was surprised by the high cost.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shcc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A new classic in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I'm from the city and I know the restaurant for at least 9 years.

We have seen their evolution since it was a simply delicatessen shop with a couple of tables. Since then they have moved from this to a reference restaurant. Their passion for quality is the key

I remember once I asked where the h*** they got an unbelievable meat and the answer was: denmark cows (???!??!?), because at that time it was the best of the best, or the story of the eggs, as their seek for the best ones ever made them decide to have their own "little" farm of 200 hens.

Now they are well stablished in the city as one of the "must go" in Barcelona but even with the success guaranteed I can certify again that they still work to give the best.

So my last visit with a Finn and a Swedish colleague was to try the gastronomic menu and everything was very good. I hate salads, but the one they prepared was a good balance of all possible tastes: acid, bitter, salted, foie-gras fat, etc. A delightful result. Another thing I remember was the rice cooked in fish soup with small calamari. Then the wagyu kobe meat, etc.

Price? just reasonable for what you get. And if you compare to other quality restaurant in, let's say, Paris, then is a real bargain. 65€ for a meal like this is worth.

My best wishes for them and their new projects

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Creudelsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Montiel also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Montiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing