We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Montiel

Restaurant Montiel
Ranked #21 of 9,411 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $76
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Based on an exhaustive selection of the best raw materials in our region, the gastronomic offer is made from simple and tasty tapas to a full season tasting menu. Paying the utmost attention in the respect for the raw materials, producers and our environment, we work to make the gastronomic experience not only pleasant and fun, but also sustainable, fair and healthy. 80% of the products we use in our kitchen, from vegetables, meats and fish, to wines, beverages and breads, come from small producers in the region. This obliges us and allows us to always work with seasonal products and update our menus permanently. We do not use gluten or lactose and the sugar from our desserts is integral and environmentally friendly. The visit of our clients, then, becomes a comprehensive event ranging from the sensory enjoyment proper to an emotional satisfaction derived from the knowledge of knowing that what is being enjoyed also contributes to strengthen the local economy and Our own health.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Friends of ours recommended this place and it did not disappoint. The manager Marcus(?) made our family feel really welcome, recommended excellent wine and overall added to the great meal. The ravioli with duck and pear was FANTASTIC, the suckling pig was great, the wine wonderful, the desert (some little cake with marcscopone) was awesome... It was one of the best meals we've eaten. Definitely the best meal we had in Spain. Be aware the place is small, might seat 40 people so make a reservation. Also, don't feel compelled to go with the tasting menu, it's pricey and you can eat ala carte.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank txzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,730
    308
    108
    52
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just when I thought it could not get better along came Montiel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Having spent 3 great days in Barcelona for our last night we chose Montiel. WOW. OMG what an experience.
The first night in Barcelona we went to Zirab a tapas fusion restarant, which was brilliant. In the heart of the atmospheric Gothic area close to the Jaume 1 metro, this restaurant was a hard tofind little gem. There were 6 of us we gave it a collective 8.5 out of 10. We left happy and satisfied with some amazing tapas and white in our stomachs. This would be a hard act to follow on evening 2.
We chose Cera 23 for evening 2 not far from La Rambla and featuring Mediterranean and Catalan food. Yet again this restaurant was not easy to find, but it was packed with atmosphere and people! We had the best ever blackberry mohitos, which made us expectant for what was to come. We sat next to the open kitchen where the chefs payed attention to their guests reactions. On our table it was one superb dish after another. My vocanic black rice seafood risotto will live long in the memory. Again 6 delighted guests, who all congratulated the chefs on the way out. The men got a handshake and the women 3 kisses each, but nobody complained :-)
Democratically we discussed the points we would give Cera 23, but it was a unanimous 9 out of 10. We just felt it could not be beaten, it was as close to food perfection as we could have imagined. But then came along Montiel and just blew us all away.
Montiel is in a narrow street in the atmospheric Gothic area. It looks small and unassuming from the outside, inside it is a gastronomic heaven. For those of you who want a lot of choice then Montiel will disappoint as you only get two - the taster (7 courses) or the gastronomic (10 courses). Before you run away with the idea that this is just too much food, you will find over 4 hours of culinery delights that even the most fussy eater will feel satisfied without ever once feeling bloated. We took the Gastronomic menu of 10 courses at €65. It was worth every euro, in fact you could have charged us much more and we still would not complain. The whole concept was explained to us by the general manager, who was ably supported by our waiter and the kitchen. This was my best meal ever as I drooled from iberican ham, oysters, prawn tatare, melon soup, lobster, tuna, duck, Kobe beef, peaches and another mouthwatering dessert to finish with. The wine was divine, each half glass blending perfectly with each course to create a gastronomic harmony, a cornucopia of delight, a heady mix atmosphere and food that cannot be erased from the memory of 6 people.
You guessed it Montiel got the perfect 10 out of 10, and if we could we would have marked higher. Maybe we got lucky, but I will never believe that, this is a restaurant with a winning concept, a winning menu and winning people. Thank Montiel and Barcelona.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Montiel is definitively a very Nice option for gourmet food in barcelona in a cosy atmosphère. The first that I liked was the place, small restaurant around 15 tables And good service, the degustation menu was a well a very Nice option And the service of Marcos And cie was amazing. Very Nice option in barcelona

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryBackpacker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Book this resturant based on the reviews from trip advisor, and we were not dissapointed. It is tucked in a little side street, so a bit hard to find, but worth it! the food is terrific and the waiters so helpfull and friendly. The menu is degustation, but they are happy to replace any dish on the spot. A plus for vegetarians.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marina88-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one incredible meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was an amazing meal and wonderful service. The tasting menu was just right and the waiter had great recommendations for the right wine pairing, even though our group opted out of wine pairing selections made by the chef ( we like to be difficult). Wonderful experience, I highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueAque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Montiel also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Montiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing