We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good holiday in Dali3!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barcelona Nextdoor Apartments
Ranked #447 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Despite of reading below reviews on this site, we decided to book apartment from BarcelonaNextApartments.
The apartment Dali3 was very clean and furnished according to my taste with original brick on the walls. Walls are very thick so we did not hear any neabours!
In the apartment everything works excellent so we did not need any additoinal service

Location was excellent, it was very closed to Museum Picasso and not far away from Las Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya and close to many must see sites.
I would recommend this apartment and this company!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelonanextdoor, Reservas at Barcelona Nextdoor Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear John,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on the website following your stay with us.
We are so sorry for the incident with the AC, we do our best to improve the well-being of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

BarcelonaNextDoor Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Barcelona Nextdoor Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have to say that I can be very [---], I stayed at Dali apartment and first of all the apartment was very hot, I turned on the AC but did not work. Then I called the office and they told me I had to wait. I waited about 20 minutes and obviously it did not work. I called them again and claim for a refund. Within 25 minutes I got the AC fixed and a bottle of champagne. I was there for business and had to use internet a lot, it surprisignly worked very good. So I have to say that I got what I wanted

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was the worst vacation experience I have ever encountered and I am a seasoned traveller. I reserved the DALI apartment in February 2011 through BarcelonaNextDoor to ensure that I had the best picks available for our August vacation. Communications prior to our arrival were excellent. I am a single mom who was travelling with my two young daughters. We picked up the keys at the office and taxied to the apartment as we had an early arrival and check in was not until 3pm. The agency at least was kind enough to hold our luggage so we could do some sightseeing. We were told that upon arrival our apartment may be smelly but once the air conditioner was turned on the smell would quickly dissipate. We only knew the apartment number to be PP1. There we no indicators on any of the doors and the key did not operate in the door which seemed logically to be PP1, so we had to go to every door in this building (about 20) and try the locks, worried that someone was going to come out and accuse us of trying to break in. We tried 4 times at the door to which our key seemed to be the best fit. After playing with the lock we discovered that the key required two full turns to open. Meritxell Costa in the rental office was right, It was very smelly and incredible hot inside -35C!!! We located the air conditioner controls and turned the two units on. We waited for about 1 hour and it was still 35C. There were 3 floor fans present and this is where each of us sat for 1 hour...in front of a fan....waiting...keeping all the lights off so as not to add more heat. I called BarcelonaNextDoor and was assured that the AC worked as they had had problems with the AC and this had been addressed and to give it 4-5 hours as the apartment was large! The AC units were about 12 feet off the floor so we couldn't use our hands to feel if anything was coming out. I was provided an "emergency number" to call after office hours. I tried to call this number from the apartment as the office was now closed. All I got was some operator recording in Spanish which I could not understand. I later learned that the "emergency number" is restricted from the apartment telephone!!! I did not have my cellular with me on this trip due to the costs involved with international plans. After going out on the street and begging 20 store merchants to let me use their telephone, one finally did. I reached Marta, the "emergency" lady and told her that the AC was NOT working and it was 35C in the apartment. She told me she would get back to me in 20 min. I told her that we were at a store and that I would be back to the apartment in 15 min and await her call. We waited for 2 hours and she never called or came to the apartment. We finally went out again to get something to eat as it was now 10pm and we had not had any dinner due to trying to resolve this issue. We slept with fans blowing on our naked bodies. The two beds in the living room were horrible and sagged in the middle. One daughter had to sleep in the upstairs room which was even hotter, my other daughter come to my bed in the middle of the night. These apartments have only interior windows which all open to central square area of space which houses the elevator shaft which we could see people and people could see us. We opened all the windows to allow air in as it was about 15C cooler outside. The noise level was high and people were partying until late at night. The apartment had no natural light coming in and so you felt as if you were in a dungeon. They are many, many light all over the apartment to compensate or this. When they took they photos they must have used floodlights to create an illusion of brightness! Now the other issue was the sewer smell that was in this apartment. I woke so many times during that night due to the unbearable heat and the toxic smell and that emanating from the washrooms and/or outdoor corridor. The apartment had WIFI and so I was able to email the office that evening and asked that they call. To my surprise Meritxell did call us around 10am. She told me that Marta would be there at 11am as she was letting someone else in another apartment. I told her that she would not likely show up and she said she would call last night and did not. She did show up at 11:30am. She opened the door and went "WHEW". Interestingly, I thought about this afterwards, and she did not even look at the AC units nor look to see if the units were turned on properly and the correct buttons were pressed....can you understand why...because she knew that the AC did not work! If that was any other sensible person who kept insisting over and over that the AC worked...this would have been the first thing that they would have done, right? I told her that I rented this apartment as it specifically had AC and that I would like a refund for the 2 remaining nights we had booked. She said that she had another apartment that had AC that was not far away and would I like to go and see it. We did! Now, I had read that this area is not the safest in the evenings. DALI has two locked doors for entry, this apartment did not and the entry door was right on the street. So right off I was not impressed. Then as was started to climb the narrow steep stairs, I told Marta that I was not interested. The stairwell was about 2 feet wide, 4 or 5 flights up and very, very steep. We had 6 heavy pieces of luggage. She said that she would help carry them up. I asked if she would be here to help carry them down, and she did not respond. This bathroom smelt worse that the other! The AC did work, but there was only one bed. The girls would have to sleep on the sofa! I said that I just wanted a refund and would find a hotel as this was not what I had paid for and that BarcelonaNextDoor did not hold up thier end of the contract and I had done everything to a tee on regards to my responsibilities with the contract. She said it was not possible. By this time, I was in tears, and I am not one to cry very easily at all. BarcelonaNextDoor was ruining our 3 days here and one day had been wasted waiting for them the come/call and address this malfunction. Marta called the manager David at the office and at first he said yes, that he would refund us, but then he changed his mind and said NO! My one daughter was so upset watching all of this unfold, and spoke up, saying this was not fair and not right and that she was just a child and should not have to do this. Bless her heart! Nope, there was nothing that they were willing to do. They had our money and so..too bad for you....you "one time guest"! No customer service is required by these agencies and they know they will never see you again most likely as this is not a repeat customer kind of business. We returned to our apartment and gathered all our things and made sure the apartment was as we found it for fear that they would charge my credit card with the $200E security deposit. That remains to be seen. I had to go the a hotel and had to pay an additional $400E! I will be warning people on every site that I can about this agency and to not be fooled by the "enchanting pictures" they have on their website. This agency has turned me off of apartment rentals. And even though I have had success in other countries without problems, I will never ever take this chance again. This is without a doubt the worst travel experience I have ever had! Shame on BarcelonaNext Door for extorting tourists. What upsets me the most, is how they knew very well that the AC was not working in this apartment and they sent me and my children there and then continued to insult our intelligence by insisting over and over again that it was working!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ghiverney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Liars and cheaters. My family and I were booked for a 3 night stay in Dali 2. At first, the employees seemed to be very nice and accomodating, but we were horribly mistaken. The apartment was extremely difficult to locate- we literally had to try and open every single door in the building as no one at the office would respond to our messages. When we finally got in, it was deadly hot. We could not figure out the A/C and called the office and they said it would take 3-4 hours before it would work (at their office they said 3-5 minutes) and to call back then. We opened the windows but the smell was too awful to keep them that way. After several hours, the air conditioner continued to not work and we called but their was no answer. We tried the EMERGENCY number, only to discover they had blocked it from the phone! We ended up having to walk up and down the street begging stores to use their phones. We got ahold and asked them to call the apartment in 20 minutes, but we waited for an hour and a half without a call. Our bags were extremely heavy and difficult to move as a family members have leg&back problems, so we had to spend the night in the apartment which was at LEAST 3x hotter than it was outside (I'm talking dripping sweat from just sitting). All night their were people having sex in the apartment above us. The next morning they sent a representative over who offered us a new apartment, but we could not get our luggage up the stairs as they were too narrow. We demanded a full refund for the horrible service or at least for the next two nights because we were absolutely NOT staying there any longer. They would not refund us any money for any nights.

Long story short: This experience brought on sobbing, screaming, and even illness. We were robbed of €300/$450, and the ordeal practically DESTROYED our vacation. These guys are nothing but cheaters and their company deserves to go down the tubes.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hearttotravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Wish we had seen the previous reviews before we had the misfortune to stay at Picasso. Management is strong-armed for payment and unresponsive to problems. In particular, Internet and air-conditioning are poor or nonexistent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wishes_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Nextdoor apartments in Barcelona is an agent that rents out vacant apartments in the central Barcelona.
They collect the fee for entire stay prior to check in before you have even seen the flat. They charge you additional 50Euro for cleaning (compulsory) if you ask them to deliver the keys at apartment there are surcharges too.
I stayed at Electra apartment last week for 3 days. collected they key at their office and paid the full amount. upon arrival to apartment there was no warm water available. I called they said they knew about this defect and were going to fix immediately. Cut the story short until 10 pm 3 workers were in the flat and made big mess of hacking and replacing the water heater tank etc. They left the flat dirty and messy. I called the day after and requested for refund for night, They asked me to write a letter. The only thing they did was sending a cleaner to clean up but no refund.
I certainly advice to avoid this agency
Mehrzad

Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank mashtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinayFausto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelonanextdoor, Director General at Barcelona Nextdoor Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#434 of 513 in Barcelona
514 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#88 of 513 in Barcelona
644 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#156 of 513 in Barcelona
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#140 of 513 in Barcelona
1,466 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
2,108 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#229 of 513 in Barcelona
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Nextdoor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Nextdoor Apartments

Address: Calle Pelayo 50 4-4, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $149 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Nextdoor Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a company based in Barcelona specializing in vacation home rentals for short and medium stay. Since we began operations in Barcelona in 2004 our goal is to offer our customers the best selection of apartments at competitive prices. Whether traveling for leisure or work, with family or with friends, we have a suitable offer for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barcelona Nextdoor Apartments Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing