We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, but top location (check recommendations for restaurants in text)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Ranked #317 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Average, but top location (check recommendations for restaurants in text)”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Hotel Eurostar Ramblas Boqueria is small hotel on main street La Rambla next to Boqueria market. Hotel is average but nice. Main points:

Plus: location
Minus: bad smell from bathroom, no lobby (small desk reception), no bar, no...

Hotel is perfect if you get good price and if you want just bed. It doesn't provide you with any additional service. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Its all about location. Nothing else.

Here are the main tips for Barcelona visit: Do not eat on La Rambla! Its poor and very expensive. try to find other places and here are tips from my friends from Barcelona and the y are VERY useful:

You have to visit LA BOQUERIA. It is the best market (fresh food) we have in Barcelona.
You have the possibility to do a "Brunch" (= breakfast and lunch) in one of the bars/restaurants you have inside.
We suggest you to go to the bar called "BAR PINOCHO" (entering the main entrance of La Boquería from the street Las Ramblas, turn right or just ask anyone).

Places to visit:
We suggest you to go to the Tourist information Office (very close from your hotel) and ask them for the Tourist bus and suggestions. But do not forget to spend time at "The Gothic Neighborhood" (Old city).
You will see the Cathedral, nice churches like L´Esglesia del Mar, Plaza del Pi, etc...
Close to this last place "Plaza del pi", there is a very traditional coffee shop called "GRANJA DULCINEA" (Street Petritxol nº 2) where you can ask for a "SUIZO" (Hot Spanish style chocolate + cream). Very nice place and better food.

RESTAURANTS:

"MERENDERO DE LA MARI"
One of our favorite restaurants for eating PAELLA, fish and seafood in Barcelona is: (to do a reservation is hardly recommended).
Ask at the hotel. Phone: 93. 221 31 41 (www.merenderodelamari.com) Recommended for lunch and diner.

Another very nice and traditional restaurant for fish is "CAN SOLE" (Sunday evening and Monday closed )
Carrer Sant Carles 4 (www.cansole.cat)

One of the best restaurants from Galicia in Barcelona (you can have very good seafood) is "CASA DARIO" at Consell de Cent 256. Phone: 93 453 31 35

"GORRIA"
If you love steaks, we recommend you this restaurant. You can taste the best Spanish ham and some specialties from the north of Spain (Navarra).
It is one of the favorite restaurants of many futbol players of FC Barcelona.
Street Diputacion 421 - Phone: 93 245 11 64. You have to ask for "Chuletón steak" ( check pictures).

If you would like to eat some typical Tapas, we suggest you to go to: "CERVECERIA CATALANA or CIUDAD CONDAL" (both from the same owner)

"CERVECERIA CATALANA":
Street MALLORCA 236 (very close from the street called RAMBLA CATALUNYA). Remember this street because you are going to go up and down several times these days because is the second best shopping street. : )
"CIUDAD CONDAL"
Street Rambla Catalunya 18

We went there four time. You will need to wait 20 minutes to be seated but its worth. Just go to the reception lady and ask for table. Dont wait in crowd!!!

The best shopping streets are: PASSEIG DE GRACIA and RAMBLA CATALUNYA.

If you are on top of Passeig de Gracia and you like to have a lunch or diner, I suggest you to go to: "RESTAURANTE TRAGALUZ" (Passatge de la Concepció 5) Phone: 93 487 06 21 http://www.grupotragaluz.com/rest-tragaluz.php

If you like Japanese food (we adore Japanese food), you must go to: "KOY SHUNKA" Street Copons 7 (very close to the Cathedral). Phone: 93 412 79 39 (www.koyshunka.com)

If you want pasta and risotto from Italy we suggest you to go to "DA GRECO" at Passeig de Gracia 116.

You have to take into account that restaurants open at 20:30 for dinner, so if you like to have a glass of wine before going to this places, I suggest you to go to: "MON VINIC" Street Diputació 249.
And if you want to have a drink after the dinner you can go to: "HOTEL OMM" at Street Roselló 265.
If you want to go dancing go to: "LUZ DE GAS" Street Muntaner 246.

Have fun!

Room Tip: We were in 309 and we had constant BAD smell fro bathroom. We asked at the reception but nothing was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Marko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    184
    61
    17
    12
See reviews for
48
233
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed 2 night prior to a cruise in january and found this to be a good servicable Hotel. Quite tastefully decorated but no personal service. Just one member of staff on reception who gave you your key and directions to your room which was a decent size with nice bathroom. We were at front which was noisy but not too bad but extremely hot at night. It was very central to Barcelona , to the port where we boarded are Ferry and to the shops. We took a taxi to the Cruise ship as we weren't sure where exactly it would be birthed this cost us 15 euros for 2 people and 4 pieces of luggage. We didn't eat in the Hotel so we can't make any comment on the food I would be happy enough to stay there again

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We spent 4 nights in mid-January and found that the hotel lived up to its good reviews. Friendly and helpful reception, good-sized rooms with small balconies, newly decorated with modern furnishings, comfortable beds, crisp linen and well-equipped bathrooms. Had to ask for the balcony door handle which enables the staff to warn you of the 8 to 10" step down from the room floor to the balcony! As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the hotel has very few facilities but does have a small public seating area with TV, coffee maker and newspapers. There is also a decked area with a couple of sun loungers and chairs/tables overlooking the market roof - quite nice to watch the sun set here!

The principal attraction of the hotel is its central location right on the Ramblas, close to the Plaza Calalyuna and a short walk to many buildings of architectural interest. The heating/air-con is centrally controlled but can be turned off. We had a balcony door slightly open and there was a moderate amount of traffic noise - only to be expected. There was space in the fridge for our own drinks and the room was thoroughly cleaned daily with fresh bed-linen. Wi-fi was a bit patchy at times but the room lighting was good for reading. The hotel has a small breakfast room charging 10 Euros but there is better value to be had at any number of nearby cafes or at the Boqueria. Tubes stations are close by at Catalunya and Liceu.

Room Tip: Possibly avoid a disabled room with large shower (horizontal spray!) and no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Location. Location. Location. We stayed here for 5 nights over the New Year's Celebration Jan 1, 2012. Our first night we had a room in front with a french door balcony overlooking the energetic La Rambla. If you want to be in the middle of the action, this is the place for you. If you want a quiet night's sleep, maybe not. We changed rooms for the rest of our trip to the back of the hotel overlooking the Boqueria Market. Quieter during the night, (unless you have noisy neighbors, which we did) but the market begins setting up around 6:30 AM and the noise begins again. (The Boqueria Market is a must see. One of the most beautiful markets I've ever seen!)

**Ask for the KEY to the French Doors when you check-in. They require the key to open. The room was HOT (in January) so we had to choose the temperature or the noise from the doors being open.

Beds are "European Average Boxspring Firm". No pillowtop mattresses here. As long as I don't feel the springs, lumps or excessive firm, I can deal with it.

Rooms are small, but clean. Extremely average.

Edgar at the front desk was fabulous! His directions and recommendations were invaluable!

Breakfast offered for purchase. No gym, no room service. Phones, Wi-fi worked well. Didn't notice if they had a tv, I wasn't there to watch Spanish Television.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelzomby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We originally were given a street-facing room on the third floor. The room itself was nice, but the key to the windows/balcony was lost, so the windows and shutters couldn't be opened. Otherwise it would have been a nice place to overlook activity on Las Ramblas. The room was much too hot for us, and the AC was off (it was November). The front desk staff was very responsive and moved us to our choice of the rooms on the first floor at the back of the hotel. They were much cooler, with French doors that opened onto very large private decks overlooking the St. Joseph's farmer's market. It was funs seeing things open up in the morning and wonderful to visit after a nice breakfast in the hotel's smallish breakfast cafe.
The room was quiet and comfortable and the location very convenient to our planned visit to Paleu Guell.

Room Tip: Stay away from higher floors - too hot - and street facing rooms are noisy. Rooms 10, 11, and 12 on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IthacaNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Hotel is newly decorated, clean, and in a very convenient location (if the Ramblas is what you are looking for.) It's important to note that this is not a hotel with ANY services beyond really very nice (albeit small) modern rooms with bathrooms that are equally shiny and clean. There is no gym, no room service, and in fact I think my room had no phone. I think, however, there is a breakfast room. Lastly, there is no climate control available to the guest and you will need to ask for the windows to be unlocked if you want to acheive a temperature closer to outside. Wireless was spotty but free. I know this review sounds a bit negative but I rate thsi hotel "very good" because for the right price it's a great deal and if you are only interested in really friendly establishment with a room that could easily command a far higher price in a full service "palace" you will not be disappointed. I stay here almost exclusively when I am travelling on business to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Back of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Hotel is on the Ramblas, very nice and appropiate location, has a small entrance, small reception, that does not tell what there is inside.Very nice rooms, a little small but okay, recently redone,modern and with good taste, very aupdated, very clean, good barthoom, good bed, good high definition TV.We asked for an internal room, for the noise at the Ramblas, and got # 301, with a view to the glass roofs of the market, that close at night. No noise, Nice sleep. Free wif at the room that is a plus. We will be back when in Barcelona. Good relation price- service.
Good value for the price in that location.

Room Tip: On the back with view to the Market, very quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#313 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#225 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#119 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#138 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#153 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Ramblas Boqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Ramblas Boqueria

Property: Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Address: Rambla de Sant Josep 91 - 93, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Eurostars Ramblas Boqueria)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#189 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#190 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Ramblas Boqueria 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three star hotel in the Ramblas of Barcelona, next to the famous Boqueria market, with a fresh , modern and comfortable design. The Exe Ramblas Boqueria is in a nineteenth century palace completely renovated on the inside and turned into a space of minimalist design with the latest technology and facilities set in the colors of a Mediterranean market. Due to its central location, situated between the Port of Barcelona and Plaza Catalunya, in the heart of Barcelona, the rooms of the hotel are perfectly soundproofed to guarantee its customers the best rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Exe Ramblas Boqueria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Ramblas Boqueria Barcelona
Exe Ramblas Boqueria Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing