We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Ranked #92 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked a week's stay at the Apsis Porta Marina based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed.

We arrived pretty late in the evening after a late flight in and was warmly welcomed. We had a room on the 1st floor which was very spacious. Lovely large bathroom, an enormous bed, flat screen tv, 2 arm chairs, table and chairs, fridge, hair dryer ( not the best) and a small wardrobe with a few hangers. The storage space was the most disappointing thing, could have done with a chest of drawers and some more hangers.

Our room was cleaned every day with fresh clean towels provided daily too. When we asked for an iron, it was delivered quickly to our room and left for us to use throughout our stay.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, couldn't praise them high enough.

The hotel is very close to Marina metro stop ( 5 min walk), and closer to the Teatre Nacional tram stop. Top tip - bus 92 goes straight to Parc Guell.

The hotel is on the edge of a business district, the main businesses close by are a funeral directors, and other businesses associated with funerals. Don't let that put you off though.

On the downside it is also next door to student accommodation, which on occasion was very noisy in the middle of the night. But much quieter than being in the middle of the city.

It cost €30 for taxi ride from the airport to the hotel, however on our way back to the airport we used our T10 card and got all the way for one journey.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghShoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    411
    69
    14
    12
See reviews for
382
235
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel following a family cruise, booked following reviews for size of rooms.
+ size of rooms excellent , including bathrooms .
+ Location nice and quite with fantastic hostel next door for cheap cafe / breakfast
+ Rooms were kept clean
- Staff not that friendly or welcoming, asked for kettle in room and not available !!
- Full kitchenette in rooms but nothing supplied , cupboards empty
- Hotel lacked any personality at all, felt more like a travel lodge at times rather than a nice hotel, possibly because of sterile appearance of corridor and rooms

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

You booked a family room, 2 adults 2 children. The room was spacious, clean, it has free wifi, a small kitchenette (sync, fridge, microwave) but without tools, u should bring ur own. The staff are super friendly. The hotel is near Marina metro station. It's also 15 mins walking distance from the Zoo and the beach. Walking distance also from the old city and Plaça de Catalunya. We will definitely come back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidamourad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We expected a great deal from all the reviews we read and the low price, high star ratio, and also because we saw it had it's own fridge and cooking plate to buy groceries and prepair food. So we booked the three person room and when we checked in and entered the room it was pretty much what we expected, but no plates, silverware or pots and pans. Apparently those are only for people who stay longer (5 nights isnt long enough?)

The facilities were terrible, when we asked for some actual blankets instead of sheets they gave us unsanitairy blankets that smelled terrible.

So no, cant say I agree with all these great reviews

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 723basv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms on the suite floor are very roomy and well designed. Beds are made every day and towels changed as well. Certainly not the nicest part of Barcelona, but everything you want is all within 15 minute cab ride, which suited us. All in all very good vale for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Two well spaced rooms that accommodated my wife and I along with my two teenage sons which were clean. Situated just outside the town centre which was about 15mins walk the same for the beach. Nearby were reasonably priced cafes and restaurants. Metro and tram stop were on the doorstep which are cheap to use. Reception staff helpful. Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just returned from this hotel. We found the rooms very clean, spacious with all the things we needed for a great stay. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday. Staff at reception were so helpful and friendly. Although the area isn't the prettiest Barcelona has to offer, it's so easy to get to all the sights quickly, either walking or using local transport. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 513 in Barcelona
2,077 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#173 of 513 in Barcelona
3,566 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#93 of 513 in Barcelona
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pol & Grace Hotel
#66 of 513 in Barcelona
929 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Ibis Styles Barcelona City Bogatell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri by Fraser Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Property: Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Address: Sancho de Avila 32-34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capri by Fraser Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel and serviced apartment residence is located in Barcelona's trendy 22th business district and 3 Metro stops from Plaza Catalunya. Enjoy the sun and a few cocktails or appreciate a cultural performance at one of Spain's finest theatres. Access to the nightlife of the Olympic port's restaurants, cafes and lively bars is not far. A mere 15 minutes' walk from Barcelona's beaches and the Marina (Olympic village), as to the National Theatre and the Auditorium, are opposite. Our Restaurant features a full continental buffet offering both hot and cold fare. Along with breakfast, the Capri by Fraser offers both European and Spanish dishes at its restaurant serving lunch until 4.00 pm Monday through to Friday. In addition, room service is also available. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk with concierge services providing local information, theatre tickets, restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations and even car rental. Capri by Fraser offers spacious air-conditioned studios and apartments with 21-32" flat-screen TV offering multi-lingual channels, a living room with sofa and seating area with double-glazed windows. There is a kitchenette, desk, digital safe, and bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and bathroom welcome amenities. In addition, the property offers free Wi-Fi to all guests both in the apartment as well as spacious lounge and a business centre. Private car parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capri by Fraser Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Porta Marina Barcelona
Capri By Fraser Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing