We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd neighbourhood but nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Ranked #84 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    393
    64
    15
    9
See reviews for
345
229
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise with friends in a different room, the hotel staff were nice and the building was in good condition, we were given a room with a bedroom en/suite and living area which had a sofa bed, large, and a sizeable kitchen, with fridge and hobs etc, the strange thing was they had no flatware, no pots, no utensils whatsoever, so why have a kitchen. Very strange. Its a 5 minute, if that walk to the Metro at the Marina and handy for seeing the sights. They have internet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. The service was great, very professional and helpful at reception. We got upgraded to a superior double room on arrival which was fantastic. Very modern, atmospheric lighting, mini bar, kitchen, the lot. The bed was huge, bigger than a king size i think. It was absolutely spotless too, looked like it had just been built. The location is great, only 5 mins from the metro but the hotel itself is tucked away in a quiet area, theres not much in the immediate walking areas. The best part had to be the room, it is the biggest, nicest room I've ever stayed in, ever! Would definately go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I do like the location as metro is less than 5 minutes away. Glories mall is 10-15 minutes walking with supermarket in it to buy water, etc. Free wifi in my room, free printing service and the room is clean, big, and quiet. The staff quality varies but mostly helpful and friendly. Definitely would go back for another stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Myself & my partner recently stayed here for 4 nights during the Primavera music festival. The location was great, its only 3 metro stops outside of the city centre which takes less than 5 minutes. There are also trams and buses that go from less than a minutes walk from the hotel. The room we had was fantastic, like a junior suite in any other hotel but for a fraction of the price, we had a kitchen with a big fridge, a sitting room with a table and couch, tv and huge windows. The bedroom was big too with a huge bed, a TV and the en suite had a great shower in it. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, they even gave us a late check out free of charge on the day we were leaving.
We got a non smoking room so it was really fresh and no stale smells. The hotel has a few small shops around it but not much for tourists, but I would definately stay there again and use the metro to get back and forth as I have stayed in a number of other hotels in Barcelona and none of them come close to this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room, and preferably not on the lower floors as there is student accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saph_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel was very clean, very modern and was lovely. The only downfall was that our room smelt of smoke as they put us in a smoking room and we are non smokers, We had a kitchen, lounge, bedroom and bathroom and was lovely. There was no cutlery or kettle etc, this is only given to you if you stay there for 1 month plus so the kicthen is quite pointless unless you ask the kitchen staff to borrow a knife which we did so we could make some sarnies as we were visiting Barcelona for the F1. The hotel is a bit out of town but only a few stops to Las Ramblas on the tube (nearest stop is Marina) which we found really easy to use. The hotel is about a 15 min walk to the beach and there is a lovely sports tavern spanish bar around the corner. It is not in a tourist area which we found quite nice as was only a short walk away from a residential area where there was lots of authentic spanish tapas bars and shops. Overall we had a great trip. We love Barcelona and is our third time visiting the City.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great but tell them if you are a non smoker otherwise the rooms smell of smoke a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this little hotel in Barcelona. Our room was quite large, especially by European standards, and the bathroom was large as well. The a/c worked great, wi-fi worked great. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. We were able to walk to the beach in about 15 minutes. The nearby Marina stop for the Metro was about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Lots of local markets and places to eat. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#90 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pol & Grace Hotel
#66 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#158 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,444 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri by Fraser Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Property: Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Address: Sancho de Avila 32-34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capri by Fraser Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel and serviced apartment residence is located in Barcelona's trendy 22th business district and 3 Metro stops from Plaza Catalunya. Enjoy the sun and a few cocktails or appreciate a cultural performance at one of Spain's finest theatres. Access to the nightlife of the Olympic port's restaurants, cafes and lively bars is not far. A mere 15 minutes' walk from Barcelona's beaches and the Marina (Olympic village), as to the National Theatre and the Auditorium, are opposite. Our Restaurant features a full continental buffet offering both hot and cold fare. Along with breakfast, the Capri by Fraser offers both European and Spanish dishes at its restaurant serving lunch until 4.00 pm Monday through to Friday. In addition, room service is also available. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk with concierge services providing local information, theatre tickets, restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations and even car rental. Capri by Fraser offers spacious air-conditioned studios and apartments with 21-32" flat-screen TV offering multi-lingual channels, a living room with sofa and seating area with double-glazed windows. There is a kitchenette, desk, digital safe, and bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and bathroom welcome amenities. In addition, the property offers free Wi-Fi to all guests both in the apartment as well as spacious lounge and a business centre. Private car parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Capri by Fraser Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Porta Marina Barcelona
Capri By Fraser Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing