We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accomodation with attention given to...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barcelona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ElenaBuni...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent accomodation with attention given to all possible details.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for three days in this perfectly located apartment and marveled at the thoroughness of any needs that may arise. Our hosts were helpful & cheerful. Definitely a place to remember fondly and to re-visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfan
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“THE rental property in Barcelona!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I, along with our two "kids" aged 22 and 18 spent a week in Casa Capella in July, 2013. We came from having spent 4 nights in Madrid and 3 nights on the Costa Brava where the "kids" shared a room-and by the end of that week, and upon our arrival at Casa Capella-they needed space.

Casa Capella gave us the luxury of space. There are 3 large bedrooms. Two have en suite bath, one uses the central one in the hallway but we dedicated it solely to the use of our daughter who drew the room w/o its own bath so everyone got their own full bath. Peace reigned.

We have rented properties all over the world and have had the good fortune to rent some great properties with some not so great property managers and vice versa. Casa Capella is truly the best of both worlds.

The apartment is brilliant. John and Josefina are the best hosts we have ever encountered. They greeted us at the door. John brought up our luggage. Josefina gave us a tour of the apartment. The two of them gave us a map of the local recommended restaurants and groceries (their taste is impeccable). They answered all of our questions and warmly wished us well and told us that they were available, for anything, whenever we needed them (more on this point later). John and Josefina are the kindest, most diligent, most accommodating hosts anyone can hope for.

As to the apartment, I have read the preceding reviews and heartily endorse them. Each of the 3 bedrooms has space and in our case, all were made into American king sized beds. The wi-fi is fast, continuous, and not compromised by more than 3 devices being used concurrently. Wi-fi is very important to us and our kids. They have a local landline for local needs which proved useful w/dinner reservations. The location of the apartment is absolutely perfect. Steps from the metro (though as a family of 4 we opted to take taxis which was cost effective in the few instances where we required transport beyond our feet). You are so centrally located you truly do not need to do much but walk-and the walks to all parts of the city are very manageable.

The website description on tripadvisor (and I think I may have found it also on VRBO) are fair and honest and if anything, do not do justice to the property.
The apartment is fantastically soundproofed so despite being on a busy street, you would never know it. There are a zillion great restaurants and bars nearby.
The living room comfortably accommodates 6-8 people and having a TV for downtime is nice. Egypt is again on fire and having BBC World was a blessing to keep appraised of what was going on. The DVD player was better and we chose to spend a few evenings watching DVDs that John and Josefina have allowed their guests to share from their "library".
The kitchen has all you need and there is a gorgeous fresh food market which sits atop a supermarket about 2 1/2 blocks from the apartment. We availed ourselves of it on 2 evenings to stay in and eat here because we so enjoyed the comforts of Casa Capella.

On our 2nd to last "real" night in Barcelona (we departed at 0500 so the very last night does not count) my wife missed a curb, and turned and collapsed on her ankle. We were very concerned that her ankle was fractured or so badly sprained that she would require a wheelchair for our final few days here and no matter which, we potentially needed emergency medical attention. I called John and Josefina who provided immediate smart and local knowledge that saved the day (and the rest of our holiday).

In summary: I trust and respect John and Josefina. They are honorable and gracious hosts. They have a fantastic 3 bedroom apartment w/all of the amenities (down to electric converters and sharp kitchen knives) in a fantastic location. If you happen to be in need of THE apartment in Barcelona, this is it.
I am happy to further praise this wonderful property should you still have questions or concerns. My email is: jonfriedman12345@gmail.com.
thanks again John and Josefina!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, as a whole, made for a perfect vacation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenteac...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You couldn't find a better place to stay in Barcelona!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We discovered Casa Capella 2 through a very thorough YouTube video...it allows you to see exactly what you will find when you arrive: a beautiful apartment in an excellent location in Barcelona! We were just a block away from the Passeig de Gracia, very near two Gaudi apartments, great cafes and restaurants and great shopping!
The video does not, however, introduce you to the owners of the property, John and Josefina, who greeted us with such warm hospitality! When we arrived, Josefina, along with her charming son, showed us around the apartment, pointing out all the wonderful amenities that have been placed in the apartment: many tour Barcelona guides, art books, DVD's, fine linens, soap and shampoo, a fully stocked kitchen...even a computer for the personal use of the guests!
The apartment itself is beautifully furnished and decorated, with lovely touches everywhere you look. The layout of the three bedrooms offered total privacy for three adult couples...we could not have been more comfortable.
In addition to the warm welcome John and Josefina provide, they also made restaurant and transportations reservations for us and helped us with our bags both upon arrival and departure...a lovely touch that we did not expect. When we left, we felt as though we were saying goodbye to old friends...we will certainly return to Barcelona and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmschelb
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the touches of home!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A spacious, well designed, apartment in a great location.
John and Josefina thought of everything, and they personally handle every detail. Their personal touch is in evidence everywhere, from the well stocked library on Barcelona, to the artwork on the walls; from king beds with adequate reading lights to an exercise bike on the patio; from personal recommendations on restaurants to personal conferences on what to see and do; from windows which completely soundproof the interior to sparkling modern furniture and decor; from max security behind a bolt lock to electric converters; from washer and dryer to dishwasher and microwave; from fast wiFi to use of their personal computer. The apartment is completely remodeled and centrally located. If you like to walk,
you can reach all the major attractions on foot. Metro, bus, cab stand and grocery all a block away. Reserve with confidence, it's a great vacation stay for up to three couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amenities, availability of owners, decor, quiet, comfort, security.
Liked least: We could only stay one week.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice C
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our family stayed 7 nights at Casa Capella 2 and now that we are back home we still miss it! Reserving Casa Capella for our visit to Barcelona was the best decision we made for our 20-day trip through Spain and Italy. While the other hotels we booked were wonderful, nothing compared to the luxury and comfort of Casa Capella 2. John and Josefina have thought of every detail and furnished the apartment with the utmost care and concern for comfort of their guests. We loved the spacious rooms, modern bathrooms and kitchen, super comfortable beds, quiet and calm surroundings (thanks to those fabulous double-glazed windows and french doors), views out both front and back with the private terrace to enjoy, fully equipped office area with computer and great wifi. The list goes on and on, but just know that if you are planning to stay more than 3 nights in a city like Barcelona, and if you have more than 2 people in your group, it pays to book an apartment (ask Rick Steves!), and at Casa Capella 2 you will have the vacation of your dreams! We would never stay anywhere else the next time we visit Barcelona (beautiful city, by the way), and you shouldn't either. Feel free to email me if you have specific questions or need more info.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; overall size of apt.; furnishings; views; comfort.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our vacation!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irina T
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best apartment we have ever stayed”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just returned from one week vacation in Barcelona. Staying in this beautiful apartment has made huge difference.
We have been fortunate travelling around the world, both for business and pleasure.
Casa Capella is one of the best apartments we have ever stayed!
Location, location, location... The best in the city. It is very convenient, having 3 different metro lines within 5 minutes walk and train line as well. Travelling to Girona and Museum Dali is easier than by car because of the location.
Apartment itself is beautiful, fully renovated can easily accommodate 2 or 3 couples or big family. I agree with previous reviewer: sound insulation is outstanding : it completely blocks traffic noise. I am also light sleeper, and it is great to have good rest in such busy street.
I would also comment about managers-owners of the place John and Josefina. They are very efficient, hardworking and helpful. They even supervise cleaning of the apartment.
Overall, it has been great holiday, and we are looking forward to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners, the location, sound insulation, new condition
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadno
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“unbeatable location, peaceful, extremely functional. We felt at home”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

After reviewing hundreds of prospective rentals for our family week in Barcelona, we decided on Casa Capella. It was a great decision, we felt at home and had a great time.
The apartment is extremely well located, within walking distance of several of Barcelona key areas, but also outside the more hectic areas. Insulation from outside noise is very good, an important matter for light sleepers like me. Close to a very nice market, so we ended having dinner at Casa Capella more than planned.Very easy to take the train or metro.
Very good amenities, appliances, beds and mattresses, kitchen utensils, everything functional and with very good taste. Nice to have so many books, music, movies, maps, guides. Internet access very good, although the computer can do with a software/hardware renewal.
Josefina and John are very gracious hosts and we felt at all times welcome. Looking forward to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: extremely confortable, everything well thought.
Liked least: hard to say. the computer I guess.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing