We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal La Palmera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal La Palmera
Ranked #89 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hostal was clean and had everything we wanted. Bed, shower, friendly staff who were very helpful when we wanted directions. Unfortunately we had a corner room, one side was the market - which begun setting up at about 3am, on the other side was a construction site - very noisy.
I'm sure that the hostal isn't always this noisy, it was just really, really bad timing on our part. It was cheap and clean. We spent most of the time not in it anyway. Just for sleeping. I would recommend it as the staff are very helpful and do everything they can to please. One last thing - the breakfast was awful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the market side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamadhiLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    69
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
66
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Now lets be honest here, this is a budget hotel and as someone who normally does 4/5 star there was an initial sharp intake of breath when I arrived at La Palmera.

We stayed for two nights on an impromptu visit from the South of Spain and once we got past our initial impressions were pleasantly surprised by the place, the rooms whilst small and basic, had crisp, clean white sheets with the room and ensuite being spotlessly clean. The toilet was across the landing but this posed no major issue. The rooms are noisy with thin walls but being a seasoned traveller I always have ear plugs so this wasn't an issue for me.

The staff were cheerful and friendly and having free wifi and an ample continental breakfast were a bonus.

The location of this place is second to none being a 100m or so from La Rambla giving easy access to the gothic quarter, port and tourist busses.

All in all it was a good base to lay one's head at night, and to keep you belongings whilst out exploring this great city, I'd definitely use it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJOsborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My elderly mother and I stayed at La Palmera for 4 nights in July 2013 and we can't recommend it highly enough.

We had a twin room with en-suite shower and toilet. The room (and everywhere else on the premises) were spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. A continental breakfast was included with bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, cakes, jam, honey, etc and tea & coffee made to order. Another reviewer has called this 'limited, but I can't imagine what he was expecting.

I am also baffled by the suggestion that the Hostal is in a red light district. What rubbish! It is in a narrow lane that we usually empty when we came and went, and was very quiet at night (our balcony was over the lane). Itis only 50m or so to Carrer de Carme which is a pretty street of restaurants, shops and bars.

It's worth noting that this is not a 'hostel' (ie for backpackers) but a 'Hostal' which is a Spanish term for a category of hotel with limited services ie no bar, concierge, etc. You get simple facilities at a economical price.

The Reception desk is manned 24 hours and the staff were great. They all spoke good English and were helpful and friendly.

We loved the location. It is right next to the Boqueria Market and only a 1 minute walk to Las Ramblas. There are lots of restaurants around but we particularly loved La Palmera restaurant (no relation) next-door where we had a warm welcome and excellent paella and seafood at a good price.

The only drawback was the construction work in the Placa de Gardunya. This is a major project and currently expected to continue until April 2014. They start work about 7.30am and continue until 7pm. We had earplugs so it didn't disturb our siesta and it was a quiet area at night. If, however, you want to go clubbing and sleep til lunchtime, then this isn't the place for you!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having an en-suite room, but the shared bathroom and toilets looked clean and well looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHoneyBee-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at La Palmera for 3 nights and i can safely say that is was the worst three nights of my holiday in Barcelona. The staff were quite helpful and friendly. The big problem, acknowledged by hotel staff to be fair, was the noise from the building site located right beside the hotel. It started every day before 8am (we were on holiday so got in quite late) and went on for the whole day. As a result, it was impossible to get a proper nights sleep while we were there. The good points are that it is well located just off the Ramblas but down a side street where we would often see prostitutes plying their trade late at night. If you can find anywhere elase to stay in Barcelona at a similar price, stay there for sure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in june 2013. We had a room with shower and the toilete was on the hallway. The room was quite small( a two beds room) but clean and we had a small balcony. I must admit that it was my first time staying in a hostel and so i can't compare it to other hostels :)
+ close to the metro station
+friendly staff
+clean
+24 hours reception, the main door closes at night so that only the people stayng at the hostel can enter

-no variety at breakfast
-the noise from the buildingsite nearbay, but that is not the hostel fault of course, we recived a discount for this inconvenience :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liana1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely hostel located in the old part of Barcelona, right next to the indoor market and only 2 min walk from metro and bus links so exploring the city is a breeze. Helpful and friendly English speaking staff offered advice and even maps during our stay. Very clean and well maintained rooms and facilities, with clean towels and bedding every other day. Continental breakfast with cereals, pastries and cakes sets you up for the day ahead. Obviously this is an inner city location so expect a little noise from the outside world also the market was being renovated when we stayed and building work began at around 7am, however, don't let this put you off, we intended to return and stay here again :-)

Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's a really great hostel in the heart of barcelona near the market on La Rambla. We were expecting the worst for this price. But it was very clean and nice hostel. The guy on the reception was very helpful! He helped me in a very difficult situation.
As a disadvantages i can say that there was very noise cause of market nearby. But anyway! This is one of the best hostels in BCN

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Ramos
Hostal Ramos
#113 of 326 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Arosa
Pension Arosa
#97 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Girona
Hostal Girona
#49 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#51 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
El Raval
Operaramblas
Operaramblas
#53 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
El Raval
Hostal 56
Hostal 56
#149 of 326 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Palmera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Palmera

Property: Hostal La Palmera
Address: Jerusalem 30, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Palmera 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal La Palmera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Palmera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing