We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not for longer stay”
Review of Next To

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Next To
Ranked #77 of 310 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Not really business travelers, but good location just of the Paseo de Gracia and right near Diagonal. Subway on the corner. Restaurants and bars as well as expensive shops near by. Overall nice hotel. Tiny reception. Tiny room had decent queen bed, no window, but for full disclosure, great rate. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo C, Director de Recepción at Next To, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión! Esperamos que disfrutase de una buena y acogedora estancia con nosotros!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 442 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Given that I was staying here during a business trip, my expectations weren't that high to begin with. It's a very basic hotel, with no amenities, but it's perfectly clean. The main reception area is clean, the rooms are brightly decorated and again, very clean. However, they're extremely basic. Towels are scratchy and thin, the bed wasn't particularly comfortable, the minibar was very limited and the "do not disturb" sign I left on my door in the morning when going out for a coffee was ignored, meaning that the papers I left in piles on the second bed were all bundled together by the time I came back. One tiny bottle of shampoo was provided, no shower cap etc. Relatively central area, the hotel accross the street has a bar that's open later than the one in Next To. In summary, a bit "meh", nothing at all to write home about. Very clean though, so a good budget option if you don't intend to do anything but sleep there. Just remember to bring your own towels.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor in a small room but many of my colleagues on the first and second floors sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLisbonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo C, Director de Recepción at Next To, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario! Nos gustaría agradecerle su tiempo y su opinión sobre nuestro hotel, por lo tanto mejoraremos en algunos detalles que marcan la diferencia. Por otro lado estamos satisfechos de saber que disfruto de su breve visita a Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the flat / family suit. The view to the rear was the "la padrera" roof top, one of Guadi's msterpices.
The flat slept 5 of us very comfortably. Nice kitchen if you fancy your own cocking.
Hotel is centrally located, staff were very helpful. Highly recommended for a family stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo C, Director de Recepción at Next To, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014
Google Translation

Muchísimas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada saber que habéis disfrutado de una bonita y agradable estancia con nosotros y de Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Thank you first of all to the terrific frontdesk staff, they were all so helpful and kind at every point of day and night! I felt immediately welcome and at home upon arrival midday, got all sorts of questions answered (about the hotel and things in town - btw you can borrow a hair dryer by asking at the desk), and had an excellent taxi promptly arranged for our departure. I refer to Next To as an "apartment-hotel" because the room suite came with an equipped kitchenette, and while the frontdesk is staffed 24/7 there isn't room service overnite. But when we needed cleaning supplies in the middle of one night, the desk person was immediately responsive and helped us greatly. We enjoyed our stay very much, especially looking out on La Pedrera at various points in the day, coming and going to many parts of town easily. We also had an excellent late-night tapas at the retsaurant Gambito, and their morning coffee is good as well. Hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: face in to the courtyard if you want a view of La Pedrera
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo C, Director de Recepción at Next To, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario, estamos satisfechos de saber que han disfrutado de una buena estancia con nosotros y de que les haya gustado el trato en recepción!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel was well located and the staff were very helpful and professional during our stay.
The rooms were very clean and tidy. The breakfast was very good and not so pricey on the wallet. we had a great view of le pedera and close to the main roads and other services nearby.
I would stay there again. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paora42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo C, Director de Recepción at Next To, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thanks very much for your support, we hope to see you in another time

Best regards

Hotel Next To

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was in a great location, central to everything we wanted to do. The hop on and off bus stop was extremely close. Restaurants and shopping....everywhere by foot. Although not a vacation shopper myself it would be perfect if you love high end shopping and restaurants.
The rooms are modern and clean although very small. I did write the hotel and tell them they really need to add hair dryers to the rooms. That was a problem as we were traveling for 3 weeks to multiple countries and expected hair dryers everywhere. It was the only hotel in all our travels that we encountered that problem. That is the only complaint and really it's more a suggestion. The hotel staff were very helpful and a pleasure to speak with.

Room Tip: Bring a hair dryer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo C, Director de Recepción at Next To, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario! Nos agrada saber que ha disfrutado de una bonita estancia en Barcelona con nosotros. También nos gustaría tener en cuenta sus sugerencias e informarle que todas las habitaciones ya disponen de secador fijo! Nuevamente gracias y esperamos que todo haya estado de su agrado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Booked this hotel for a half term break with the wife and 3 teenage daughters. We plumped for this one because it offerd good vale for 5 people and the Trip Advisor reviews were good. The hotel was clean and modern; the staff could not have been more accomodating. The room itself was brilliant with a double bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living area (with double sofa bed and single bed ) with a balcony overlooking Gaudi's Padrera. It's in a very smart part of town but an area you would probably only visit once (unless you regularly shop in Gucci, Louis Vuitton etc); hence, the walk down to Las Ramblas, waterfront and Gothica became a bit of a drag by day 3 - however, for a short break, that minor inconvenience is well worth putting up with to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank BarcelonaChris410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo C, Director de Recepción at Next To, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario! Nos alegra saber que le encantó nuestra ubicación y el trato recibido por el personal de recepción!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Actual
Hotel Actual
#177 of 519 in Barcelona
529 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#126 of 519 in Barcelona
2,100 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#58 of 519 in Barcelona
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#184 of 519 in Barcelona
1,011 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#132 of 519 in Barcelona
780 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#56 of 519 in Barcelona
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Next To? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next To

Address: Carrer del Rossello 242, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 310 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $79 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Next To 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Next To reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next To Hotel Barcelona
Next To Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing