We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty and pesty rooms for such a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sky
Ranked #190 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 4, 2013

the location is very good. but the housekeeping sucks. no towels for shower in the room. cockroaches wandering around. how can you feel safe in this hotel. water pressure is very low when you want to have a warm shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank travelguyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear travelguy...:

We are terribly sorry to read that your Melia Barcelona Sky Experience was far from what you expected. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments with our head departments.

Looking forward to welcome you back for a trouble-free Melia Barcelona Sky Experience!!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Just a weekend and highlight the amazing job from front office and Alfredo Martinez ( experience manager). Honestly, we'll come back. Highly recommendable. We stayed at the level and it was really worth. Yolanda very attentive. Good work!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wekelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Wekelee,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Melia Barcelona Sky our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Your delightful comments will indeed be passed on to our team and I am sure that specially Alfredo will be thrilled to know that his service was highly appreciated.

I would like to thank you again for your incredible feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Barcelona Sky in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We liked this hotel. It was very modern & cool. There was even a DJ in the lobby Saturday night near the bar. Our room was awesome & the view was amazing. We thought the automatic blinds and towel warmer was a nice touch. We did the double-decker tour & there's a bus stop 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tbug731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Tbug731,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Melia Barcelona Sky our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort.

I would like to thank you again for your incredible feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Barcelona Sky in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked this hotel as part of a surprise trip to Barcelona for my partner’s birthday and panicked when I saw some of the bad reviews of this hotel.

The bad reviews caused me unnecessary stress before arriving at the hotel but once we had arrived all that stress was relieved.

We were dealt with by Sergio a welcoming and friendly member of staff in the level lounge check in. You get private check in when you book an executive room. My partner sat down with some free drink and food whilst I checked us in.

Our room was gorgeous! Views of the sea and floor to ceiling windows to get the full benefit. There was a beautiful message written to my partner on our bathroom mirror which really made my partner smile.

We went to the level lounge in the evening where we drank and ate for free - this is also part of the executive experience. Lovely tapas and any alcohol you can think of including champagne.

When we returned to our room a free bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us. What a lovely end to a beautiful day.

Thank you Melia for such a wonderful stay and making my partners birthday extra special.

A note to add is that the breakfast buffet could do with improving as the food doesn't match the standards of the hotel. There should be a better system in place for teas and coffees as we didn't get our drinks until after our breakfast. To any future guests please know that the breakfast is still lovely (maybe 3 star) and you can grab orange juice whilst you wait for tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Book executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank directinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear directing...,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Melia Barcelona Sky our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Your delightful comments will indeed be passed on to our team and I am sure that specially Sergio will be thrilled to know that his service was highly appreciated.

I would like to thank you again for your incredible feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Barcelona Sky in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel views and service were amazing! We stayed in The Level, and although I am glad we paid extra for it, the rooms were a little tired. not quite what I would expect from 5*. The Level staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly, although the buffet took a little while to be replenished. The Spa was a bit of a disappointment due to staff friendliness and helpfulness, which for us let the experience down. But overall this is a lovely hotel and should definately be an option, if for the views alone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank 12KMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your constructive review 12KMS!

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay at Melia Barcelona Sky do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you want to stay in a sky scraper this is your chance. Not high by Asian or American standards it is still one of the highest buildings in Barcelona but it is not for everyone. It is not exactly a luxury hotel and not as modern as it looks. It is geared towards business travelers.
We arrived early and did not expect to be able to check in. The receptionist told us that the system was down but could she have our credit card anyway. We refused especially as we had heard of skimming stories. See one the earlier reviews. The porter was very helpful though and kept our bags for us and gave us directions. When we returned the afternoon reception staff knew nothing about a system down, and gave us our room forthright. We had been upgraded. Fantastic. And our room was almost on the top floor with an amazing view of Barcelona.
The room was boutique style, well designed with a small bathroom which you look into through glass from the room. There is a big sliding door that opens on one side to the shower and another side to the clothes cupboard. Dangerous if one of you is exiting the shower as the other is getting something from the cupboard. There is a big Tv which we did not use and a very comfortable bed and a small lounge chair. The room is lit by a complicated electronic control panel which we could not figure out. Like wise the air conditioning could not be turned down . Eventually a technician came to clean the filters and it immediately worked better. The fittings are all quite cheap for a 5 star hotel but they work and the room looked good. What makes it special is the incredible building itself and the view and all that glass.
Breakfast was good but the design restaurant where it was served was not to my taste. The gym was adequate if a little small. The small Yhi spa was very refreshing and relaxing at the same time. The pool looked clean and inviting but we did not use it. The hotel is away from the tourist area but if you do not mind walking to the nearest metro it is in a good position for anywhere in the city.
When we checked out we had the original receptionist again. This time the computer was not down and we paid by credit card. She took the card quickly into the back. We checked with our credit card company and apparently two attempts were made to withdraw money. Of course we cannot prove anything but apparently card skimming at hotels is becoming quite common.
But don't let it spoil your stay in the sky scraper. We certainly did not. The highlight of our stay was treating ourselves to the culinary delights of the Dos Cielos restaurant, a gourmet restaurant of exceptional standing situated in the hotel.

Room Tip: The best view s are on the top. You can also upgrade to The Level and have exclusive entrance to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your constructive review Chris P!

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay at Melia Barcelona Sky do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel a little run down, could do with freshening up! Staff don't listen and are very slow. We had a young baby with us and our room was over an hour late on check in, they used a number of excuses why it wasn't ready

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Catherine B:

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#158 of 520 in Barcelona
2,490 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 520 in Barcelona
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#174 of 520 in Barcelona
3,768 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#109 of 520 in Barcelona
3,499 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#175 of 520 in Barcelona
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sky

Address: Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $111 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Barcelona Sky 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Architecture that staircases the sky; a beacon watching over an energetic cityscape-ME Barcelona Hotel offers a new interpretation to contemporary design, international cuisine, and the urban experience; fusing personal and professional into one emblematic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Me Hotel Barcelona
Melia Barcelona Sky Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing