We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, high standard services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sky
Ranked #188 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at Melia Barcelona Sky, The Level, and I was impressed by the quality of the service offered, the staff were always smiling and very helpful and polite, the room was big and clean, with a wonderful view, and the experience of The Level takes you to another dimension of class and luxury. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a room of The Level section of the hotel, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We picked the Hotel ME because we organized a meeting there, and we needed to be within a reasonable distance to the convention center. The hotel is in an area, that is a mix of high rises, some slightly iffy neighborhoods and nothing super nice. Except for the Rambla de Poblenou, which is a street where you can stroll, have some tapas or a beer, and see mostly locals.
Pluses: the hotel staff was mostly nice, including the meeting/conference representatives, even though some of them definitely are on Spanish time and get back to you when they get back to you.... The breakfast was included and quite a nice buffet. Outside bar on the 24th floor is lovely and open until 1 or 2 in the morning. Great view from my room on the 19th floor. The bed was wonderful, and very comfortable. The meeting we organized went off without a hitch, the staff was there all the time, and made sure every need was attended to. Definitely brownie points for that.
Not so Good: While the first impression was great, once you looked a little closer, it was exactly like Helen I, another reviewer described: tired looking, worn out, no maintenance done in quite some time. The shower door was fixed with duck tape. The surfaces all were ultra modern and sleek, and were chipped, with marks and could have used replacement. Clearly, the hotel was built ten years ago, and not much was done since. It could use a major overhaul that is for sure, but in Spain's current economy that may not be possible. The cleaning staff varied, some of them were awesome, and the room was done up quite nicely, and some of them were a little more lackluster.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the ocean, rather than the construction site across.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neuenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is actually quite a long way from everywhere; it's not that close to the beach, the city centre or even the Sagrada Familia. Whoever said Poble Nou is an up and coming district may well be right but do not be fooled, it has an awfully long way to come up yet. Unfortunately things did not improve once we arrived at the hotel. Our first room had a broken air conditioning unit and a shower door that had a piece of black gaffer tape stuck on it to cover the broken glass edge; we complained and eventually got moved to another room. Our next room had a screw sticking up in the centre of the bathroom floor, we complained. The very nice maintenance man who had shown us to the next room accompanied us to reception to explain the issue. Our third room had working air conditioning and didn't have nails or screws sticking up but looked tired and in need of a refresh so we complained again and eventually got upgraded to a bigger, nicer room. The fixtures in this room however, still looked a little tired and the white floor was stained and marked. It had been at least two hours since checking in, and the room was in a passable if not perfect state of repair and so we collapsed exhausted and stressed onto the nice large bed. Some of the staff during this check in marathon were great, some where a little surly and seemed to think that having a screw sticking up in the centre of the bathroom floor, and or non working air conditioning wasn't a big deal.
On every floor we visited in search of an acceptable room the corridors were dirty and in need of hoovering.

This hotel has clearly fallen on tough times and is struggling to fill its rooms. Once, perhaps not that long ago this was an amazing hotel, with incredible features and probably well motivated and well meaning staff, but the recession has stripped much of this away. Some of the staff were really great, and much of the hotel is nice, particularly the public areas, but you have to look beyond the frayed edges of your room and imagine what things could've been like if you want to feel like you are in a truly luxury experience. For a hotel booked via the Mr and Mrs Smith website it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I booked this hotel without any knowledge of it or of Barcelona In fact I must be the only person in Ireland over 15 who has never been to Spain,Been in most european countries but never got to Spain.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were given a room with twin beds on the 15th floor which wasnt too appealing at all ,so a beeline was made for an upgrade to the 22nd floor ,This would have been exceptional value if we had used the upgrade properly but didnt bother too much with the drink and food on offer as we were not in too much in the hotel but the room was excellent on the 22nd floor
The breakfasts were excellent providing you dont want a fry up but thats the same all over Europe .Only the uk and Ireland can do them right
Staff were excellent all around especially the girls on the 25th floor and the chap on reception when we arrived and left
Only slight downside was the room cleaning during the week was a bit sparse but sheets were changed daily but I never saw a hoover
Another potential problem is its location .It is abit out of town but there is a metro station within 5 mins walk and trains run every 4 mins
the breakfasts were very good overall but dont expect an fry up or bacon and sausage .Europeans just dont know how to do that kind of food at all ,but they are no worse off for it
Overall ,an excellent hotel and well worth staying there

Room Tip: keep above the 20th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utmpiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Barcelona personifies modernity on a effortlessly grand scale. And whilst there are many hotels (I'ce stayed in most here from the Arts Hotel to the W) this uber-modern hotel with it's chilled atmosphere is on e of my favorites... because it doesn't try to hard to be cool... and hence somehow is cool for it.

Great bar and laid back, comfortable bar and lounge, with its Schrager-esque white linen, walls and candles.

The service is a bit too chilled. Getting a drink can seem to take an age but the bar man are friendly once they choose to engage. Same is true of the reception staff. Many of them about when we checked in but only one bothering to do check-in. That would never happen in the US or Asia. But we are in Europe so you go with the flow... frustratingly.

You have to Miami to find hip places like this. And of course Barcelona is the only place in Europe that understands that cross-roads in life between tradition and projecting an ultra-modern vision of the 21st Century. A few glass Pyramids facing off with the Louvre still doesn't cut it as an attempt at projecting the future.

The rooms are a decent size. 5 star in their sense of design and spa-like showers and features eg. brushed aluminium fridge. Very comfortable beds. Set the alarm, you won;t want to get up. The wardrobe space is sadly minimal, ditto chest of draws. There aren't any. But there are the hip Spanish hints like hell-fire red desk.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you are travelling with a partner. You'll get more wardrobe / storage space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xplor138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a group of friends recently for a weekend in Barcelona. Overall a very pleasant stay, hotel was good and perfect for a group of friends catching up. Good location only a short taxi ride into the centre of Barcelona. Added bonus of having a pool means it is also perfect for relaxing once the sightseeing was done. Pool facilities aren’t huge and the number of sun beds for the size of the hotel and number of guests isn’t huge but then it depends what you are visiting Barcelona for. Service round the pool was good staff were attentive. Strawberries for the Cava was a nice touch. Bit of a pain that food ordered from the pool bar couldn’t be eaten by the pool and that you had to gone inside to eat, not the end of the world but it would have been nice to be able to have snacks by the pool. The pool itself was freezing, only for the very brave.
We paid extra for a double pool view room, however, were assigned a road view overlooking the building site opposite. When we questioned this we were told that pool views were not guaranteed and were based on availability when checking in. They eventually found us a room with a pool view (if you stood right up against the window with your cheek against the window and looked down to the right), however, we could see the sea and there were no cranes in sight, so overall this wasn’t a bad option. The room was well appointed, clean, bed was very comfortable, plenty of storage. Bathroom has a curious design with a large window between the bedroom and bathroom, meaning that privacy is a little lacking. There is supposed to be a blind aimed at giving privacy but ours was missing which meant that there wasn’t a lot left to the imagination!
Lobby bar was very nice and drinks were good, very nice place to relax with plenty of seating and good music. Communal areas are very pleasant and well designed. Drinks and food are quite expensive 19 Euros for a bottle of Cava, 5 Euros for a small packet of Pringles from the room, 22 Euros for breakfast if you are on a room only basis.
Despite my gripes above, this hotel was a really good option for a weekend in Barcelona and we had a really enjoyable time there.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview or pool view room to avoid overlooking building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a holiday from fine dining in Michelin star restaurant to Champagne and Cocktails I think u could say we have done it all Barcelona what a City, we lived it up had a ball on holidays. I will treasure these holiday memories 4 ever had a great time with mum, nothing left to say except Ole ole Viva Espana see u next year . Suppose I should say a little more on the hotel I traveled her for 4 nights on the 16th June 2013 with my mum. I loved it excellent staff were so helpful. Really enjoyed the cocktail bar in the lobby. Dos Celios Michelin star restaurant superb the attention form waiters was great they really attended to our every need. I cant say the cuisine was exactly to my liking but it was defiantly an experience that will be memorable for all the right reasons. if you love Michelin stars then this is the restaurant for you. The restaurant in the lobby was also superb. The Me Hotel Barcelona is just heaven rooms are lovely as for a tip I don't think any of the rooms could be better although some mentioned they had see views. We looked out over the city and had some mountain views. if all rooms were like this I wouldn't have any complaints though next time perhaps I will up grade to a see view. Overall the hotel experience was fab , it's the sort of hotel where anything is possible. location is a bit far from Las ramblas but who cares tram metro public transport not to mention taxi rank outside the hotel, and with beautiful weather it's nice to walk and see a bit of the city. pool side bar very nice. It's great place 2 chill with a glass of vino after a hard day's shopping. I cant thank the staff enough for accommodating us so well especially the Cocktail barman Carlos defiantly deserves a mention for making our stay a memorable one, and a special thanks to Dos Celios for fitting us in to the restaurant when it was fully booked the rang us up and gave us a table at 8:30 great service thanks for accommodating us into you wonderful restaurant. we will defiantly be back next year :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassionfruitCutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#159 of 517 in Barcelona
2,459 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#107 of 517 in Barcelona
3,462 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#175 of 517 in Barcelona
3,738 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#68 of 517 in Barcelona
3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sky

Address: Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Barcelona Sky 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Architecture that staircases the sky; a beacon watching over an energetic cityscape-ME Barcelona Hotel offers a new interpretation to contemporary design, international cuisine, and the urban experience; fusing personal and professional into one emblematic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Me Hotel Barcelona
Melia Barcelona Sky Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing