We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry NOWAY a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sky
Ranked #190 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I'm writing this review from my room here at ME hotel. I've noticed the management at times responses to some of the trip adviser reviews so we shall see if they do this one while I am still checked in. Been here since Monday and I check out tomorrow Sunday.
Lets start with the good because we can't be all negative. The look of the hotel is very funky not a family feel hotel. Free wireless that works great. The AC in the room stays ice cold. The people working here are VERY friendly especially the front desk girl Goseea (Go see a) or Doseea( Do see a) not quit sure how to say it but the blond at the front desk. When I am not satisfied I can be very picky and see gave 100% kindness in return.
Now to the bad starting in the beginning. I pulled up to the curb in front of the building and there was no pull in like typical USA 4 or 5 star hotel. I unloaded bags and looked for someone to come out to help. No doorman there when inside I asked for help with bags they said he was busy. As I was checking in he finally appeared and helped me up to room. I asked for a extra luggage rack he said ok. 2 hours later I called from desk asked again. Finally 3rd time I called which was the next day I got it. Inside my room 2301 there was a big window maybe 5'x6' between the bath room and the rest of the room. So if you were on a first date weekend trip you could be seen doing a #2 by your date not cool. When I asked about it they said not all room have shades on this window. I decide to watch a movie but my payperview doesnt work. I call the front desk and tell them. 40 minutes later I call again. Finally 1 hour later I called for the 3rd time and they came. They tried to fix it but say I have to move rooms if I want payperview. I am not happy I had spend 30 minutes unpacking now I have to pack and unpack again on my vacation very let down. So now I move to room 1903 where I am sitting as I type. First thing I notice when I get to new room is a blind between the toilet room and the rest of the room trust me you would want this. But theres no shower door on shower. I take a shower it floods the bath room floor. I call the front desk AGAIN and they say well not all rooms have shower doors. LOL you can clearly see there was a door here and it had been broken and they just didnt replace it. ANY good 4 star or higher hotel would do this. They say we can move you to another room or bring a shower curtain. I decided just use extra towels on the floor. 2nd day here I have about 6 English channels on TV. I go to the gym and come back and have only 2 and they are news but now I have 3 porn channels up and running. I call front desk they send 2 people up. They tell me sorry we cant fix it so for next 48 hours all i have is NEWS. But this morning woke up porn is gone and other channels are back. Next complaint is there is NO CONCIERGE what 4 or 5 star hotel doesnt have a concierge? The front desk people who are also busy checking people in try to do this job. They have some basic ideas but when you get what they recommend and trip advisor the names, they rate very low? I have called the operator at least 5 times and got no answer and this is during business hours. I called the operator and said I would like to get RSVP for dinner she took the name and said she would book 5 hours later I come to find out she didnt do it. There is no clock in the room. There is also no turn down service. With my room came free breakfast and with this free breakfast I get cold eggs daily. Best thing about this hotel is the restaurant up stairs Dos Cielos its pricey but wow it was amazing. A must if you ever HAVE to stay at this want to be W hotel. Dont settle book the W Hotel not this spot.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 2,553 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank jamieparkins
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We paid to upgrade our room to "Sea"view. We checked into a room on the 9th floor and our view was of the adjacent buildings that were under construction. There was no view of the beach from our room. The front desk did not refund us for the upgrade we paid nor did they change our room to a higher floor. We spent 6 days looking at buildings under construction. We found one of the receptionist to be very rude. The rooms were not 5 star quality, very basic. The location was far from the inner Las Ramblas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRS876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The people working at the reception are pretentious. They think they are above their own guests. Even after informing them of an issue they say they will take care of it. But it never is. They make promises they cannot keep. When I asked at check-in if it was possible to have a room with a view of the sea I was told the hotel was fully booked. I then asked another receptionist and they said the hotel had rooms available.

When I arrived in my room and went to the mini bar for some water. I found that the previous guests had opened and left the 2 bottles half empty. In any hotel, the mini bar should be re-stocked and changed immediately when the room is prepared for the next guest.

The hallways seem to have a musty or mold smell to them despite this being a relatively new hotel. The conference rooms are located in the dark floors of -1. They have mold issues down there as one person who has a mold allergy had to be taken to hospital.

The food in the restaurant is nothing near 5 star. The food is closer to 2 star. Even I could cook better than their main chef. The only thing that is 5 star in the restaurant are the prices. The staff in the restaurant are very nice.

The hotel itself is 5KMs outside of the centre of Barcelona. If you are looking for a real 5 star hotel consider the W. It is right on the waterfront. The ME is about 7 blocks away or a 20 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atime4pleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent three days here as a suprise from wife for my birthday , from the minuete we arrived found the staff short and abrupt the rooms even though imaculate was very clean and bed huge and comfy ,the parking is 25 euros per day with no consessions for hotel stayers.
The location is probably a bit far from the main hustle of las ramblas .
If you like modern and minimalistic you'll love it if like me a more traditionalist them stay away no more than a very good 4*

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank digio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed here pre-cruise. The hotel was amazing. We enjoyed the view, the dining, the live music playing in the lobby. All-in-all, we had a great time.

Room Tip: I requested a high floor, but really, no rooms have a bad view. There was some construction in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regjr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Than you very much!!, That's great to know that you enjoyed that much your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!!!

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

As you'll see from the photos that other travellers have uploaded on here, the rooms are beautifully designed, I loved the novelty of being able to see my bedroom whilst brushing my teeth in the bathroom- plus it made the room feel so much bigger! I think they've used the space very cleverly with both the wardrobe and shower behind a sliding door. The bed was extremely comfortable, it was like laying on a cloud. The shower was large and very powerful, and the little complimentary toiletry bottles were welcomed- we we're even given mouthwash!
We had a view looking onto the Avenue Diagonal, and due to being so high up we had some beautiful views accross Barcelona. Sky bar is within the hotel in the lobby and the staff made me a couple of delicious cocktails, complete with a decorational strawberry.
The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the Poblenou metro (yellow line) which goes straight to the harbour area where most of the restaurants and bars are. It's also round the corner from the Pere IV tram stop which links to other mainline metro routes. Though it's not walking distance to the beach, you'll find yourself getting public transport anyway as the metro is so quick and handy to get from a to b. I would recommend getting a 3 day travelcard, or for however many days your there to use all types of transport, including trains.
I would love to return to Barcelona and stay here again, or maybe another Melia hotel somewhere accross the globe to compare it too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oakely52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

It is a pleasure to read a review like yours. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The next time you come to Barcelona, instead of use the public transport you could rent a bycicle with us, just ask to the staff of front desk and they will help you.

If you want to compare ME hotels accross the World you defenetly have to visit our two hotels in México, ME Cabo and ME Cancún. I’m sure you will also have an unforgettable experience!!

Looking forward to welcome you back at ME Barcelona!!

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#207 of 515 in Barcelona
3,038 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#146 of 515 in Barcelona
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#179 of 515 in Barcelona
3,639 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
3,186 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#332 of 515 in Barcelona
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sky

Address: Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $119 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Barcelona Sky 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Architecture that staircases the sky; a beacon watching over an energetic cityscape-ME Barcelona Hotel offers a new interpretation to contemporary design, international cuisine, and the urban experience; fusing personal and professional into one emblematic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Me Hotel Barcelona
Melia Barcelona Sky Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing