We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique place to chill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Barcelona Sky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sky
Ranked #193 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Unique place to chill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel ME located at a nice neighbourhood where it's within walking distance to beach and shopping area. I love my room as it comes with great sea view. I can even enjoy sunrise in my room :)
The bathroom is not really spacious but I love the rain shower and bathtub. Oh, and I love the coffee maker too. I enjoy having a nice cup of coffee every morning to start my day, and to have a nice cup of coffee after a long day walk.
The buffet breakfast is very good. A lot of variety to choose from, and you can eigher have your breakfast in the unique design restaurant, or at the outdoor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Aura Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments, please let us know when you are planning to come back, we will love to welcome you again!!!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    759
    335
    163
    98
See reviews for
271
1,081
73
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Yes, the hotel has a unique design and it was planned, designed and decorated excellently. It was a very comfortable stay. But I must agree with the other reviewers that the ME Barcelona can definitely do better at its service. One evening we ate the restaurant and it took for ever to order, to get the food and even to get the check!

Great location.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNut1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Aura Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction during your recent stay with us.
Comments like yours stimulate us to improve our services every day. I also would like to apologise for any inconvenience that we may caused to you due to the slow service at our restaurant, we will follow up on this incident.
Thanking you again for your time and your comments, and looking forward to welcome you back soon!!!

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

My company held a convention here in Barcelona and this is where we stay. This hotel is not ready to cater a full house of guest; lack of elevator and staff on duty, limited breakfast area. The lobby turns into bar/dance house at night. Ball room sound system not covering well for the entire room. The pool lounge is quite ok at night though. The rooms; bathroom not spacious, window can't open to view and it's blocked with fenced(due to design of hotel), light control system is extremely complicated ( I stayed 4 nights still couldn't figure out which is which). Wifi for free.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevocalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Aura Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel and the services rendered during your last stay at Me Barcelona. Critical yet constructive feedback like yours only help us to continuously improve on our errors and ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.
Thanking you again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back to Me Barcelona.

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed twice at this hotel, first time in July and second time this week end and we won't come back. In July we noticed that the service was poor and not at the level of the 5 stars hotel. But the hotel was beautiful and well situated, so we decided to come back. Actually, we had several problems in July and even more this week end( October). In July we stayed at 13th floor and the water was awfully cold all the time, it was impossible to take a shower, I'm not even talking about the bath. The water in the swimming pool was cold too, but when it is hot, it's not such a big problem. The room service took 3 hours. Once we could not enter the swimming pool floor because of the so called private party, we just did not understand why we cannot use the amenities we pay for. As it wAs indicated by someone, there are a lot of strange girls in the lobbies ( we even thought they were prostitutes because of their outfit).
But we lved the design of the hotel and it's situation not far from the sea and far from las ramblas.
So, we come back in October. As for the first time we came with a little dog of two kilos. It is important to highlight that in July we did not have any problem because of the dog. At the same time they charge the dog's stay 50 euros a day, so, normally there should not be any problems. But this time, while having our breakfast the second day of our stay, we were aggressively told to go out to eat on the terrass with our dog (the first day nobody told us nothing). When I told the manager, that we are staying for the second time and the previous time we could eat with our dog, he said that it was a mistake (a mistake which lasted 4 days however). And he also told me in a very aggressive manner that I should be happy that they accept my dog. He probably forgot that it costed 50 euros (It's the first hotel where we were obliged to pay a supplement for the dog ). I would not bother you with details, I just want to conclude that this is not a dog friendly hotel, not a 5 star hotel and I certainly chose somewhere else to stay in Barcelona NeXT Time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Aura Experience Team at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel and the services rendered during your last stay at Me Barcelona. Critical yet constructive feedback like yours only help us to continuously improve on our errors and ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.
I would like to clarify that we are indeed a "Pet Friendly Hotel" but in order to respect our other guests, the access for these pets is ONLY forbidden on the restaurants or any outlet where we served food and as I mentioned before this is only to respect ALL our clients with or without pets.
Thanking you again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back to Me Barcelona.

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Just got back from Barcelona and we LOVED this hotel. We stayed on the Level, and the service and rooms were great. Your on the higher floors with the Level, and we had sea views that were beautiful. Food and alcoholic drinks served all day, and the staff cannot do enough for you.
Love how modern this hotel is, along with the motorized curtains, great lighting and modern rooms and bathrooms. Love that there is no carpet on the floors of the rooms as then there are no grimey, nasty carpet under your feet, just the clean white floors.
We always stay in the more residential parts of town when we are on holiday, as we hate being slap bang in the middle of the touristy restaurants etc., This was a great decision in Barcelona. There is a street 2 blocks away full of local bars and restaurants....so much better than Las Ramblas.
You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Aura Experience Team at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Wooooooow... That's awesome review too!!!!, Thank you very much for taking the time to share with the world your experience with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed that much and hope to see you in the next future again in any of our locations. Please do not hesitate to contact our Aura Experience Team who will be delighted to take care of you!!! Thank you once again!!!

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here for one night pre-cruise on 24th September. We deliberately chose to stay out of the city centre as we had a 25 hr flight and wanted to stay somewhere quiet. We arrived at 9am with two exhausted teenagers and the staff could not have done more to assist us. They allowed the kids to stretch out and sleep on the sofas in the main reception area (very comfortable ones!) while they prepared rooms for us-which only took an hour and a half-exceptional given they were almost full and check out is not until 12.oopm. The concierge was extremely helpful in giving us general tourist information and directions. We ate dinner in the ground flooe reatuarant and it was delicious and reasonably priced and again the staff were very friendly and helpful. It's only a short-10 minute walk to the beach and numerous cafes at Pobleu Nou.Trams and buses run from outside the front of the hotel into the city centre and it takes around 15 mins on each. We were lucky to get a great rate for our night's stay -$165 Au and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietourist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Aura Experience Team at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Hello there!!!!
That's a wonderful review!!!!, Thank you very much for taking the time to share with the world your experience with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed that much and hope to see you in the next future again in any of our locations. Please do not hesitate to contact our Aura Experience Team who will be delighted to take care of you!!! Thank you once again!!!

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

The hotel is modern, clean and offers many of the amenities found in a five star resort at a tremendous rate. They have a stunning patio, we sat in the patio alone in the evening paying $12 for a glass of wine. It falls short in a poor location outside the city center(Santi Marti area on some maps). The rooms are unique but small. Phone services are contracted out and a local call is the same rate as an international one. Rates can vary from 170-200+ euros/ night. There are much better finds out there closer to the city center. If you go, ask for a room away from the daily construction.

Room Tip: away from the construction side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacati0nnati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Aura Experience Team at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel and the services rendered during your last stay at Me Barcelona. Critical yet constructive feedback like yours only help us to continuously improve.
Thanking you again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back to Me Barcelona.

Warm regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#91 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,912 reviews
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#251 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sky

Property: Melia Barcelona Sky
Address: Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Barcelona Sky 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Architecture that staircases the sky; a beacon watching over an energetic cityscape-ME Barcelona Hotel offers a new interpretation to contemporary design, international cuisine, and the urban experience; fusing personal and professional into one emblematic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Me Hotel Barcelona
Melia Barcelona Sky Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing