We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Albergue New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergue New York
Ranked #568 of 729 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in the hostel for 5 nights, and had a private twin room. For the five nights, we paid 230€, which was 23€ a night per person.

The room had a bunk bed, and 2 lockers. The lockers were big enough that we could both put all of our stuff in one of the lockers (we bought the lock on the reception for 3€). The bunk bed was okay, even though one of the bed boards was broken on the upper bunk, and it felt a bit uncomfty at first, but it wasn't too bad and I got used to it. The lower bunk was fine. The bed was a bit squeeky, but nothing tragic.
You need sheets or a sleeping bag for the beds. You can get sheets on the reception for 2€ a person per stay. We found this quite cheap and very useful, even though my sheets had a little cigarette burn hole in it.
Besides that, there is nothing else in the room, but if you're a traveler, who only uses his hostel room for sleeping during days full of sightseeing and wandering around, you probably won't mind. We didn't.
The room also had a tiny balcony, which is shared with another room.

Everyday someone comes in the room and cleans it, and during that time you mustn't be in the room. I'm not sure if that someone also sweeps and cleans the floor or just empties the trash, but the room was very clean, and we were pleased with that.

The showers and toilets are shared.
There is a shower for men and a shower for women on every floor. The showers are a bit tricky, since you have to figure out how to adjust to water to the right warmth, but once you do, it's okay. They have plastic curtains, and you hang your clothes in the bathroom, right outside the shower. I was glad to see that the showers and the bathrooms were always very clean. I was hoping for that, but truthfuly, due to previous experience in other hostels, wasn't really expecting it, so I was pleasantly surprised!
The toilets were also always very clean, and always had toilet paper.

You also get breakfast everyday during 8.30 am and 10.30 am. You get a croissant, a muffin and two pieces of toast, and then you can choose butter, marmelade, honey or chocolate spread to go with it. You also get to choose something to drink - they have different warm beverages (milk, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, cocoa) and juices (pineapple, orange, apple). The breakfast really isn't all that, but it's good enough to get you started and keep you going until lunch.
The first morning there was a middle-aged lady who handed out breakfast, and she seemed a bit grumpy, but on the other mornings there was a young bohemian man, who was nicer.

The hostel is open 24 hours. You buzz a bell to get in, so I think the security is okay. At least we felt our things were secure, when we were out of the hostel - they were locked in a locker, which was locked in our room, which was in a hostel you had to ring to get into.

The reception staff is very friendly too, we especially liked the young lady with curly hair and glasses. We asked about some info about a museum, and she was glad to help. The other two receptionist were also nice, and one of them speaks amazingly good english.

The hostel also has a common room (with books and board games), kitchen (can be used from 6 pm to 10 pm), and two computers with free internet, which can be used from 8 am to 11 pm. The hostel has 5 stories, and an elevator, so you don't have to walk if you don't want to.

The location of the hostel is great, just about 8 minutes of walk to La Rambla, Estatua de Colon and the Dressanes metro station, 3 minutes of walk to via Laietana and about 7 minutes to the Jaume I metro station. The street, where the hostel is, has a lot of bars, but we were on the third floor (room 302!), and there wasn't much noise. There was a little, but nothing that would prevent us sleeping.

We feel that we spent our money on the hostel well, since it was good, with great location, and reasonably cheap in comparison to other hostels with such good location. If (when!) we return to Barcelona, we would gladly stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flafi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    30
    24
    11
See reviews for
10
25
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in the hostel for 5 nights, and had a private twin room. For the five nights, we paid 230€, which was 23€ a night per person.

The room had a bunk bed, and 2 lockers. The lockers were big enough that we could both put all of our stuff in one of the lockers (we bought the lock on the reception for 3€). The bunk bed was okay, even though one of the bed boards was broken on the upper bunk, and it felt a bit uncomfty at first, but it wasn't too bad and I got used to it. The lower bunk was fine.
You need sheets or a sleeping bag for the beds. You can get sheets on the reception for 2€ a person per stay. We found this quite cheap and very useful, even though my sheets had a little cigarette burn hole in it.
Besides that, there is nothing else in the room, but if you're a traveler, who only uses his hostel room for sleeping during days full of sightseeing and wandering around, you probably won't mind. We didn't.
The room also had a tiny balcony, which is shared with another room.

Everyday someone comes in the room and cleans it, and during that time you mustn't be in the room. I'm not sure if that someone also sweeps and cleans the floor or just empties the trash, but the room was very clean, and we were pleased with that.

The showers and toilets are shared.
There is a shower for men and a shower for women on every floor. The showers are a bit tricky, since you have to figure out how to adjust to water to the right warmth, but once you do, it's okay. They have plastic curtains, and you hang your clothes in the bathroom, right outside the shower. I was glad to see that the showers and the bathrooms were always very clean. I was hoping for that, but truthfuly, due to previous experience in other hostels, wasn't really expecting it, so I was pleasantly surprised!
The toilets were also always very clean, and always had toilet paper.

You also get breakfast everyday during 8.30 am and 10.30 am. You get a croissant, a muffin and two pieces of toast, and then you can choose butter, marmelade, honey or chocolate spread to go with it. You also get to choose something to drink - they have different warm beverages (milk, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, cocoa) and juices (pineapple, orange, apple). The breakfast really isn't all that, but it's good enough to get you started and keep you going until lunch.
The first morning there was a middle-aged lady who handed out breakfast, and she seemed a bit grumpy, but on the other mornings there was a young bohemian man, who was nicer.

The hostel is open 24 hours. You buzz a bell to get in, so I think the security is okay. At least we felt our things were secure, when we were out of the hostel - they were locked in a locker, which was locked in our room, which was in a hostel you had to ring to get into.

The reception staff is very friendly too, we especially liked the young lady with curly hair and glasses. We asked about some info about a museum, and she was glad to help. The other two receptionist were also nice, and one of them speaks amazingly good english.

The hostel also has a common room (with books and board games), kitchen (can be used from 6 pm to 10 pm), and two computers with free internet, which can be used from 8 am to 11 pm. The hostel has 5 stories, and an elevator, so you don't have to walk if you don't want to.

The location of the hostel is great, just about 8 minutes of walk to La Rambla, Estatua de Colon and the Dressanes metro station, 3 minutes of walk to via Laietana and about 7 minutes to the Jaume I metro station. The street, where the hostel is, has a lot of bars, but we were on the third floor (room 302!), and there wasn't much noise. There was a little, but nothing that would prevent us sleeping.

We feel that we spent our money on the hostel well, since it was good, with great location, and reasonably cheap in comparison to other hostels with such good location. If (when!) we return to Barcelona, we would gladly stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flafi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I had a booking for three nights in Albergue New York. I reached Barcelona late night in the month of May and the condition of the room (Twin room) was tragic. It was extremely warm in the summer month and the room came with a very small window which opened to another building so there was no supply of fresh air. The bunk beds made creaky sound and was extremely dirty. I had to trip the pillow out of its cover as it was full of hair and sleep on my towel spread. The top bunk was extremely small with no side bars so it is extremely dangerous. There was just one small cupboard for the two of us where we could only put in our wallets, watches etc and the luggage had to be kept on the floor. The hostel is not in a very convenient location either. Of course it is a 10 minutes walk from La Ramblas however it is in a very narrow lane which I dint consider safe. The receptionist was nice and cordial and there is a lift as well however we could not have considered staying in such a crummy hostel so We moved out the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Upasana87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

As this is a hostel you get bunk beds and not much in the room. But if you go for 2 - 3 nights it's just fine. In the very city centre, close to everything you might be looking for. Staff ok, free internet, tiny and quite funny breakfast but overall had a good stay! You can hear everything from the other rooms so watch out! Would return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAdvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The place is not very clean. Is well located but is very difficult to find it for the first time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Located in the middle of the Gothic quarter, in close proximity to the beach, a metro station, a post office, las Ramblas, and numerous restaurants, bars and pubs, New York is the low-priced place to stay at (includes a kitchen, comfy beds, internet all day long, faultless hygiene, and ventilator). It is most likely safer than any place around Las Ramblas.

If you don't mind the lack of luxury and if you’re not a whining crybaby, GO FOR IT for it is delightful and the ideal youth hostel to meet other backpackers of your style.
Given that Barcelona is a fantastic/eventful place; you will not waste loads of time in your room (good thing when take into consideration its prison-like looks).

You might wake up because of noisy, late home comers, but have some travelling/backpackers spirit. Everyone likes to party and at some point you will be the one waking up the others. So don’t make a fuss and enjoy the place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Lietar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Poprooms Barcelona
Poprooms Barcelona
#298 of 729 in Barcelona
107 reviews
El Raval
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
#551 of 729 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Sun & Moon Hostel
Sun & Moon Hostel
#508 of 729 in Barcelona
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Ideal Youth Hostel
Ideal Youth Hostel
#322 of 729 in Barcelona
297 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Arc House
Arc House
#138 of 729 in Barcelona
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergue New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue New York

Property: Albergue New York
Address: Calle d'en Gignas 6, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 729 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Albergue New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue New York Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing