We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent apartment hotel in reasonable location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartaments Suites Independencia
Ranked #129 of 305 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent apartment hotel in reasonable location”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed here for a second year during Mobile World Congress. The location is reasonable. On the plus side, its on the same block as the Encants metro station, close to the Sagrada Familia and in a reasonably tidy neighbourhood. On the minus, it's a metro ride to see pretty much anything, and while there are convenience stores very close by, shopping and dining options in the area are scant.

The apartments themselves are clean and tidy, with a decent kitchen and bathroom. Shower was over-the-bath type. Television was tiny and showed only free-to-air Spanish and Catalan language TV.

Bed arrangement was a queen size in one room, and two single beds in a cramped second room (off the lounge). Anyone over 6'/182cm would find the single bed too short.

A minor irritation was the wireless internet access which was out of action for an entire afternoon, and which was a bit of a show-stopper for a business trip.

There is more than one person who staffs the desk for checkins/checkouts, and one of them was friendly and helpful, the other quite the opposite.

I can't comment too much on value, every single hotel in Barcelona exploits the MWC conference for massive price gouging, and this hotel also appeared to be much more expensive than usual during the conference. I'd hate to be a tourist looking for accomodation in Barcelona during MWC; in fact, I'd avoid the city during the conference.

Room Tip: All apartments have rooms facing both the street and internal courtyard, so no advantage booking one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Spent there a couple of days.
The neighbourhood is very safe and nice: lots of local people, close to the metro station, central, lots of shops etc,
The flat was very big and quite clean, all new and well finished. If you are 2-3 people it's fine otherwise you will need extra coutlery.and crockery.
The only, heavy bad note was the service: you do not have a 24hrs reception, one guy could speak only spanish, and one guy was toally rude and unprofessional.
It's a shame because the apart-hotel would be a good place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lioulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Spacious appartments at a very convenient location (metro station Encants is at the end of the street, and several supermarkets are nearby). There is daily roomcleaning with fresh towels, shampoo, etc.
You can check in until 10PM, after that you have to go to another adress to get you key (on their own website they say there is 24h reception, but there is no one there, you can phone to another reception, I think another hotel of the same owner).

+:
- Convenient location
- Bright and spacious apartment
- Daily roomservice
- Abolutely worth the price per night, compared to other accomodation in Barcelona

-:
- The appartment is quite noisy. Not the streets noise, but noise from the other appartments.
- Roomcleaning is available till 12.00, so you have to leave your appartment before that time in order to get fresh towels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FemkeNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I will say like that: Quite Expensive but ... I can pay such a money for 3 nights - 245 Euro for that standard Well equipped kitchen but Guy from reception was hmmm let's say very In polite and Rude .... (Independencia 287 because few meters form that one is other Independencia 297 which can be confusing for the others and Taxi Drivers....)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GEGEKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peckham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My girlfriend and i stayed for 3 nights in the suites, we arrived after 10pm so needed to go to the marina apartments to check in and pick up the key cards. Unfortunately the key card we picked up did not work back at the suites, but after a quick call from the reception telephone a replacement was sent via a taxi.

The room 1.2 was really spacious, and had everything we needed, the Encants tube is only 3 mins away so access via the metro is extremely easy.

Overall, a very well priced place to stay in the heart of the City....that we would recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olijaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birr, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was the first time I booked an apartment in Barcelona and was delighted with my choice. We had a spacious one-bedroomed apartment with plenty of mod cons including diswasher! Close to Encants metro station and also to Clot. El Clot is nearby also which has a direct rail link to the airport. It was not the easiest to find but wort it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmerDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We loved staying at these appartments, it gave us the extra freedom we like to come and go as we please, and chill out away from the City and at an amazing rate of 50Euros a night (this was a special winter offer). Although we only booked for a single bedroom, we got a 2 bedroom appt which was huge!!!, we were concerned that being in Jan it would be cold as it was so big, but it was well heated and we were able to change the thermostat if we needed. We also found that the appartment wasn't over run with equipment but certainly enough to cope, and it was all ultra modern, the only thing they could have provided is some info on the area and the City itself, as the appartments are in a seperate building to the reception there's no-one around to give you tips and advice.

The area is great, felt really safe with some nice cafes and bars around. We couldn't believe how easy it was to get there, we got the Aerobus to the Universitat stop, then the metro from there (L2 line) and it was about 5 stops to Encants, if you leave the station by the left hand exit you don't even need to cross a road as the appartments are around the corner (from stepping off the plane we were there within an hour). You are also only 4 blocks from Sagrada Familia, easily in walking distance. It felt really safe even when we came back at night (as did the whole City). There is a "minimart" across the road (closes at 9pm) but loads of other little corner shops open 'til late.

We would definitely recommend this, especially if you're in a group of have a family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topperz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Aparthotel Napols
Aparthotel Napols
#263 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Apartaments Marina
#276 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Alguera Apartments Industria
#270 of 722 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MH Apartments S. Familia
#200 of 722 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Petit Hotel
#60 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
BcnStop Sagrada Familia
#212 of 722 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartaments Suites Independencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartaments Suites Independencia

Property: Apartaments Suites Independencia
Address: Independencia, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartaments Suites Independencia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Apartaments Suites Independencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartaments Suites Independencia Hotel Barcelona
Apartaments Suites Independencia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing