We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all worth it.. Shady management.. Horrible customer treatment”
Review of Gabriel la Rambla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gabriel la Rambla
Ranked #259 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not at all worth it.. Shady management.. Horrible customer treatment”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Upon arrival to Barcelona, we went to the address on the website and after finally finding it, we were informed that it was in fact not the actual address we were staying at. When we finally got to the right place, we were directed inside by a man who didn't even work there. The woman who was suppose to be present was not there. We reserved a room with 2 twin beds and a private bath. He was trying to give us a room that we didn't reserve because he didn't know which room was suppose to be ours. UNORGANIZED.. Of course I refused, and wanted to wait for the lady who actually knew what room we were suppose to have. Well once she arrived she demanded we pay in cash for the 3 nights we planned on staying, all upfront.. So we did.. Later on that night when we got back to the room, we realized the wireless was not working and non of the tv's actually functioned.. we called her and she said she would try to call someone else to see if they can fix the wifi.. Never happened... then she said that tv's don't work b.c it's not included, they are just for show basically..
** We also realized that our bed comforter was covered in blonde hair..Neither my friend nor I have blonde hair so clearly the room was not cleaned properly upon our arrival. Then when I pulled the sheets back I discovered a small bug inside them.. We called the girl who we paid earlier that day and she gave our number to the cleaning lady who in Spanish told us, "she didn't have time to clean the room before we arrived"... ALTHOUGH we booked the room 2 weeks in advance, she didn't have enough notice.. So instead of them just telling us upon arrival that the room is not ready yet because it needs to be cleaned, they gave us a dirty room. I understand its a CHEAP hostel but I've stayed at hostel's before and I've had clean sheets and blankets at least.. We went looking for a hotel to stay in but most of them were all booked for Friday night, we had to wait until Saturday to move to a different place. So I slept in a wooden chair for the majority of the night fearing the thought of bed bugs. The next morning we informed them of our move and they refused to give us our money back for the 2 nights we were not going to be staying there.. NO WHERE in the website or the confirmation email does it say anything about a nonrefundable room.. But they still refused to give us our money.
Then a week later, they tried to charge my friend $176 on his credit card with NO authorization from my friend, for a pair of keys that my friend doesn't even have.. They leave their keys in the doors where they are in reach of anyone who happens to be staying in the hostel.. I would stay away from this place at all costs, its not worth it.. The people are crazy and will find anyway to take your money. Staying at a 1 or 2 star hotel is much better, you pay at the END of your stay so there is no chance of getting robbed of your money if you decide you aren't going to stay for as long as you planned & in a hotel you know your room is actually being cleaned daily.. There is a nice Hotel on La Rambla, 2 stars that we would recommend. Gabriel is run by very shady management and is not one bit professional at all.. Don't bother

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    22
    11
    28
See reviews for
10
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

It's easy to be put off by Gabriel's emails, for they are nothing but long-winded and nitpicky sets of instructions bereft of even the slightest trace of politeness (not at all helped by the proprietor's penchant for capitalising words and whole sentences, which, as most people will know, is the internet equivalent to shouting). Thankfully when we finally met him in person Gabriel turned out to be the very opposite of the person we had expected and dreaded. In addition to demonstrating the usage of his coffeemaker he also spent a good twenty minutes recommending a few restaurants (one of which turned out to be nothing short of stellar) and sites, as well as the various ways of reaching them, over a map that he promptly gave us upon finishing.

We had booked the cheapest room, but because none were available Gabriel simply assigned us a more expensive one that faced out onto the street. The room was large, clean and airy, and although a bit spartan (it did not have a closet) it was tastefully furnished in a rather hip style that complemented the rest of the apartment. The room came complete with a television set and refrigerator, as well as an excellent little balcony that's perfect for smoking on.

Every two days we were given two boxes of juice and two packages of pastries and croissants to supplement the free-for-all drinks and snacks available in the kitchen. As it's a service apartment you're required to prepare your own breakfast and wash up any cups or dishes you've been using, which we didn't at all mind. As others have noted there's no lift, which can be offputting for people who are unable or unwilling to negotiate a couple flights of stairs. The main bathroom is spacious and ultra-clean, but marred by the fact that it's meant to be shared by the occupants of the entire floor (four or five rooms in all). Thankfully there's another, smaller restroom that consists only of a toilet. Everything is provided for in the main bathroom, including different brands of shampoo and shaving cream, as well as a hair dryer; except towels (you're expected to bring your own).

Finding the place is painlessly easy: after exiting the Drassanes metro station we simply turned left and walked a few paces to discover the Carrer Ample. And on our first try too, to boot. While the location isn't central for those who expect to see the Sacrada Familia opposite the street, for us it's perfect, being close enough to just about everywhere to walk to in the Ciutat Vella (and even Gracia and the end of the Diagonal if you're willing) without having to rely on public transportation. Unlike some other reviewers we found the area both quaint (lots of restaurants, tapas bars and convenience stores) and safe (we stayed out late and never once felt nervous or threatened). As such we found the apartment excellent for those wishing to while away the nighttime hours by the waterfront or at the many streetside bars around the Barri Gotic.

Our experiences in Barcelona were extraordinary, and a lot of it can be put down to the privacy and rest Gabriel afforded us - while reminiscing our travels over a couple of beers my friend and I both concluded that this is the place to stay when visiting the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phetsarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Gabriel B&B, Barcelona

We arrived at the address given to us in the contract (24 Carrer Ample) only to be told that we had been allocated a room in a different location. The B&B at Carrer Escudellers was no better than a cheap hostel and we did not feel comfortable or safe staying there.

On insisting that we wanted a better room or a refund we were sent back to the address originally on our contract (Carrer Ample), having first been treated very rudely by the owner. The owner has no people skills and speaks little English but since between us we speak Spanish and Italian we thought we could overcome the language barrier but he was equally rude to us nevertheless.

The B&B at best is a glorified hostel; the rooms are not at all as shown on the website, the building at Escudellers is very run down and shabby. The main building at Ample is better presented but the rooms are basic and even Barcelonans told us that we should not be walking around in those areas on our own at night (thankfully the taxis were cheap).

The towels and shower gel etc were not included in the price (as stated on the website) and breakfast was a meagre affair of dry supermarket croissants and juice left over from previous stays. There are cooking facilities but the kitchen is so small at Ample that one would not like to be cooking in there. Both locations are noisy at night and the area of Escudellers is currently a building site.

Having lived in Barcelona for a year, I would advice that for slightly less money one can stay in a hostel in a central location (Ample is not central) or for slightly more money one could stay in a hotel. This B&B has good reviews because it is cheap but honestly the quality is diabolical therefore it does not merit the high ranking it has.

The entire enterprise seems a bit shady as the owner, Gabriel, would not tell us where his office was and would not come to meet us directly when we wanted to discuss money. He transferred my booking payment back to me via paypal and then took cash for a change of room – all to save himself administration charges.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GandA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBGabriel, Proprietario at Gabriel la Rambla, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Google Translation
questo cliente è violando le linee guida in quanto: Il cliente sta scrivendo comento piu personali che obbiettivi e screditando gli altri comentari come se gli altri commentari sono falsi. E evidente che vuole solo danneggiare piu che decrivere oggettivamente le nostre strutture.
queto cliente ha riservato nel b&B in passatge del escudellers pero è andata in carrer ample dove ci sono altri B&B e il prodotto no è lo stesso di passtge del escudellers. Inoltre non ha pagato la special formula prepaid e la sua riserva è stat cancelata. Io solo per gentilezza gli ho conseguito la camera nel mio b6B in passatge dels escudellers. Questo cliente ha visto l'edificio bellissimo di carrer ample ed è voluta per forza andare in carrer ample....e io ho dovuto cambiare tutte le riserve per questa cliente. Ritengo il giudizio totalmente personale e non oggettivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This review is a little late, but one I feel is worth writing.

I always try to take one solo, budget vacation per year. The point is not luxury, but just to have some time to my myself for a comfortbale 3-5 day trip. Last year I chose Barcelona and Gabriel la Rambla helped make the trip just perfect for me.

This not really a hotel. It is an apartment, owned by Gabriel, that he rents rooms out to travelers in. First thing, Gabriel is a great guy and really make you feel comfortable there. I could never tell if he actually lived there or not, but he was always available to help out and treats you like a guest should be treated.

The room itself is clean. Nothing extravagant, but for the price, it was fantastic. I had a clean & comfortable bed, in a room that I could lock make things away in, with free WiFi. Basically, it was everything I needed & wanted. The bathroom was clean and there were always snacks in the kitchen each morning for breakfast.

The location was quite good. 10 minute walk to La Rambla with plenty of restaurants. 20 minute walk to Barcelona beach. For my itinerary of reading on the beach in the day and hanging out in a pub at night, it was perfect. The only downside was the walk back to the room at night. The apartment is down some very dark and isolated side-streets off La Rambla. One two occasions, I got quite nervous walking back to the room alone. If it is after dark, strongly recommend you take a taxi.

Highly recommended if you are on a budget and want a clean, reliable place to stay; it is a much better option than a hostel. I am considering repeating the same trip again this year and I will definitely be booking Gabriel la Rambla again if I do.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrussellpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I stayed for 10 days at Gabriel B&B and although the building is architecture is fantastic, I would not recommend this place. It is essentially one slightly crazy guy who has rented a large apartment and is illegally running a B&B out of it. He sends insane emails to you once you've booked the place through travel websites being demanding and rude with no understanding of English and all the guests are not bcc'd on the list. He doesn't confirm when you've paid in full in advance. He is paranoid about everything and the food he supplies is bad: plastic wrapped stale croissant.

Then he sends you an elaborate several page email with instructions on how to get to the place - tells you to send a text to him when you get to the airport and that he'll meet you somewhere, rather than just coming to 24 Carrer Ample where it is located. I think this is only to protect himself from officials who probably want to crack down on him for running an illegal B&B.

So then he doesn't respond to the SMS sent so that by the time you get there, you think you've been ripped off b/c you wired all your money to a Russian person. Then he greets you angry for sending multiple texts b/c you're a foreigner meeting someone in a strange place.

Then once you're there, our room faced a noisy alley. Noisy isn't even the right word. Horrendous. With earplugs you can still hear all the drunk people in the street partying all night long. And then the other guests who are in a room next door, with a barely sealed pocket door so their cigarettes and noise flow easily between the rooms.

It was also extremely warm when we there - but that's not the fault of the proprietor.

They ran out of toilet paper when I was there and so I had to email him to get him to stock up.

The only thing I really liked about the place was the very sweet cleaning lady who was helpful and kind. Other than that, it's dreadful...and it doesn't have to be - if the owner would just brush up on his hotel management skills. I even offered to help him re-write his instructions b/c I believe half of the problem is that he has poor English skills. He wouldn't accept the offer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thistleflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2010

This is a great place to stay to explore Barcelona from. My husband and I had a fantastic time and the hosts were fantastic. We went for anniversary and had flowers and Prosecco for our arrival. The rooms are a really nice mix of old and new and are very relaxing. The location is great for exploring Barcelona. There are alot of steps to the apartment but you soon get used to it and the rooms are well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMoncks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cagliari
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

B&B Gabriel is very nice and it is a really B&B, It was the most welcoming place I had ever been before.We had great fan and relaxing time. This B&B afforded me to feel Barselona all my soul. Great thanks. PS/Close to the hotel are few exellent restaurants- my recommendation) if you're on a budget and want to be in a central location this is The Place. The owner, Gabriel, is very welcoming and has lots of advice and information on the city!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
ILUNION Auditori
ILUNION Auditori
#297 of 513 in Barcelona
1,000 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#132 of 513 in Barcelona
2,603 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#159 of 513 in Barcelona
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona Rooms
Barcelona Rooms
#135 of 308 in Barcelona
254 reviews
Eixample
Casa Maca Guest House
Casa Maca Guest House
#128 of 308 in Barcelona
277 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#106 of 308 in Barcelona
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabriel la Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriel la Rambla

Property: Gabriel la Rambla
Address: Carrer Ample 24, 3a-1a | Carrer Ample 24, 3a-1a, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Gabriel la Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel La Rambla Hotel Barcelona
Gabriel La Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing