We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the convenience of home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MH Apartments Family
Ranked #245 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed September 22, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We loved the location but we were a short walk from Sagrada Familia. We loved being in an apartment and not a hotel room since we were travelling with 2 kids. The apartments were much more cost effective. Supermarket was just around the corner. Other cafes were just steps from the front door. There was a LOT of noise form the street and also from the apartment upstairs. We called the manager in the middle of the night twice to take care of the noise avove us and it finally stopped. My only complaint was HARD furniture. But we do understand this is common for Europe. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Do not stay along the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BinkyandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a very bad experience at this place. First, there it is hard to find. A small note on a locked door. There is no rection there, and it took someone over 45 min to show up. He was unpleassant, claimed that he called us and sent us email, both we have not recieved, and charged us €20 for being late. We waited him 45 min!
There is no wifi in 2012!
The apartment was extremely hot, and there is air condition only in the dining room, with almost no air getting to the sleeping rooms.
Clraningness was mediocre.

Talking to the office about our frustration with the recption and info was upseting too. They are not saying the truth, and are no reliable.

Stat away from the multiple apartment nuilding this company has. It is less expensive with a reason.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ahva63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear client,

First of all we want to thank you for having booked in MH Apartments. We are a company of more than 100 apartments in 10 buildings located in Barcelona. We are sorry if you don't feel fine during your stay. We were trying to find your booking but we did not find it, could you please inform us about your journey dates and booking name if it's possible? We want to check personally that everything was OK at your apartment. Moreover, during the booking process the agency you booked the apartment they must let you know that there is no reception at the building and that you must contact us one week before to let us know your approx time of arrival and the day of arrival you must call to arrange the meeting at the apartment and don't have to wait outside. About the 20 €, yes it's that correct that we charge to all the clients 20 € for arrivals after 8 pm. That's information which the agency must inform you. About the services that we provide, we apoligise if you don't get well the information, but in the apartment there is free wifi (users and passwords are in the apartment). About the aircon, there is air conditioning in all the apartment: living rooms, bedrooms, bathroom...

But anyway we felt sorry when clients are not feeling well during their stay because our purpose is always to get happy all our clients. We invite you if you have the chance to come back to Barcelona and try other of our apartments by contacting directly with us.

As you can see, the other comments we received on any of the other buildings in the chain are very good and we want you and your family to experience the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our apartments in the future we hope is not far away.

Sergio Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We decided to stay in an apartment style hotel versus a typical hotel since we were a big group. We were 8 adults with 6 kids. We booked 3 2-bedroom apartments with MH Apartments. Booking was a breeze and they were able to reply to our emails regarding their location. Problem was, it was our first time in Barcelona. And when we requested for a pick-up from the train station (we were coming in from Madrid) they said that they do not provide it and that we could just take the metro since the apartment was just a few blocks away from the Sagrada Station. It would have helped if they said that 1) there were no elevators or escalators at the train station and we had to lift our luggage up and down at least 2 flights of stairs. 2) they could have offered to give us a reputable transportation company that we could have contacted to pick us up at the train station. But since we had to do all the heavy lifting of our bags, we can just warn future travelers on the pitfalls on taking the metro to the apartment if you have luggage like we did.

The apartment was everything it said in its website. It had a kitchen where we cooked our daily breakfast before exploring the city. A washing machine and dryer. It had a t.v. but no english speaking channels so it was really no use to us. The rooms were a little small, we had no choice but to put our luggage and clothes at the living room since the closet was also small. Our bathroom door did not lock so we had to leave our slippers outside the door to indicate that someone was inside the bathroom. For the 2 bedroom apartment, I could safely say that only 4 adults (no kids) could have a comfortable stay.

There were a lot of restaurants and bakeries around the area, so eating out was not a problem. There was also a grocery about a block away where we bought our basic needs.

All in all, if you are not looking for the comforts of a hotel and will be fine roughing it a little on your vacation, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trecev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Location: excellent, someone said that rooms are noisy, but we didn't see that as a problem altought we stayd in 3rd floor apartment and there was winebar downstairs. The only "problem" was the fact that the hotel wasn't in the central so basically we just slept at the room. Luckily our baby was able to sleep in travel trolley and below the trolley was room for stuf needed for one day. Metrostop and hop on hoff busstop were near the church, also several grocerystores, bank automat and little shop where to get fresh croisants were near the apartment. TIP if you want to visit sagrada familia you need to be in queque already before the church open altought the queque will be to the mcdonalds. if you are staying near the church like us, we were able to visit the church after 6pm and at that time there isn't queque anymore!

Room: plenty of room for us :D great kitchen and good beds. Baby cot was in the room as agreed. Baby cot had seen its best days but at least our baby slept well in it.

Cleaning: this makes lower the overall score... ourbaby was crowling in the floor and after first evening we decided to clean the floor! Plus there were ants that had made home to the wall so there was "sand" all overall :/ that was the second reason why we cleaned because we were afraid that there might be poison for ants. Also coffee maker and electric kettle were messy and we decided just warm up the water in the microwawe for morning coffee :( microwawe and dishwasher worked well :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walking_travelguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Advantages : good location near Sagrada Familia and two blocks from a subway station ; appartment new and large enough for four people (bedrooms and dining room)
But : noisy (windows don't offer a good sound-proofing), you can also feel the subway, and the bathroom is too small for 4 people (toilets in bathroom is not a good option).
Most of all they say you have instant and free access to internet through wifi network. You do have the wifi signal, no problem - but never internet (or maybe once out of 100 times, and very slow). So if you need internet forget it.
Also as mentioned in other reviews, it is definitely necessary to call BEFORE arriving to be sure there will be someone, otherwise you stay on the street with your bags...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essalois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was the first time we've tried this type of accommodation and it worked very well. My main problem with hotels is the limited space you usually get in your room, and here, even though one of the bedrooms was really tiny, it was nice to have all the extras (fully equipped kitchen, dining table, living room, etc). Our flight was late and we arrived well after midnight, yet the check in process was flawless - the representative was friendly and helpful - you just need to follow the instructions and call in advance. They can also book a taxi for your departure - just remember you need to call a day in advance.

You can see some wear and tear here and there, but everything was very clean and all the equipment was fully functional. The only things we missed were a bottle opener (for wine), and an electric kettle. We didn't need to use the dishwasher or the washing machine during our short stay so can't comment on that. Internet connection worked well late at night (remember WiFi passwords are always case-sensitive) but wasn't very stable during evening hours (it went on and off). It was OK to check email or the weather forecast, but probably not reliable enough to work remotely if you needed to.

To sum it up, we were very happy and if I was to visit Barcelona again, I would probably choose MH Apartments again. But remember - this type of accommodation will only work for you if you prefer to do things on your own, and don't need to rely on additional services that a hotel can offer you (such as a 24/7 reception, etc).

Room Tip: remember to call some 30 minutes before arrival to ensure smooth check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Immutability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
MH Apartments Tetuan
MH Apartments Tetuan
#381 of 515 in Barcelona
88 reviews
El Raval
MH Apartments Liceo
MH Apartments Liceo
#454 of 515 in Barcelona
95 reviews
MH Apartments S. Familia
#196 of 735 in Barcelona
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
MH Apartments
MH Apartments
#91 of 735 in Barcelona
239 reviews
El Raval
MH Apartments Center
MH Apartments Center
#147 of 735 in Barcelona
113 reviews
Eixample
MH Apartments Suites
MH Apartments Suites
#288 of 735 in Barcelona
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MH Apartments Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MH Apartments Family

Address: Carrer Rossello, 448, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $84 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MH Apartments Family 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MH Apartments Gaudi are located at the heart of the Eixample district, 5 minutes walking from one of the most important touristic attraction in Barcelona, the Gaudi's Sagrada Familia.New apartment's building from 2008, really warm and well decorated apartments. Every apartment contains a complete equiped lounge with a independent and modern kitchen and 2 bedrooms with one complete bathroom. Free WIFI and International T.V. Channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your MH Apartments Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mh Apartments Gaudi Hotel Barcelona
MH Apartments Family Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing