We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good tasty food, pleasant and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rani India

Rani India
Ranked #3,371 of 8,523 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Eixample
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good tasty food, pleasant and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice restaurant. We were made welcome by the staff and there was good modern Indian music playing. The chicken with chillies is up with any Indian food we've eaten anywhere- recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RobC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    11
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Test”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have eaten a lot of indian food in my life - some good , some better ..however, never have I eaten a curry that was as tasty as the chiken curry I had here. It Was Just Wow!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tanish_diwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I ordered takeaway, the food very very dry and tasteless and basically full of salt. the chicken was touch and not very fresh. the rice was hard and under cooked. the nan bread was not nan bread it was chapati. Terrible, I will not return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank suthrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
194 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“From regular customers to never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I agree with some of the previous commenters that the overall service and quality at Rani has been going down the pan over the last few years.

When we first discovered it, which was purely by chance while strolling around, we were quite pleased with the cosy environment, the nice presentation and the *relatively* good food.

Each time we returned, however, we noticed the relentless shrinking of portions which is funnily enough parallel to the rise in cost and pathetic penny-pinching techniques. However, enough is enough, because there's no way a restaurant can treat customers like that in the 21st century.

To start with, when you ask for Poppadoms (plural), do check the amount you are given. Now, once can be an accident, twice an unfortunate coincidence, thrice sheer bad luck, but the thing is, each single time we asked for poppadums, they would be served with a whole one at the top and segments of half a broken one at the bottom. How stingy can you be, to penny pinch and fob people off on poppadoms????

That said, the food -as far as Indian restaurants in BCN are concerned- is quite alright, except that the portions are increasingly a joke, more and more resembling the size of a happy meal at McDonalds.

The final thing that put us off for good was the infuriatingly endless wait for your change after you've asked for the bill. No matter if you've handed a €50 note to pay for, say, €32-50... the staff will make you wait for ever, even after you've reminded them that you've been waiting 20 minutes to get your own money back.

In brief, a not even subtle attempt to try and twist your arm into leaving a tip.

Bear in mind, the service is quite prompt all along, from initial acknoweldgment, to drinks, bill and the rest. Magically though, the waiters turn into invisible entities, more slippery than an eel when it's simply a matter of delivering your change back to your table.

Pathetic.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Go there for the very good Indian food. There is an interesting menu for two and more persons. So you can test various plates for a fair value for your money relation. The service was polite. Decoration and interior are a little used.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank fs_izzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rani India also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Rani India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing