We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Interior. Poor Location”
Review of Hotel Acta City47

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Acta City47
Ranked #233 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Interior. Poor Location”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I took my grandmother (64) here in June of this year. When booking they made the location seem extremely close to all the main attractions in Barcelona which is what we were looking for as we were only there for 3 nights and wanted to fit everything in. (We should have throughly checked on a map which is fault of our own but we went on the hotels word).
When we arrived at the hotel after a 15 minute taxi ride we were greeted by friendly staff who spoke little english but we checked into our room, which was clean and of modern decor but had a terrible view of graffiti on a wall outside the window.
We then decided to walk into town but realised how far away we were from attractions such as the port and the Ramblas. Therefore we decided to use the Red Bus Tours which were our saviour!
The buscost around 15 euros for 2 days and enabled us to see all the hotspots Barcelona has to offer including; Olympic Stadium, Picasso Gallery, Great Fountains, Matedor Bullring, Las Ramblas, Barcelona FC Football Stadium, Sagrada Familla and Gaudis Village.
Hotel Medium City is a 10 minute walk from one of the stops for the tour bus, so in that respect location was good but for someone who wants to be surrounded by bars and resturants within walking distance, this hotel is not for you. Much more suited for busniess use.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Acta City47, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Ms Anya,
many thanks for your kind review, especially for your mention about the modern room decoration. We only would like to point out, for you and other guests, that the easiest and cheapest way to get to the very centre of Barcelona, is the Metro, Line 3. The closest tube station is only 1 minute walking from our hotel.
"Bus Turistic" is great to have a full tour of the main attractions in Barcelona, but it is not recommendable for long stays or in order to get to a place in the quickest way.
Hope you, and your grandmother, may stay again in our hotel.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    351
    149
    46
    20
See reviews for
114
294
71
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel had a friendly staff and very clean room. I would recommend the breakfast which was good and had a nice selection. Also, the Internet works well and neighboorhood is practical for visiting barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is it's close proximity to the metro station - Sants Estacio and the main train station - Barcelona Sants. The room was clean but the heat in the rooms made it uncomfortable to sleep through the night. Unfortunately, the hotel staff were unable to help with the situation. We did however enjoy breakfast at a cute little coffee shop opposite the entrance to the metro station every morning. Overall, it was a good stay with easy access to various city attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillaBipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel looks good from outside and in reception, but the quality is below average when entering the bedrooms.

Scuffed walls, poor sound proofing, no variable heat control, basic TV channels, no ironing facilities unless you want to pay per item - total shock, and not as close to the centre as the hotel description makes out.

Breakfast was good and staff were helpful. I just cannot agree with the star rating. I would go in around 2.5 given the basic expectations not being met.

Wouldn't return and doubtful about staying with the chain anywhere else.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TGates76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Acta City47, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mr TGales76,
thanks for your kind reply. We are very sorry if we did not meet all your expectations and will take your critics seriously in count for the future. Nevertheless we would like to point out two simple facts: heat control actually is variable (sorry if we did not explain it well) and ironing facilities cannot be provide to guests, by the law, for security reasons.
Thanks as well for your positive feedback on breakfast and our staff.
Hope you may reconsider your mind and stay again in our hotel.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

A decent hotel very convenient to train and metro stations. Staff are friendly and helpful directing you to city attractions and camp nou as well as restaurants. I used this hotel for access to camp nou which is only fifteen minutes away. Recommended strongly to all visitors

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very good hotel, I really like the location next to a small park. Just 50 meters from the entrance of the metro, a short ride into the centre. This time in Barcelona I had to be close to the main railway station and this hotel was a great choice. Small but very nice room, comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I like staying in a non touristy area, this is where you see people waiting for the bus to go to work. Quiet area too. Breakfast was plentiful, very good. Very comfortable stay, I would go again. I love Barcelona, one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is in a quite street, not very far from the center and near to metro station. It is pretty new with nice staff, my room was quiet and spacious and internet works good.
The price in late October was quite a bargain for BCN even if not high season. Breakast rather essential, nothing special but with enough choice, at least for me.
With good wifi and breakfast included it will be a valid option for my next business trip to BCN, which happens 3-4 times/year. The bar/restaurant where they serve breakfast is also open for luch/dinner but, at least for me, it shoukld be considered as valid only if one does not want to go around to llok for one of the other nice places BCN has to offer. I arrived late and had no energies left, so was ok for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuka70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Abba Sants Hotel
#322 of 512 in Barcelona
570 reviews
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#217 of 512 in Barcelona
1,298 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#71 of 512 in Barcelona
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Sants
#107 of 512 in Barcelona
3,117 reviews
AC Hotel Sants
#339 of 512 in Barcelona
517 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta City47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta City47

Property: Hotel Acta City47
Address: Nicaragua 47, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#192 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#210 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Acta City47 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acta City47 is conveniently close to the Sants station and the Fira Area. Comfortable and functional rooms to enjoy a rest after an intense day of business or sightseeing in the city. It has a bar, restaurant with terrace and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Acta City47 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlg City Park Barcelona
Hlg City Park Hotel
Hotel Acta City47 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing