We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fancy take on tapas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubo Born

Bubo Born
Ranked #24 of 205 Dessert in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fancy take on tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

After enjoying the local tapas, we decided to try Bubo for lunch. They had a prix fixe for 16 euros per person that includes patatas bravas, meats, cheese, a cool take on pan con tomate, tortilla espanola and a BEAUTIFUL cake (one per person.) Everything was very delicious and a different take on tapas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heatherbgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    220
    73
    32
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Special tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The tapas is a little different with traditional. The service is just great and food is amazing. The dessert is also good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yuppybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you need a break this is the place to go. We visited the restaurant twice and both times were perfect. The staff is very friendly and relaxed, so you quickly surrender to let yourself take a break. Took the waitors advice instead of my own pick from the menu and on both occasions I tasted something I hadn't tasted before - and it was deliciuos. Especially the warm eggplant-salat with goatcheese, pinenuts, tahin, beautifull plated with flowers was a delight. My friend had the burger, and he was very very pleased - ordered it both times. We can only recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best chocolate cake & tapas in Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

There are 2 outlets of Bubo in Barcelona and they are just around the corner, a street off each other.
One is a patisserie and another is a cafe. I went to both.
The best chocolate cake in the world can be found here. It really melts in your mouth. Bought back the Macadamia chocolate in can and my son told me it is the best chocolate he had ever had.
The cafe had the best tapas that I tasted in my 8 days in Spain. Had the grilled prawn and the truffle with egg (I had never seen this in other restaurants). Both are very yummy. Price can be slightly steep but definitely worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jentmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
327 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent desserts and pastries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

A friend who was in Barcelona a few weeks before me told me that I simply couldn't miss Bubó while I was in town. So after visiting the Santa Maria del Mar church, I couldn't resist. Walking in and taking in the various smells and then just perusing the panoply of desserts available made my mouth water. Not cheap, mind you, but delicious!

They also have a 2.50 euro breakfast option, which includes the pastry of your choice and a coffee.

Bubó is definitely the place to visit if you have a sweet tooth!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubo Born also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bubo Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing