We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy party hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel
Ranked #248 of 738 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Really helpful staff and great location, however very noisy from people standing outside the building all night and music playing very early in the morning. Would recommend for young party people but not for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

My friend and I booked 5 nights in this hostel about a week ago. They were welcoming and helpful from the second we arrived (at 4am after a delayed flight). The staff was always willing to go out of their way to help in any way they could; they told us where to find the best tapas for 1 euro, called places to make sure they were opened, printed out maps, cooked dinner, made sangria, and lead a pub crawl every night. The kids that stayed where chill and easy to get along with. Most rooms have AC and the common area has computers with free wifi, a tv, couches and tables. A lot of young people staying at the hostel hang out in the common and lobby areas and socialize- it's a great way to meet other young travelers. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. It is in a great location- right near Ramblas for shopping and partying, about a 15 minute walk to the beach, and located literally at the base of Montjuic (where you can take a beautiful hike to the castle and experience an amazing view of the entire city). The rooms are booked consistently, so I would definitely recommend reserving a bed ahead of time (it's not a very big place).

Room Tip: The room on the highest floor does not have AC so request a room with one if you travel during the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Book this hostel after other glowing reviews on trip advisor. Great choice the staff are so helpful and full of life and they bring the whole hostel togeather for some great laughs and fun!!! Great aircon and rooms to boot .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophiestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Awesome place to stay. Had the best time here. The staff made such an effort which helped create the good vibe. They also had top recommendations for what to do/ where to eat etc. The pub crawls with other hostels created so many stories!!!. Great place to meet people and enjoy all that is Barcelona!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara0389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked 2 nights, paying the advance required with my visa credit card. When I arrived, the 4 bed room was untidy, socks & shirts in the floor...they gave me sheets to get my bed laid by myself. I inmediately asked the guy at front desk to cancel the 2 night, and I payed for the 1st one. He gave me a receipt: 1 night payed, 1 night cancelled. A few days later, being in Madrid, I saw they have charged it anyway, using my personal data that I had previously given. I mailed the manager Silvia Pancaldi. She said that I should had sent an e mail cancelling the 2º night, even if I was just at the front desk and I have the receipt. Never again. BEWARE.

Room Tip: I recommend not to stay at Mambo Tango. I moved to Casanova Rooms, at Carrer Casanova 172. Helpful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Absolutely everybody in the staff is nice and friendly. Outstanding service, cosy atmosphere, clean facilities. Subway nearby, really nice neighbourhood, best hostel ever.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at Mambo Tango with my best friend during our week of holiday in Barcelona and we were meet with an open-minded and welcoming atmosphere from as well staff as the other guest.

Mambo Tango is a small, small hostel and therefore you easily get to know people. But it is also a hostel which in some way requires that you want to be social. It is so small that you can easily hear people chit chatting in their rooms, and it feels a bit odd when there is a great common area in the basement to hang out it. Therefore my advise is that if you don't want to be social, try out another hostel!

Buuuut if you want to be social. Learn from people. Talk with people. Hang out with people. Make new friends. Mambo Tango is WONDERFUL!

The staff is great and will do what ever to make you comfortable and create a great atmosphere around all the guest of the house. One night sangria, the other homemade tortilla and the next night out all together. It is almost like a home visit and you feel sad to leave :)

I will highly recommend this place! A part from the things above the location is great. Walking distance from all the nice spots in Barcelona and the harbour.

Just one thing to say: try it, try it, try it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#135 of 738 in Barcelona
126 reviews
Montjuic
Futura Casa Lola
Futura Casa Lola
#73 of 738 in Barcelona
70 reviews
Gracia
Sant Jordi Hostels - Gracia
Sant Jordi Hostels - Gracia
#57 of 738 in Barcelona
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Loft Hostel Barcelona
The Loft Hostel Barcelona
#129 of 738 in Barcelona
135 reviews
Eixample
Barcelo Hostel
Barcelo Hostel
#214 of 738 in Barcelona
32 reviews
Montjuic
HelloBCN Hostel
HelloBCN Hostel
#101 of 738 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mambo Tango Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mambo Tango Youth Hostel

Address: Poeta Caynes 23, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 738 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $25 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mambo Tango Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mambo Tango Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing