We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaters, avoid!”
Review of Santa Monica

Santa Monica
Ranked #7,353 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cheaters, avoid!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The tapas were incredibly simple, a cheese tapas looked worse than a sandwich cheese.
The menu did not mention a supplement charge for sitting outside which came as a surprise in the bill, which consisted of charges far different from the ones we ordered.
When complained about the false charges, they argued for 4 minutes. When finally agreeing to fix the bill, they removed the things we did not order but doubled the stuff we did! The waiter tried to quickly charge our card before we noticed it.
Beware! Try other places...

Helpful?
Thank Ran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    44
    35
    33
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“only, because other restaurants are full....”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

even if the location is nice, the food has nothing to do with spanish "cuisine"....my paella seems more like an italian risotto. But at least the food ingredients were fresh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigre74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Avoid”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The food has medium quality, portions are small and prices are high.
Sangria is very expensive and has poor quality (contains lot of water).

Be awere of this trick, not only in this restaurant: after me and my friends having prepared the ammount to pay the bill, a guy pretending having hearing and speaking disability pushed a paper with a begging message in front of us, just above the collected money and insisted by gestures to read the paper, he pulled a note of 20 euros and then he ran away.
The waiter seemed to be part of the theft with his reaction.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hessyana f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was off, and so was the service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came as a large dinner party. We got served lots of different dishes. Firstly the menu wasn't descriptive of what we wound up getting at all. The soup was off, and tasted ever so slightly of someones sick. The waiters had no clue about who ordered what, and when they had to ask around - they used names that were not in the menu, so nobody really knew if they got what they ordered.

Most of the meat was chewy and overcooked. Even "safe" dishes such as steaks and entrecote were bad. Of our party it seemed the only people moderately happy with their meal were the four that ordered tapas.

For some reason the beer here is served in litre pitchers, but every other drink you can order is 2 dl only. And the 2 dl soft drinks are expensive - at 3 € a pop.

Even the worst hamburger chain or kebab-place is better than this. Happily there is a good selection of restaurants around Placa Reial, so you don't have to go far to have a proper meal, with waiters and chefs that know what they're doing. For the same money, the legendary Caracoles is just a couple of minutes walk away. Whatever you do - stay away from Santa Monica.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn Jarle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ripoff drinks beware!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Looks very smart and clean and tidy. We had a very reasonable meal, arroz negro and a fillet steak and enjoyed both, but horrified by a 10€ chupito (shot) of brandy and 2.50€ for a 25cl bottle of still water. Even the coffee was overpriced.....tourist trap...you have been warned.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing