We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit too modern”
Review of Barcelo Raval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Raval
Ranked #106 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Positives: Close to centre. Many cheap restaurants and bars just a few blocks away. The hotel is classy and rooms are clean. View from rooftop is magnificent.
Negatives: Breakfast was the best I have ever had but too expensive. The curtains in the rooms cannot be opened and the room is quite dark. The shower is a glass cubicle in the middle of room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sannala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 3,396 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Quirky hotel with lovely rooms and great views. The location wasn't great, I didn't feel entirely comfortable out at night walking to the restaurants and shops etc. Other than that there is no faults. We went for one of the rooms on the top floor which meant we had a great view and was definitely worth it. The pool area is quite small so not for anyone wanting to spend all day by the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmerrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Raval in an interesting district of Barcelona, trendy and lower class. The hotel obviously wanted to become its landmark and put a strong plus on design. Plus can be less sometimes. Don’t judge a book by its cover: here the beautiful iron net around the building is hiding clichés of revisited 60ties, without style, and sometime cheap, like the room furniture, except the super comfortable beds. Pink is horribly pink, black is so black, white is super white, silver is super bright, oh, a bit too much no?
You will be welcomed by handsome and hot staff, professional and reliable. Superb view if you reach upper floors, and definitely when on 360° roof top with swimming pool. Music playing 24 hours, but quite rooms.
Buffet breakfast is good, but for 18 Euros you can have a full diner in the city.
Very OK for short term before getting tired of too much "design", but you might like it for longer staying if your need a change from your cows and fields everyday life.
The hotel could have reviewed the statement "less is more", a true landmark..

Room Tip: short stay only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guillaume c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good location (near Rambles, bars, restaurants, historical town, metro station), room facilities (internet connection, etc), all more than average, modern room design, separated shower and toilet (very useful for two persons).


  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nikitas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel and great value. In a great location as it is located very near the centre but the road you have to walk down to get to the Ramblas wasn't the safest in the evening and i wouldn't have felt safe without my husband walking down it. But the room was beautiful with a VERY comfortable bed a great shower and a great view from the room. Was sad to leave and needed a few extra nights. We would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Position:
We know Barcelona well and chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the port, La Rambla and the metro (about 5 mins stroll from Paral.lel). Usually we end up self catering as linked rooms seem to be hard to find. We did not feel unsafe in this part of town, we stuck to the main streets and used the same vigilance we would in any other big city.

Rooms:
We had two rooms situated at the end of a corridor on floor 5 - the rooms don't actually have a connecting door, but the end part of the corridor has an additional shared door, creating your own private little hallway to both rooms, a useful extra space for cases/shoes, although rooms were both spacious with great views. The bedside docs were a useful addition and the TV had a great range of channels for the time we spent in there. The bathrooms are a little open plan yes, but the rooms really are great. Even on floor 5 we had a good view across the rooftops to Mont-juic and the National Palace. Only suggestions for improvements would be some door wedges for the interconnecting rooms, with a 5 and 7 year old it was important to us to be able to keep an ear out in the night and the doors were rather heavy for our youngest to manage (but we used the stools to prop the doors ajar). I don't know how full the hotel was but we did experience a little noise from neighbouring rooms - scraping chairs and plumbing noise. Nothing that interrupted our sleep though.

Hotel:
We didn't try the breakfast and were room only 18euro per person seemed steep for us as we aren't really breakfast people. We emptied one of the mini bars and bought yoghurts, meats and bread for a quick in room breakfast and there were some good bars locally for a cheap breakfast - around 5euro per person.

We did eat in the hotel twice for dinner, eating the same meals both times. The first time was great, the waiting staff accommodating for a half portion for our sons, the steak was beautiful and presented well. The second time (which was early valentines night) the food was not so well prepared, not what was specified on the menu (instead of onion rings we had greasy breaded spring onions and the chips were only brought out half way through our meal. The second childrens dinner was presented on one plate with a second empty plate plonked on the table for us to divide. For a hotel of this standard I would have expected more consistency and a little more attentiveness. On the whole though the staff we encountered were helpful and polite.

I would visit this hotel again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmabee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at the Barcelo Raval for a weekend and thought it was excellent.

We turned up at the hotel at 11am after a very early flight from London and our room was ready which was great. The temperature dial for the shower was stuck when we first tried to use it but a quick call to reception quickly sorted it out and they sent someone up to fix it within 5 minutes.

The room itself was really cool! Like the rest of the hotel the decor was very quirky which I really liked and the bed was huge and comfortable. Like previous reviews have stated, the shower isn't really separated from the room so make sure you share with someone you're comfortable with. There is also a Nespresso machine in the room which my boyfriend really appreciated (I hate coffee and he's somewhat obsessed with it!)

The hotel is in a very central location, just a couple of blocks back from La Rambla. It's really easy to find as well due to the outside looking like its covered in metal! I didn't find the area dodgy at all. Sure, it's not the absolute best neighbourhood in Barcelona but I only saw other tourists and locals going about their business, nothing to make me feel unsafe. The same common sense applies in any city - always keep your hand on your bag and be aware of your surroundings. Also in the close vicinity of the hotel are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants as well as metro stations - although I didn't use those because I walked everywhere. The view from the top floor is also worth checking out for panoramic views of the city.

Overall I had a great time here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family. Friendly staff, quirky design and excellent monitors served in the bar!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TheOnlyHQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 515 in Barcelona
1,719 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 515 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
1,947 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 515 in Barcelona
4,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Raval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Raval

Address: Rambla del Raval 17-21, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Raval 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Barceló Raval hotel is strategically situated in the heart of Barcelona, in the Raval neighbourhood, one of the city's most fashionable areas. It is also Barcelona's artistic and cultural epicentre. The Barceló Raval hotel has become a symbol of the transformation and modernity this area of the city’s old quarters is experiencing, due to its unique oval structure and exquisite avant-garde interior design. In its 182 modern rooms and 4 sophisticated suites you will find an iPod docking station, a Nespresso coffee maker and free Wifi. As a part of its innovative concept, it offers a new and multifunctional B-Lounge service where you can try our delicious tapas served continuously from 12.00 to midnight. And to crown off this extraordinary building, there is a roof top terrace where you can bath in the swimming pool solarium whilst enjoying panoramic views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Barcelo, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Raval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Raval Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Raval
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Raval Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing