We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Barcelona
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great food in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere”
Review of Restaurant Rene

Restaurant Rene
Ranked #1,184 of 12,123 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Dreta de l'Eixample
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The new management is clearly paying off in this restaurant and are making great efforts to impress their guests. Service was excellent with friendly staff who made us feel welcome from start to finish. The food was delicious; can particularly recommend the beef skirt and the fish of the day, when we were there it was monkfish and it was cooked to perfection! There was a good selection of wines at reasonable prices. For 4 people to have three courses with 3 bottles of wine and some beers was €133 - such good value. The restaurant is in a slightly more residential area of Barcelona and is less ‘touristy’, it has a more traditional Catalonian feel.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KB1445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Family friendly, perfect Spanish atmosphere and the food was tasty and really really good. Absolutely worth a visit. The new owners said they had just taken over and they went out of their way to look after our 2 year old daughter, 10 out of 10. Well done and thank you.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 555steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

A beautiful early 20th century relic of a restaurant, lovingly preserved, and extremely friendly and fun service.

The food was solid, but not stellar. The maitre’d told me that the restaurant changed management a week ago so I expect it to get better as time goes on. Reasonably priced, and a good mix of locals and tourists.

Great selection of drinks at the bar.

All in all a lovely place to spend an evening or lunch hour.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

After looking at the great reviews we planned our day around a mid afternoon lunch as the website said they would be open. Frustrated and disappointed to make a special trip to find it closed! While outside another couple stopped to go inside - we were both put out! Fingers crossed if you plan to go here!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Adventure71278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Don’t be fooled by the modest front to this restaurant. The interior is worth seeing alone. There is a separate room made out like an old dining room which is interesting for anyone that is curious. The menu was largely traditional dishes and we both thought our food was excellent. The staff were friendly and funny. Other than a slightly long wait for the bill I’d recommend this for people wanting to get away from the main hustle and bustle.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 239seanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Rene also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Rene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing