We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch...but our bill almost caused a heart attack!”
Review of Magatzem del port

Magatzem del port
Reserve with
Magatzem del port is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,527 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice lunch...but our bill almost caused a heart attack!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had promised ourselves an up-market lunch in the fisherman's quarter and had allowed a budget of 60-70€ for the two of us. We were seduced by the outside sunny location, the look of the place itself and the waitress 'on the gate' whose slick patter and friendly demeanour was a work of art in itself - no complaints there: she did her job very well. As we were considering whether or not to use this as our 'posh nosh' destination, she offered us a card giving 20€ off the bill if we spent 80€ or more (bring the meal in line with our plan). We took our table outside in the sunshine and ordered a bottle of wine. The restaurant's 'main man' came out & poured it for us and indulged us in some Spanish banter - we felt very happy with the service at that point. Our first shared starter had seemed too good to be true at a misleading 2€ on the menu.....and it was - the croqueta magatze were delicious but were infact priced at 2€ EACH - and we were served 6 of them, so 12€ down and none-the-wiser. The shared mussels were gorgeous but our main course dish (paella) was disappointing and rather small. Main man then offered us dessert which we declined but he insisted that he would bring us over a special dessert to share along with a coffee which seemed reasonable enough but which tipped the bill over into scary territory - 108€!! 20€ was deducted as promised in the original sell but we were still a bit shocked. All in all, it was a lovely munch but caution would make us far more careful and less prone to seduction next time!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    12
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Liars to get customers”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

After an intense sidewalk solicitation I had the "steerer" inquire as to whether they would make me a seafood dish with Salsa Verde - parsley and white wine sauce. After a consult with the owner this was agreed. What came was basically a rather ordinary seafood paella with the usual brown sauce but with the rice served separately. With basic water as the only beverage, and no appetizers or desserts,, the bill came to 95 euro for what would have been a 40 euro paella (for two) at dozens of other places in the area. So not only was the charge excessive, but they didn't even try to make the requested dish. As we were leaving we overheard a couple from the next table saying they wished they could "forget" the whole experience. Me too, but, with a tip, the 110 euro charge will soon hit my credit card account, reminding me of the experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Give it a miss if you care about prices.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A very nice restaurant by the harbor.. nice atmosphere and all. A perfect place to chill during the day.

Prices on the menu was pretty decent to us (given the prime location by the harbor area) and waitress offered free champagne if we decided to eat there.

What is not known would be the portion of the food (tapas) and the prices that come with it. It was not written on how many pieces will be served on each portion and the waiter did not ask on how many pieces we would like have.

Waiter assumed the portion that would be sufficient for us, and we were not made aware of that prices on the menu are based on per piece, not portion. We were charged for about 3.50 Euros (as far as I remembered) for ONE piece of anchovies. The waiter served 4 pieces of that without even asking. Our bill came up to about 72 Euros for 2 people for only tapas (not including paella).

I noticed that other decent restaurants did state in the menu on how many pieces of the food will be served for the stated price. So... overall, pretty bad experience there..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agustina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barcelona worst restaurant”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were trapped by the waitress offering a 20€ discount on the bill, that sounded interesting even if at first the prices seemed expensive without the discount. We thought with the 20€ it could'nt be a bad deal.... Mistake !!!!

The waitress and the boss acted arrogant and pretentious, too nice to be honest.
The food itself wasn't that bad, but when we receive tha bill... 8,40€ for two jars of tap water (TAP WATER !!) and 2,65 for a piece of bread...We finally had to pay 80€ for 3 including the discount.

A basic tuna salad for 16€, very bad surprise when you know so many better restaurant in BCN.

A shame!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FannyetLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good find!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Close to the harbour area, this is a great fish restaurant. Excellent service, reasonably priced - a limited menu - but that's because everything is fresh and depends on the catch of the day. For a better dinner atmosphere follow the Spaish trend and eat later - after 9pm.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westedge2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magatzem del port also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Magatzem del port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing